We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place in every way!”
Review of Cha Wan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cha Wan Resort
Ranked #42 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Dhaka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place in every way!”
Reviewed March 1, 2010

I have been to Cha Wan Resort for 4 nights very recently. It is a beautiful place with only 5 buildings with 2 rooms in each, so it basically has 10 rooms in total. Its a cozy little place which is extremely well designed. I loved it even more because it is so green inside, there's so many trees around it gives you a very secluded romantic feeling. There's 2 swimming pools in the middle surrounded by the 5 cottages. The rooms are HUGE with huge king beds, private balcony and a huge bathtub! I loved the bathroom there! The service is really good. They even provide breakfast at your private balcony which has such a romantic touch to it. Its a bit far from the beach (10 mins walk) but you would enjoy the walk since there's lots of shops on the way plus its really easy to just take a tuktuk to the beach (20 baht per person).

We even booked 4 island trips, kayaking tours through the hotel at a very cheap rate. It was an amazing stay and I would surely recommend this hotel to everyone. I would love to go back there again :)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    73
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
26
146
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

The new Cha Wan resort is one of the few gems we have encountered in
Ao Nang/Krabi! It has only 5 guest houses with two rooms each, one on the ground floor, one on the first story. All rooms are very spacious, nicely decorated and the bath is awsome! Full with (partly plastic) flowers, shower and bath tube, lots of space and and and... We had a room on the first story and apart from the road and it was very quiet a night besides of the acceptable noise of air conditioning.

The resort itself is about 400 m from Beach road. You can easily walk there and decide to go to either of the beaches where you will find a lot of shops or go on a boat trip. The swimming pool is rather small but the resort is built in a way that you will find mostly a place in the shade around the pool which we found better than a huge pool and the sun burning you in just a few minutes...

Breakfast is included and comes with a broad choice. Best of it is that you can order it to be served on your terace/balcony. We have also tried the restaurant and the food was very good.

The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful at all times!

Maybe some words about Ao Nang to complete this review: We would recommend it for a maximum of 3-4 days and you need to choose and book your activities carefully. Ao Nang is good for boat trips, diving and the few other packages that are offered everywhere the same and with pretty steep prizes compared to Thai standard... Ao Nang itself is not very attrative... Many shops, always with extraorbitant prices that you need to bargain down, arrogant and money-spoilt Thais and the usual indian taylors trying to sell you their badly sewed suites... All in all as you would expect it from Patong or Pattaya - unfortunately, it has reached Ao Nang obviously already. Most positive for us while not being on some tour was a taxi-trip to Krabi Town: Friendly people, normal prizes and piece while walking in the streets.

PS: Whenever buying something make sure you known what is the normal price and what is included or you might get some nice surprises (ours included even being threatened with a knife...).

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhofer76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dano1k
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

This resort is small and intimate. The service is impeccable and friendly., I will stay here again on future travels. Only complaint is the bed was hard, but other than that it was great

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dano1K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

After staying in Koh Pangan (Palita Lodge) we have booked Cha Wan Resort for 7 nights over New Year. Upon arrival we have received towel and welcome drink with smiley faces. Our room was absolutely lovely (decorated with petals as me have mentioned it’s our honeymoon). All rooms have all you need and more. Breakfast is usually served on you private balcony…it’s so romantic. All together there is 10 rooms, it feels small and cosy…very quiet, exactly what we were looking for. Food is fantastic and staff goes that extra mile for your wishes. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this place to my best friends! If you looking for something nice and quiet with perfect service, this is your place. Check their offers. We got so many free things including our stay…2 x boat trip, elephant ride, massage, set dinner….We would definitely come back to Cha Wan if in Krabi (although not my favourite part of Thailand as it’s too commercial for us).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucieandBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2009

A little out from Ao Nang Center, but only a short walk of 5 min.
A beautyful resort with helpful and friendly staff. Stunning rooms clean and beautyfully decorated. Our balcony had sunloungers and chairs and our breakfast of choice was delivered in the morning to enjoy in privacy. A romantic , private and well looked after resort. We recouperated from our travels in no time and enjoyed the peace and food in lovely surroundings. Tip here - enjoy the bath - the tub is great!!!

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank grantjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

A fantastic hotel, the moment we walked into our room WOW! A truly great experience and the staff couldn't do enough for us, the food at the hotel was really good. The hotel is just off the main strip of Ao Nang, which was worth while as you can get away from the hustle and bustle of what can be a livley resort.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manoross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Hula Hula Resort
Hula Hula Resort
#41 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lux Family Villas
Lux Family Villas
#8 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maleedee Bay Resort
Maleedee Bay Resort
#50 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Little Home Ao Nang
Little Home Ao Nang
#34 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.1 mi away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#43 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apasari Krabi
Apasari Krabi
#32 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cha Wan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cha Wan Resort

Property: Cha Wan Resort
Address: 159 Moo 3, Ao Nang Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cha Wan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cha Wan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cha Wan Hotel Ao Nang
Cha Wan Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing