We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ao Nang Orchidddddd”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aonang Orchid Resort
Ranked #58 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
airtrainandplane
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Ao Nang Orchidddddd”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

On arrival we were met with a smile and informed we were upgraded, on seeing the 'pool view' room and taking in a quick smell amidst the gloomy, dank and dampness, I said no thank you, give me the room we booked (sea view)
This resulted in a few forlorn expressions and carrying the bags up 4 floors to our bigger less smellier 'pylon view' room. I was advised to check for any breakages as I would be charged for them when I left! We were given our 3 breakfast coupons, I thought they were a valuable tradable commodity as the receptionist made such a fuss over keeping them in a safe location.
Breakfast, 2 selections of fruit in Thailand? oh, dont forget your coupon!
On the second day I asked for some teabags and sugar so we could make a cup of tea in our 'pylon view' suite. Oh dear, I was asked why? Why not? Why do you not pay? Im a guest!
After a heated Thai-English exchange I had had enough and left this morning without informing them. We have paid in full via Agoda so they have not lost any cash, I have not wasted another day in the saddest hotel with the most unwelcoming staff that I have ever encountered in S/E Asia.
Give this hotel a wide berth, it stinks,,,

Room Tip: Dont do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxthewax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    213
    97
    40
    37
See reviews for
106
180
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

the hotel brochure and internet site talk of a beautiful 4 star paradise away from the crowds.....how i wish i'd gone to that hotel instead! The only good thing i can say is that the rooms appear to be clean. However, upon check in we were informed that we could not be in our room between 1 and 3pm because it was being fumigated!!! (just what you want to hear). The toilet seat was broken, the balcony door did not shut or lock (and even if you do manage to close the damn thing, there is an inch gap at the top of the door which results in plenty of mozzys in your room. We have been moved around 3 rooms and every door had this problem. the hotel is covered in mosquitos. We've been traveling through Cambodia and Thailand for 3 weeks and ive been bitten once - ive been here 6 hours and my legs are covered in bites.

Service - Terrible. The manager could not talk to me because she was at a meeting leaving nobody to help you. The staff barely speak English and were visibly annoyed with our complaints about the brokens things in rooms. When they moved us the first time, they took us to the noisiest room ive ever been in. the passing by of bikes, taxis and tuk tuks gives you that genuine multi story car park experience.

You can really enjoy the "romantic Balcony" as you stand toe to toe between the biggest chairs in the world, facing out at power cables and pylons only 2 metres from your face.

The hotel restaurant looks like a shed. It may as well have power tools hanging from the wall.

This hotel is NOT 4 star - even a member of staff told me they consider it a 3 star.

Do not get me wrong, we've stayed in some budget hotels on this trip and theyve been lovely. This hotel was supposed to be a mid trip "treat'' but quite frankly I might sleep outside with the tuk tuk drivers in their hut.

My advice - stay ANYWHERE ELSE.
Excuse my punctuation and spelling in this review, i'm using the hotel computer and i'm pretty sure this is broken too.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly87Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ao Nang hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
423 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We booked a grand superior room which was located in the back block in July for NZ$65. It was huge, clean, comfortable, had a bath, LCD, DVD player, large comfortable bed, vanity desk and plenty of seating. The swimming pool was amazing and lovely to swim in with plenty of loungers available, although we were travelling in the low season. Location was great being amongst bars, restaurants, cafes and shops with 4 minute walk to beach. Laundry can be done at cheaper price at shop next to 711 out front. We did not take the breakfast deal and had great breakfast food at Dragon at the end of walking street.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynneandcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Fl.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a great off season value. Very nicely decorated clean room. Crystal clear pool. Nice central location. Near beach and restaurants. Lovely orchids outside the room. Nice attention to detail. Hot water only tepid.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gr8teful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Went there as a big group of abt 40 pax for 3 nights in early June 2012. Liaised with Pawinee from A-Z - she's a gem - never say no to all of my many requests. The other staff are also very helpful and friendly. Since we were in a big group, we took various types of rooms - the seaview, poolview as well as pool access villa. All the rooms are great - seaview and poolview are very large and spacious and nicely decorated (have connecting rooms too). The pool access is much smaller compared to the other two types but very suitable for honeymooners - not for family. Overall price for all types of rooms are very reasonable - especially during green season.
Location is great - smack in Aonang street. Everything is clean - during our time there, it rained most of the time, so the staff would mop the floor every now and then making sure that it is dry all the time. Pool is great. Restaurant is halal for muslims - breakfast was also very good. Had also one dinner at the hotel restaurant - equally good. Tour agent is just in front of the hotel - making it very convenient for us to arrange impromptu jungle tour due to the bad weather during our time there (we initially booked 2 days of snorkeling - but managed to change one of them without having to pay more). Pawinee helped to arrange for massage in room for the ladies, arranged for a local dinner outside with transportation for our large group. All made my life a lot more easier as a leader of this group. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fazlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at this resort for 4 nights on our honeymoon trip to Thailand. Had booked directly through their website and got some really good deals for the pool access villa plus the speed boat trip to Phi Phi and nearby islands.

The resort is right on the main street to Ao Nang beach (barely a 2 min walk). Everything you need is right outside the hotel: a 7-11, laundry, bike rentals, restaurants, pharmacy, etc. But once inside, the chaos is quickly left behind and you're welcomed into a gorgeous property with a large pool (one of the best I've ever seen in a resort), with wonderful landscape around it. We opted for the pool access villas, and it was nothing short of sheer luxury. The entrance to the pool from the villa was rather private, and the balcony was very nice to sit in (very comfortable chairs) for a beer or just to spend some quality time with a loved one. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable; perfect for peaceful sleeps after a tiring day exploring the charming Krabi. The villas have cosy wooden interiors in warm tones. The bathroom was huge, with a spacious bath tub and a separate rain shower area. Very romantic! The room has a flatscreen TV, but not too many English channels. They do, however, have a DVD player, so you can watch movies if you buy DVDs from one of the several shops on the Ao Nang beach road. The in-room facilities were standard; no complaints.

Breakfast was included in the package; my husband loved the shrimp rice and other Asian delicacies they had in the breakfast menu. The restaurant is peaceful.

The resort has wifi, as well as two PC's in the reception area for free limited browsing.

A word about the staff: most are not very fluent in English or may not seem extremely friendly, but you do manage to get by; during our stay here, we did not face any problems with communicating with them or during check-in/check-out. No rude encounters with staff either. Housekeeping was prompt.

The speedboat trip was well organized; no glitches there. We had a perfectly enjoyable day; even the rain couldn't take away the beauty of the islands or the speed boat journey.

Overall, it was a stay we will never forget; in fact, it was probably not a good idea to stay at the resort as one of our first trips as a married couple, because it has set such a high benchmark for us that we now tend to compare each property we stay at with this wonderful resort. And very few match up!

Room Tip: if within budget, do opt for the pool access villas; they're very romantic and cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neelomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stsyed in an ocean view room, lots of space but a very small balcony. Good ocean view and room and bathroom spotless. Breakfast ok. Fabulous pool. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenben255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Aonang Princeville Resort
Aonang Princeville Resort
#36 of 108 in Ao Nang
627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Beach Resort
Golden Beach Resort
#40 of 108 in Ao Nang
868 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#28 of 108 in Ao Nang
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#20 of 108 in Ao Nang
611 reviews
0.3 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 108 in Ao Nang
557 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Verandah
The Verandah
#19 of 108 in Ao Nang
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Orchid Resort

Property: Aonang Orchid Resort
Address: 141 Moo.2, Ao Nang beach | Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aonang Orchid Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aonang Orchid Resort, which in located on the centre of beautiful Aonang beach, It's a modern resort setting, Luxurious room only a few to the beach. Aonang Orchid Resort is equipped facilities ensure that every guests will have everything they need for the most enjoyable and confortable stay. All rooms are surrounded by pool view and cliff limestone or city view of Aonang area, ensuring total privacy for each occupant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Aonang Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Orchid Hotel Ao Nang
Ao Nang Orchid Hotel
Aonang Orchid Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing