We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to unwind”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pine Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pine Bungalow
Ranked #26 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A good place to unwind”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

If you dont mind being out in the boondocks, this is a good budget bungalow right on a little beach. For the price of a basic bungalow, you can rent a scooter and still pay less than in Ao Nang. Very big tidal swing changes beach to moonscape at low tide. Just wait 6 hrs for beach to return!

Room Tip: Get one near beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    101
    25
    11
    6
See reviews for
33
117
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

The Pine Bungalow is quite far away from anywhere the tourists flock. The host is a kind lady who will take you to the main spots in Krabi for a reasonable fare in her own car, if the taxi guy is out somewhere.

The place is amazing, overlooking a small beach that is pretty much private for the guests. At low tide, however, the rocks and shells make it a bit tough to lounge around. In the nights, the insects of the sea come out, making it a bit tough to swim. The daytime, however, is amazing. With the sun shining down, hammocks under the trees are sought after.

The rooms are very basic and the prices justify that. Food is as close to home-made Thai as you can get and is very reasonably priced. Beer is also available at a good price.

Overall, the Pine Bungalow is a lovely little beach house if you want to get away from all the maddening crowds of Krabi.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 452karthikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Having been searching for somewhere to stay in Krabi, we came across an advertisement for Pine Bungalows and decided to try it. How glad we are that we did - it was right on the beach and with the most fantastic views. Ask for a room with air conditioning as some only have fans. At low tide it is impossible to swim as the water recedes a long way, exposing all the rocks. However, the rock pools are worth exploring! The room was basic but adequate with a huge "wet room" bathroom. It would have been nice to have a kettle in the room so we could make our own coffee instead of having to wait until 7.30 when the restaurant opened, but that is a minor thing, far outweighed by the friendly staff, the great food, and the relaxing atmosphere. Twenty minutes by car from Krabi means that it is peaceful with no loud crowds. Room are not serviced unless you request that they be done, but this is reflected in the price. It is not a luxurious resort by any means, but the peace of the place is great.

Room Tip: Remember to ask for air conditioning. Some rooms have only fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stuartandalison187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were staying at Pine Bungalow in March 2014 and had a nice time. Very nice silent place with own beach hiden from the noise of the city. The stuff is very friendly as well. Out of Ao Nang, aiport transfer is recomended.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank adriancopos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Actually, I only came to this place because I couldn't go to Koh Jum as planned. But in the end, I had a fantastic time here. The fan bungalows are quite cheap and I could finally escape from all the party people. This place is very well maintained and there's always someone sweeping the paths or watering the plants. This place also offers day trips to the islands near Krabi. And the food in the restaurant is cheap and tasty. And last but not least, it's right at the beach and right after getting up you can go for a great swim. All in all, I had 4 absolutely relaxing days for round about 100 € including accommodation, food and 1 day trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Perfect location and so close to it's on Beach.Staff was fabulous and proffessional for a 2 star hotel that has nothing to envy to most 4 stars hotel I have been too.
Food was also good and breakfast was precise to the point.Also the price in the restaurant was exellent.
One of those good reccomandation not to give just to everyone just in case it becomes too popular and looses it's appeal.

Room Tip: Air condition Rooms by the beach 1 or 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valsoldese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed at Pine Bungalow for five nights at the beginning of January, and it was a wonderful experience. Disclaimer: this is a basic beach spot. There is no luxury here. You get a simple room with a porch - hot water and AC optional. But for less than $20 a day you can get your own clean en-suite bungalow just a couple dozen yards away from a gorgeous beach. (There are very big tides here - for half of the day the beach is sandy with beautiful turquoise water, and for the other half it's low tide and there are rocks making the water unapproachable.) The hotel's kitchen is probably the highlight--some of the best food we had in Thailand. They'd catch fresh fish, for example, and let us pick out what we wanted and cook it to our specifications. Make sure to order the Mussaman curry a day in advance - it's phenomenal.

The staff are incredibly warm and helpful, and speak English very well. They made calls for us all over Thailand to help us plan our trip. They're also very knowledgeable about the area and can make great day-trip recommendations. One of us has a complex food allergy and they handled that brilliantly. A huge bonus is that the hotel has its very own longtail boat captain who will take you out to the incredible Hong islands:

http://www.thailandparadise.com/krabiislands/ko_hong.jpg

This beauty is about 45 minutes away from the hotel. There's great coral reef snorkeling, gorgeous lagoon exploring, and white-sand-beach lounging by the turquoise water. The day trip also includes a packed lunch from the hotel kitchen and visits to two other picture-perfect islands. All for 700 baht a person (2,000 minimum in case you have less than 3 people.)

Another bonus to Pine Bungalow is that it's just a 5 minute walk from Klong Muang beach, which is a real stunner and practically empty even at high season:

http://www.zooadventurer.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/Krabi-Klong-Muang-Beach-007.jpg

This beach, in addition to having the scenery of the cliff islands and the long tail boats, has amazing sea shells. And it's the perfect place for a morning jog. There's a few resorts on this stretch, but the inhabitants tend to just stay at their pools and restaurants and seem to avoid the beach. You can grab cheap massages and drinks at several places along the way.

One more disclaimer: Pine is not a party destination. You'll see a lot of families, and it's definitely that sort of atmosphere. You can certainly walk into town for bars, but this is all about good food and relaxing. Ideal for a honeymoon. On NYE, for example, they cooked us an incredible meal, treated us to live music, and gave us Chinese lanterns to send off into the night sky.

Pine Bungalows will pick you up at Krabi airport for a small charge, and also arrange your transport to your next location. They had a van pick us up, for example, and take us down to the ferry for Phuket.

Many places in Thailand are overrun by mobs of tourists and questionable food. So Pine is your classic diamond in the rough. If you don't mind basic sleeping quarters, it's hard to think of a better place in Thailand.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
4.5 mi away
Sabai Mansion
Sabai Mansion
#43 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
3.7 mi away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#28 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
4.2 mi away
J. Hotel
J. Hotel
#57 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Chandee Guesthouse
Chandee Guesthouse
#71 of 107 in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hop Inn Krabi
Hop Inn Krabi
#39 of 182 in Krabi Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aonang Top View
Aonang Top View
#72 of 107 in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Bungalow

Property: Pine Bungalow
Address: 99 Moo 2, Nongtalay | Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ao Nang
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pine Bungalow 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pine Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Bungalow Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing