We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic beach front rooms, awesome food!”
Review of Pine Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pine Bungalow
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Great basic rooms right on the beach. The food is fantastic.. I still crave the coconut curry and cashew stir fry :) Spent a few nights here and would recommend. Do not take the bus they recommend back to Bangkok though... The ride took an extra 5 hours then it should have as they drove us to random spots and made us wait for unknown reasons ... Then dropped us in khao sahn road at 4am..book your own.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Pine Bungalow
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 240 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014

This was one of the last places we stayed on our holiday. We were here for three nights and it was a good time to wind down and really relax. We took walks into town and around their private beach, as well as other nearby beaches. They had hammocks on the beach which provided an optimum place to read and chill out for the day. Also the restaurant was really good and normal prices for Thailand with a meal 60 - 100 baht. ($2 - 4 CAD). The only thing I wouldn't recommend is using the shuttle company that they suggest. We booked it (500 baht each) to Phuket, and had the worst transport experience of our lives. (All other times during the trip were excellent and cost much less). The bungalows were small and clean, we didn't go for air-conditioning and just had a fan which was totally sufficient. I would return here again.

Room Tip: Do not book with the shuttle company the hotel offers as the easiest. The trip took over four hours...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyTraveller892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We spent there 5 days although we wanted only 3 ;) We had a bungalow double room with bathroom and fan. Rooms are comfortable, clean, and it's really close to thea sea. It's calm, because it's far away from the city (we liked that) and the stuff is great - they're helpful with everything, you can rent a scooter, take a taxi, take a boat, organize a trip. Great atmosphere and food - the best Thai curry in whole Thailand.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewelina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

If you dont mind being out in the boondocks, this is a good budget bungalow right on a little beach. For the price of a basic bungalow, you can rent a scooter and still pay less than in Ao Nang. Very big tidal swing changes beach to moonscape at low tide. Just wait 6 hrs for beach to return!

Room Tip: Get one near beach.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The Pine Bungalow is quite far away from anywhere the tourists flock. The host is a kind lady who will take you to the main spots in Krabi for a reasonable fare in her own car, if the taxi guy is out somewhere.

The place is amazing, overlooking a small beach that is pretty much private for the guests. At low tide, however, the rocks and shells make it a bit tough to lounge around. In the nights, the insects of the sea come out, making it a bit tough to swim. The daytime, however, is amazing. With the sun shining down, hammocks under the trees are sought after.

The rooms are very basic and the prices justify that. Food is as close to home-made Thai as you can get and is very reasonably priced. Beer is also available at a good price.

Overall, the Pine Bungalow is a lovely little beach house if you want to get away from all the maddening crowds of Krabi.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 452karthikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Having been searching for somewhere to stay in Krabi, we came across an advertisement for Pine Bungalows and decided to try it. How glad we are that we did - it was right on the beach and with the most fantastic views. Ask for a room with air conditioning as some only have fans. At low tide it is impossible to swim as the water recedes a long way, exposing all the rocks. However, the rock pools are worth exploring! The room was basic but adequate with a huge "wet room" bathroom. It would have been nice to have a kettle in the room so we could make our own coffee instead of having to wait until 7.30 when the restaurant opened, but that is a minor thing, far outweighed by the friendly staff, the great food, and the relaxing atmosphere. Twenty minutes by car from Krabi means that it is peaceful with no loud crowds. Room are not serviced unless you request that they be done, but this is reflected in the price. It is not a luxurious resort by any means, but the peace of the place is great.

Room Tip: Remember to ask for air conditioning. Some rooms have only fans.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stuartandalison187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were staying at Pine Bungalow in March 2014 and had a nice time. Very nice silent place with own beach hiden from the noise of the city. The stuff is very friendly as well. Out of Ao Nang, aiport transfer is recomended.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank adriancopos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
4.2 mi away
J. Hotel
J. Hotel
#59 of 109 in Ao Nang
272 reviews
4.8 mi away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#48 of 109 in Ao Nang
292 reviews
3.7 mi away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#35 of 109 in Ao Nang
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
#38 of 109 in Ao Nang
326 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Royal Nakara
The Royal Nakara
#49 of 109 in Ao Nang
261 reviews
4.1 mi away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#31 of 109 in Ao Nang
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Bungalow

Address: 99 Moo 2, Nongtalay | Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ao Nang
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: $12 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pine Bungalow 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Pine Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Bungalow Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing