We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but functional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aonang Orchid Resort
Ranked #59 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
london
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Basic but functional”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I was a little disappointed in my stay here. The restaurant is not really a place to invite someone or to eat at. Yet it is functional and clean. The view is over a car park so don`t come for the view. The hotel itself seems to have a lack of management. I do not think anyone manages it. It seems popular for Muslim visitors due to the owner ship being the same and non-serving of alcohol or a presence of a bar. I had a deluxe room which for me seemed to be only a basic room. If you order a basic room I am not sure what you would get. Yet I did have a very good view of the ocean and that was good. The double bed was two singles pulled together. The headboards would stay as they were. The room needs a good paint. Yet it is having a shower where I get really disappointed. When built they probably thought some would want a bath so put one in. Yet they kept the shower and ending up with a bit of both and got neither. You got to get up real close to the wall to get under the spray. Half of the water would run down the wall and half on your body. I wonder why they put up a hanging curtain. It just seems odd. The spray that went on the wall eventually finds its way across the floor onto a hole at other end of the room. Its a little dark. Staff hardly smile and service is a little short. Yet the swimming pool is good.

Yet where I was pleased was the front travel desk. They are great. They organise most of the trips in Aonang. They have a fleet of boats that rock. Best boats in Aonang. I had 3 trips with them. The best being Hong Island. The trip to Koh Phi Phi was a bit disappointing. They put you in a big barn with about 1,000 other guests. Its like mass feeding time. Tastes good though all the same.

The thing that saves this hotel is the service to and from the pier the trips they organise (wich most hotels utilise) and the crew of the boats all of which are friendly and speak some English.. If you love the sea this is the place to be. Down the road to the left is a nice area where you can sit all day, right next to the waves. The seats are free if you buy a drink and you get free fruit. Massages galore. Just down on the right is the whole beach itself with more choice of restaurants.

You come here because the Hotel is close to the beach. If you do get a room here get deluxe or cottage with swimming pool access and you will not be disappointed. Sorry no drink. Do not expect much from the hotel. Its functional at best. You come here for the location. Go on the trips as much as you can, you will love it. On occasion you get a meal on the beach. Its tasty. Some of the best beach in the world at right there for you. Snorkle and swim with the fish. These guys are kings of the ocean. If you want sea its a good place to be. Just don`t expect much from the rooms and make sure you get a 60% discount which makes it bearable.

Room Tip: Cottage with access to the pool or deluxe room with view. Nothing else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mappyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    217
    99
    41
    38
See reviews for
109
185
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Lovely poolside villa with lovely pool. Shower room flooded. Beware of broken umbrella trick by very rude, very arrogant female thin tall manager. Same experience as earlier review by Keith C, when we need to use umbrella in the room but found umbrella already broken. Also reported broken umbrella upon check out and she threaten 'Umbrella broken because of you. You no pay you no go'. Refused to let our transport to airport and also threaten to call the police and forced to pay THB 600 for broken umbrella. Refused to give her name when asked as we told her we want to file a complain to the owners. Will never stay there again and not recommend.to anyone. Manager should be fired. Hotel decor overall is 4/10 but service and attitude of staff especially is 0/10 very very poor.

Room Tip: Pool side villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jared2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ao Nang hotels

Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I went with my partner in 2012 and we had the best time, loved the pool it was beautiful and the rooms where perfect for a young couple. The hotel is close to everything as everything is on one street. The beach down the road was really nice and easy to go island hopping as to why we picked this hotel. The room service food was really good and really cheap, just a bit hard to communicate on the phone as to what we wanted to order. I hope to go back one day, maybe when I have children, very relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Pool view villas are the only way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matty24jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is definitely a hotel that will leave a long and lasting memory with me and my family. We choose this hotel after reading on some good review and guess it is really a bad choice. We check in on 2 July 2013 and stay there for 4 nights, but on the 2nd night my 2 years old daughter have a slip in their badly designed toilet. This causes her to knock her head on the curb in the toilet and we have to rush her to the nearest clinic to get her head stitched. As a concern parent i was frustrated on this design of the bathtub that allow the water to flow across the floor right from the sewage hole. The next morning i decided to voice out my concern to this front desk manager that there is fault with the design of the toilet and even brought along the blood strained face towel to show her how serious it is. Guess what come out from her mouth, She say that it is my responsibility to take care of my daughter and the design is set as sure and can never be change.
As a hotelier myself, i will never expect sure a sentences that will come out from a frontline staff and definitely not from a manager. All i'm just might expect from her is a sound of a bit sympathy or apology for what happen and yet turn into be scolded from a Manager who don't wish to hear any comments from guest. I was speechless and can only express my thought on the trip advisor and will never land my foot in the hotel ever again.

Room Tip: Pool access villas...but all room need renovation as it have this musty smell and if your luggage sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill_lim73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Nice resort..got big swimming pool with nice view..but free wifi only for one device per room..parking space also limited for those who travel there by car..overall, good place to stay with family during low season..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haizy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is our 4th visit to this hotel but is disappointing as things have gone downhill dramatically.
we are booked in for 9 nights and have been here 1 night to date. the room is a pool view room, ok but the bathroom needs renovating. Tv is a poor choice, hbo and cnn and around 7 other stns, no Australia tv.
Breakfast was the poorest in my 12 years of visiting Thailand, it use to be good here, poor variety. can not even order eggs, just fried eggs in the warmer, poor asian food choice also.
The pool, lovely desing but be careful as I noticed lots of algae, can't believe there standards have dropped to this level, use to be wonderful.
Don't think would be bothered to stay here again, maybe Princeville is a better option for the price.
we paid 2600 per night for deluxe pool view. considering the crappy breakfast and algae in the pool, better options elsewhere.
maybe will stay at Koh Chang in the future instead.
Funny how Thais let the standards drop like this, so disappointing

Room Tip: try elsewhere, things have gone downhill here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the orchid resort aonang last night. Decided to opt for the swim up poolside bungalow as the main rooms looked really tired. Cost was 3500 Thai baht as opposed to 1500 for the room within the main building. Only stayed in Keanu for 24 hours so didn't want to waste time looking round for better options, although now we wished we had. Main shower in the room did not work. The balcony doors did not close properly and could easily be opended from outside and as the room was ground level this was dangerous. The Jacuzzi bath was good but the silicone sealant/grout was old and mouldy. staff generally miserable. Breakfast was biggest disappointment as every single item was stone cold. Even when they brought out more food to replace what was taken it arrived cold. The coffee was old and stale. We asked the general manager to come to our room and we went through all our issues in both English and Thai. He said he would do something for us when we checked out. We thought a discount. Turned out he gave us two gift wrapped hotel coffee mugs. Lol feel like a mug for paying 83 quid to stay at this place. We returned the mugs immediately. Stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank star p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Aonang Princeville Resort
Aonang Princeville Resort
#34 of 108 in Ao Nang
634 reviews
0.0 mi away
Krabi Heritage Hotel
Krabi Heritage Hotel
#41 of 108 in Ao Nang
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Beach Resort
Golden Beach Resort
#38 of 108 in Ao Nang
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#27 of 108 in Ao Nang
827 reviews
0.1 mi away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#21 of 108 in Ao Nang
629 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Verandah
The Verandah
#23 of 108 in Ao Nang
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Orchid Resort

Property: Aonang Orchid Resort
Address: 141 Moo.2, Ao Nang beach | Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aonang Orchid Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aonang Orchid Resort, which in located on the centre of beautiful Aonang beach, It's a modern resort setting, Luxurious room only a few to the beach. Aonang Orchid Resort is equipped facilities ensure that every guests will have everything they need for the most enjoyable and confortable stay. All rooms are surrounded by pool view and cliff limestone or city view of Aonang area, ensuring total privacy for each occupant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aonang Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Orchid Hotel Ao Nang
Ao Nang Orchid Hotel
Aonang Orchid Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing