We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace, quiet and relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Krabi Cha-Da Resort
Ranked #55 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Peace, quiet and relaxation”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel suited us down to the ground. As we dropped other people off on the way from Krabi airport to the various hotels along Ao Nang, my partner and I feared that we would end up in the middle of the town centre with the noise and neon signs etc... We were relieved and pleasantly surprised by the location. It's perfectly situated at the top of the high street. Yes you have to walk further to the beach but it only takes 15 mins on foot, or 2 mins in a tuk tuk for 50 baht. As well as being quiet and relaxing, the other advantage of the location is that it makes you walk past some of the lesser known bars and restaurants further up the street which other tourists may miss out on.

The bed was big and I found it comfortable but nothing compares to your own bed at home! Air con was a little noisy but you do need it.

We had a view out over the pool and the sea which was lovely, particularly in the evening whilst enjoying a cold beer.

Breakfast was fine. Good opportunity to get some fruit! If you stay here, try the delicious omelettes. The staff at breakfast were very sweet and they got to know us.

Reception staff were helpful when required but you get ignored the rest of the time; which was fine with us.

Had no scary insects in the room but did get bitten by mossies a few times at night whilst asleep; probably because we weren't too vigilant with the meshed mosquito doors on the balcony!

The pool was nice and quiet when we visited and if you're inclined to do any exercise on holiday you can swim lengths in the pool as it's rectangular.

If you're considering this hotel, please don't be put off by the 'hill'. It's a short driveway up to the hotel, it's properly lit up and takes less than two minutes to walk up. It is steep so if you're not in good health then opt for somewhere else. Reading reviews on here before we picked the hotel we were almost put off coming because of the hill, we're so glad we stuck to our guns and stayed at Krabi Ch Da.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Musheypea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    156
    108
    28
    22
See reviews for
79
225
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

On arrival at the airport the transport to resort was not there to transfer us as arranged,we had to wait for 90minutes for a 30minute trip to the hotel.Room was spacious but beds were very hard.Room could have been kept cleaner than it was.The choice of breakfast was good.The hotel was in a quiet spot back from the main street.,only problem was the hill to climb up to get there.Air-con very noisy in room.

Room Tip: Not level 7 as the lift only went to 6 then you had 2 flights of steps to climb.As we are in our mid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ao Nang hotels

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I recently stayed at Krabi Cha Da for 10 nights with my husband and 3 children in 2 rooms connected by the verandah on the 4th floor. We all enjoyed our experience there very much. The rooms were clean and spacious and cleaned everyday. The beds and pillows were a little firm but I have found from previous stays in Thailand that this seems to be normal and we did get used to it after the first few nights. The staff there were very friendly and always willing to help if required. The breakfast staff were wonderful to wake up to with all of their smiling faces, especially So.
We hired a motorbike to get around on and it was very safe when parked in the hotel entrance car park throughout the day and night. We found the position of Krabi Cha Da wonderful as it was off the road and away from the noise of the main strip with beautiful views of the water and Krabi cliffs. We had great bargain shopping and lovely restaurants (Aning was our favourite) just down the hill, a washing service for 30 baht per kilo at the end of the driveway and access from Ao Nang beach (15 minutes walk) to some of the most beautiful islands in Thailand. The hotel had lovely swimming pools and every afternoon served 2 for 1 drinks by the pool (some exceptions on certain drinks apply).
We look forward to one day coming back Felix.... and thank-you for always being so prompt in replying to any email questions we had.

Room Tip: If you stay on the upper levels they have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Really enjoyed staying at this hotel. Upon check in they greet you with a welcome drink, fruit and a nice cold flannel which is what we needed after our long journey. The guys helped take our luggage up to our room which was lovely, the only fault with the room was the shower was absolutely rubbish, more water sprayed on the ceiling than anywhere else and the bed mattresses are rock solid. Another downfall was that you have to pay for wifi which I thought was shocking as usually it's complementary, although we did manage to connect to it sometimes but the signal was poor. The pool area is great and we had a balcony which was nice. Another highlight was that we got breakfast which we wasn't expecting and it was lovely. The ladies on reception where always really friendly and willing to help book taxis etc ... If I returned to Ao Nang I'd defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Like many Australians we purchased a great deal to spend part of our Feb Thai holiday here in Ao Nang at the Cha Da.
We arrived at Krabi airport to find the promised transfer didn't have us on the list, after much arguing we insisted on him taking us to the hotel which the driver begrudgingly did.
When we arrived we weren't booked in & were advised we must've failed to confirm our reservation which was quickly refuted by my presenting a copy of their confirmation email to us.
The manager spent over half an hour on the phone before explaining they had no rooms so we'd have to go to their sister hotel which was a 10 minute drive away for 1 night then transfer back to there for the other 4 nights. This was unacceptable on so many levels not the least of which we were travelling with friends who'd then be 10 minutes drive from us & we'd have to unpack, repack & unpack again.
We stood our ground & with a very unhappy scowl the manager finally gave us a room which had mysteriously appeared. It was a pool access room so he'd clearly tried to not give us an upgrade despite the mistake being entirely theirs.
Nearly an hour after arriving we were finally given a room key. A few minutes after we got to our room the porter brought our bags & against all belief actually thought we should tip him! As if anyone would think we were happy with our arrival there!!!
The hotel itself is adequate, the in room TV doesn't work & it turned out they knew that pretty much none of the TV's worked but did nothing claiming it was a matter of poor reception. The management are abrasive & don't care, an attitude that permeates all down through the staff ranks.
The breakfast is adequate but I have no idea how they get the bacon to resemble cardboard, it must take a real skill to achieve that!
One night after a very long day out on a boat we made the fateful decision to have dinner at the hotel - take our advice & don't do it. It was by far the worst & most expensive meal we've ever had in Thailand.
Ao Nang is a beautiful spot & I'd love to go back but it would definitely not be at this hotel.

Room Tip: if you have to stay here make sure you get everything confirmed, take printed proof & stand your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our experience was wonderful. We upgraded to rooms that open onto the pool. We swam every night after dinner. Had beautiful happy hour drinks served to us in the pool. The pool was very clean and the water tested every day. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They taught us a few words in Thai which was great fun. The food was great and plentiful. The driveway was a little steep but certainly had no problems negotiating the slope. We paid the Tuk Tuk driver a few extra baht to take us to the reception after dinner. The manager, Krung, was helpful, always pleasant. I had documents I had to sign and return by email to Australia and Krung organised that for me. Nothing was too much trouble. I find beds in Asia are always more firm then in other countries but the beds were fine for us. The resort is not on the beach but we were so thrilled with our pool that getting a tuktuk down to the town and beach was very easy and cheap.

Room Tip: The rooms that open onto the pool are fantastic. Only 7 available so be quick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Before we arranged accommodation in Krabi we looked at some of the reviews for various hotels/resorts on Tripadvisor. One of our travel companions got a super deal to stay at Krabi Cha Da Resort from Getaway Lounge and the rest of us ( which was 14 ) followed suit.
From the moment we arrived until our departure 5 days later no-one within our group had a single word of complaint. The breakfast was fresh and plentiful with more than enough choice to satisfy everyone's needs, the, staff were obliging and helpful at all times ( in fact one night they recommended a restaurant, booked the table and organised transport to and from the restaurant for 8 of us ) and the bed with the mattress topper on it was perfectly comfortable.
We had read that the driveway from the hotel was too steep....unless you are 80 years old with mobility problems then I would think the driveway is fine and any relatively fit person could negotiate it without any problem.
I urge people to ignore all the unpleasant reviews for this hotel as 15 very different people, with very different standards and expectations staying at the same hotel were all in agreeance that the place was pure bliss at an unbelievable price.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a poolside room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawnee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.7 mi away
Krabi Thai Village Resort
Krabi Thai Village Resort
#54 of 108 in Ao Nang
732 reviews
0.2 mi away
BlueSotel Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.3 mi away
Centra by Centara Phu Pano Resort Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Krabi La Playa Resort
Krabi La Playa Resort
#18 of 108 in Ao Nang
991 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Pavilion Queen's Bay
Pavilion Queen's Bay
#87 of 108 in Ao Nang
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krabi Cha-Da Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi Cha-Da Resort

Property: Krabi Cha-Da Resort
Address: 500 Moo 2, Tambol Ao Nang | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Krabi Cha-Da Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Krabi Cha-Da Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi Cha-Da Hotel Ao Nang
Krabi Cha-Da Resort Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing