We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustically charming, top notch service... Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cha Wan Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Cha Wan Resort
Ranked #38 of 105 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rustically charming, top notch service... Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

If you're looking for a resort that's not too near touristy hustle and bustle, yet at a comfortable (10min approx.) walking distance, Cha Wan Resort is an excellent choice.

On arrival, we were warmly greeted by staff and served refreshing welcome drinks. Checking in process was smooth and the books and magazines displayed near the reception area added a homey feel which was welcoming. Towels folded into swans and an elephant with petals on the beds were very adorable indeed! We even hesitated to take them apart at first. Room was large and spacious with wooden panelling that contributed to the rustic charm of the place.

We very much enjoyed the scrumptious breakfast that was served to us daily on the balcony. That's a unique feature of Cha Wan that's hard to find anywhere else! Portions are satisfying, and you get a choice of local, continental and American, or even a combination, if you so request.

Oh yes, I've got to mention about the service. Staff definitely went out of their way to take care of us during our stay with their attentiveness and smiles all around. I was surprised with a birthday cake on my birthday, and the manager Phenappa even gave a friend a scooter ride to the main walking street! How's that for going the extra mile? Airport transfer was also efficiently arranged with packed sandwiches, juice and water for breakfast. Service with a heart at Cha Wan!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cha Wan Resort. It was recommended to us by a friend, and we DEFINITELY recommend it to anyone visiting Krabi.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShanliQuagpyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    73
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
26
146
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

May period is a low season and you can see this from the non-existence of crowd in the Ao-Nang beach area. Likewise, in Cha-Wan, there was only 3 rooms booked - according to the receptionist, but we felt like we were the only guests there.

CHAWAN: Undividend attention from all the service staff at all time. Pick up from the Airport was well arranged. Upon reaching Cha Wan, there was a welcome drink for my girlfriend and I and a nice cool towel to freshen up. Without much delay, we were brought to our room - #8 which was away from the road. The A/Cs was already on - expecting our arrival, and we stepped in the room feeling fantastic. Room was spacious with big bathroom and a big balcony. You can choose to get your breakfast served to your balcony every morning.

EXTRA: Well, the trip was meant for a birthday celebration for my girlfriend and we informed the receptionist that it's her birthday. The very next morning when they served breakfast, they brought along a birthday cake. Sweet! Very splendid touch. Also, the service staff also maintained a smile at all time.

TOURS: You can get your island hopping, day tours arranged with the hotel but after chatting with some fellow Singaporeans in Krabi, we found out there were cheaper alternatives.

Went for Jungle Tour - Emerald Pool, Hot Pool, Tiger Cave Temple at 1100 baht per pax.
4-island hopping was part of package we signed with Cha Wan.

MASSAGE: Our package with Cha Wan included a 1-hour aroma massage. We thought it'll just be somewhere outside the hotel but it was not. Transport was arranged and we went to a high-class Spa valued at 1300 baht per pax.

DISTANCE: Trip to Ao Nang was around 30 minutes from the airport and 7 minutes by walking to Ao-Nang beach. We took a tuk tuk back to our hotel for 40 baht.

FOOD: Try the Street stalls, things are going for 5 to 10 baht per stick.

KRABI TOWN: Take the 50 baht bus to Krabi Town. Taxi costs around 500 - 600 baht there. Not worth it. Location to take the bus is along the main Ao Nang Beach.

SHOPPING: Sad to say this but all Krabi Shopowners were very very rude. Probably it's the low season but everyone was quoting high prices. Things are not as cheap as you can get in Bangkok. We got an Ocean Pack (10 litres for 300 baht), singlet for 120 baht.

DINING: Went to Lae Lay Grill for our last night dinner. Fantastic atmosphere. The low season basically means we are the only group dining there. The restaurant captures a fantastic view of AO Nang and you should reach there by 6:15pm Thai time. Transport is free and you can arrange with your hotel.

Summary: will defintely go back to Cha Wan if we ever go back to Krabi. Only drawback was we had to walk 7 minutes to and fro everywhere when some hotels are directly at Ao Nang beach. Kudos to the staff for creating such a great trip. Cheers!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vinzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuw Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2010

This is great if you don't like big chain hotels, only 10 rooms, and very relaxing.Rooms are nice and spacious in traditional style, all dark wood.Large bathroom and nice big balcony.We ended up in three of the rooms because of availabilty-and we wanted a ground floor room because of the balcony.We travelled with a one year old so the ground floor is better as the balcony is enclosed so she could explore safely without stairs to fall down.Our main room had a wobbley tap but that seems typical of my experience in Thailand - a few rough edges but nothing to cause a big problem.Breakfast can be ordered the night before and served on your balcony. You can get tired of the choice (we were there for 8 days), but it was a a nice difference.Staff were friendly and attentive and the food excellent - the chicken Mussaman was great.Location is in between Ao-Nang and Nopparattara Beach, so there is a nice choice of unspoiled and Touristy.It is located 5 mins walk up a steep hill, but we walked it every day with a push chair and motor bike taxis are just outside , 40B per person to Nopparattara, and 20 B to Ao Nang. Rooms by the road are noiser (nothing excessive) due to traffic, so aim for the rear if you can.There is Free Wifi which can be patchy in the rooms-I used my Ipod to connect.The pools are OK, nice grounds but not enough sun beds for the rooms .This was only a small problem on one day, the rest of the time we had the place to ourselves.DVD player in the rooms, TV channels are limited.Nearby tailor isn't recomended unless you have lots of time to make adjustments.We got a better rate by walking in and negotiating a long stay (8 nights)- 2800B a night.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

We stayed at this hotel in April, with our three kids. We had been traveling for 3 months already and had one more to go. Now looking back to this trip, when we think of the best hotel experiences we had (and there were many) this was one of them.
When we arrived, there were rose petals on the beds and towels shaped as swans. The kids loved it.
We also loved the spacious bedroom and bathroom, as well as the balcony where breakfast was served every morning, which was a treat. It was beautifully decorated in Thai style as well. We had a pond in front of our room with fish in it.

Unfortunately, our unit, on the main floor towards the back of the property, was near a sewer line, and many times, depending where the wind blew, we had that unpleasant odor sometimes while having breakfast. But I suppose this wouldn't be a problem at the other units. Just try not to get the ones at the back.

The service was also good, though communication was very basic due to their English limitations. Even then, they were able to book our tours and offer some advice.

It is a wonderful place, but you really should consider what kind of holidays you are after. Relaxing at the beach with your family, or going on island tours, cayaking trips, and so on. The hotel is a 10 or so minute walk to the beach and Ao Nang isn't really a beach people swim in much. Busy, crowded with long tail boats and not that pretty as others in the area, It is more of a base to go to the islands and other places, which for us meant going on tours most days.

When we were tired of all the touring and wanted to stay in or when we came back in the afternoon, there wasn't much more to do outside besides sitting around the pool. That alone wouldn't be a problem, except we had kids with us and the pool was a bit too small (the whole common are is) so it can feel crowded, specially when there are more guests in the area.

For young families that want to be closer to the beach and have more grounds for the children to run free, maybe this hotel isn't your best choice. You could consider Railay beach or even Centara resort (on the next bay right over Ao Nang beach) which is a gem of a place.

However, if you are traveling with friends or are a couple, this can be a perfect destination. It is quiet, cozy, romantic, stylish and clean. A very pretty boutique hotel.
I would definitely go back there if traveling with my wife only. And the price is right too.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Claudia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

Having been to Krabi on a good few occasions we decided to stay in Ao Nang this time...It was our good friends 50th Birthday and her and her family’s first time in Thailand...after reading the reviews and doing a bit of research I found this true gem of a resort...it is a small, and has lovely Thai style villas, very green and tropical grounds, and with two small pools one of which I would class as a childrens pool or a plunge pool. This resort is a place of peace and tranquillity... all the staff enjoy good fun and are very attentive.... it is about a 10 min walk to the main strip of Ao Nang,. with all the restaurants bars and shopping areas. A great place to eat and cheap is the wonderful E-San Seafood restaurant (located in the old food market area just before the Blue Mango restaurant)...its not fancy lots of plastic tables and chairs but clean,. The loo is in a separate building at the back... the whole feel of the place is very Thai and the food superb... this is well worth a visit...the overall feeling from our group was this was the favourite dining experience in the is area....the other favourite of ours is Kor-Bua, http://www.kor-bua.com/. We went back here after 12 months and again we were not disappointed,.. the food, staff, service and the price are excellant and still they will come and collect you and take you back to your hotel for free...wot a great service....!!! Cha Wan is a great spot in Krabi not beach front but never the less a great place to stay.....Enjoy !!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madamejonesSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in March '10. Fantastic boutique hotel, staff very friendly and helpful. Good choice for breakast. Ten minute walk from beach and main strip, there are a few restaurants next door which are very nice and worth trying. The seafish strip has some lovely fresh fish restuarants. Would definately recommend this hotel, can not fault it at all.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

Can't say enough about this wonderful cosy, intimate boutique hotel. Only a 5 minute walk from the main street, which is perfect as you're not in the thick of it. Very spacious rooms, courteous staff, brilliant breakfast. Would absolutely go back, loved the area, loved the hotel. Just don't forget the mosquito repellant and BYO sunscreen.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Humpty73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
9.7 mi away
Hula Hula Resort
Hula Hula Resort
#39 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
9.7 mi away
Maleedee Bay Resort
Maleedee Bay Resort
#46 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Home Ao Nang
Little Home Ao Nang
#37 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#22 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
8.5 mi away
Lux Family Villas
Lux Family Villas
#9 of 105 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
9.9 mi away
Apasari Krabi
Apasari Krabi
#31 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cha Wan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cha Wan Resort

Property: Cha Wan Resort
Address: 159 Moo 3, Ao Nang Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cha Wan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Cha Wan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cha Wan Hotel Ao Nang
Cha Wan Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing