We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cha Wan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cha Wan Resort
Ranked #37 of 106 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location and value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

Cha Wan is a charming little hotel close to the Ao Nang area of Krabi. Extremely close to the beautiful Ao Nang beach, it surprises you with how beautiful it is in terms of both architecture and natural beauty.  Right from the welcome drink to the prompt service, this hotel is a great example of Thai hospitality. Every room has clean and neat wooden furnishings. The best surprises are the large bathroom with a large tub and the patio on which you can be one with nature and curl up with a good book and hot coffee. If you want, room service and the complimentary breakfast are served to you on the patio. It is just a walk away from the beach, restaurants, massage parlours and carts of street food.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank travelluster27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    73
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
26
146
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

This was our second visit to this resort and was not disappointed , we stayed there with some friends who got married in Krabi and the staff were outstanding, in my opinion you will not find a better more personal place to stay in Krabi than the Cha Wan, the rooms are big and clean, the pool is tranquil, the food is delicious and the staff go above and beyond to make sure your stay is perfect, we will be back !!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TJWhiteUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

First time staying here but was recommended by friends who have stayed here before and know what they're talking about when it comes to Thailand. We got married in Thailand and left from this resort the staff really helped our stay to become memorable and went above and beyond to make our stay so special.if you want a more personal touch than the big resorts then this is perfect, the pool is lovely the restaurant food was delicious and the staff were all so friendly and helpful. The room is gorgeous and you have a little terrace and not a balcony and they clean everyday.it was really a fantastic place to stay and we will definitely come back next year.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

I generally agree with most of the reviews in that the rooms are vast, seperate bath toilet and shower but things like overall cleanliness is a bit iffy. The duvetcover had moth holes in them.
The performance of the A/C is poor.

Go for rooms upstairs, 2,4,6,8 and 10 as these have double glazed type front doors.

Rooms 1,3,5,7, and 9 have wooden doors and they have huge holes in them through shrinkage and the mosquitoes get into the room too easily.

There is some road noise

The complimentary water is actually in the fridge but I was caught out by using the other bottles on top of the fridge.

The breakfast in the restaurant was the best I 've had in Thailand for years - even had poached eggs in vinegar - yummy.

By the way the TV picture and reception was appalling

But for this discounted high season rate of 3200baht/night I consider it worth a recommendation

Room Tip: Rooms 6, 8 and 10 are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UkShiney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

My wife and I didn't want to be slumming it with the backpackers, but didn't want to be in a full resort hotel. Cha Wan fit the bill perfectly.

The hotel consists of four or five dual level 'towers' with a top and bottom floor each containing an en-suite room. The style is Thai-esque, with pointy designs on the roof and pleasant fish ponds around the entrance to each ground floor room. There are two pools big enough to cool off in or to have kids splash around in happily.

Our room was spacious, with a separate toilet and bathroom. The AC worked, the water was hot and the bed was comfy, with plenty of plug sockets, well stocked minibar fridge and free wifi that worked well.

Breakfast was very decent, with American, contintental and Thai options. We didn't have dinner at the restaurant as we were always in town in the evenings, but I'm sure it was good. The bar has a good range of drinks (with Diet Coke, something you don't always find).

If I had a gripe it would be that two of the ladies working in the restaurant didn't speak very good English at all, but this wasn't really an issue - they were so friendly, helpful and delightfully batty that trying to communicate what we wanted was quite fun. The ladies working at reception spoke excellent English and were always very welcoming and helpful.

The walk into town is not a problem at all - no steep hills and plenty of shade along the way. It only takes about ten minutes, passing some restaurants, hotels and a small supermarket before coming to Ao Nang's main 'strip'.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: As other reviewers mention, a roadside room would (logically) potentially be noisier than rooms not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank redstar2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

We stayed at Cha Wan for 8 nights at the beginning of February. The hotel is excellent, the best we stayed at in Thailand. The rooms are vast and with only 10 rooms it is very quiet. Beakfast on our balcony was lovely and the food in the small restaurant is also good. The staff are most helpful and friendly. We booked a package which included 3 full day trips which were also first rate. I would strongly recommend the hotel to anyone seeking a quiet hotel but within easy walking distance of Ao Nang beach. You also pass the Carnivore restaurant on the way into town.

Room Tip: Room 10 is away from the road, on the top floor and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDB44R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

We chose the hotel because of the positive reviews on Tripadvisor. Just before we travelled I was a little concerned because of one or two less flattering reviews so I contacted the hotel directly to raise a couple of minor concerns. The response and reaction was first class and I am so pleased that we visited Cha Wan Resort.
The first impression was not great because the transfer from the ferry station brought us to the hotel from the 'back route' away from the coast and town which created the impression that the hotel was in the middle of nowhere. The welcome at reception was very good and after a welcome drink we were shown to our room (number 5) which completely exceeded our expectations. The hotel only has 10 rooms - all of them pretty much identical and all of them suites with large bedroom and bathroom areas. I asked for local directions at reception and was given a good map and simple instructions. The location turned out to be ideal - an easy 5 to 10 minute walk into Ao Nang which was great for access to all the local restaurants and bars many of which had live music each night. There are dozens of local taxis available on every corner but apart from one night when it rained we enjoyed the walk to and from the town. Breakfast at the hotel can be served at your suite but the small restaurant overlooking the pool and garden areas was lovely and everyone seemed to choose to eat there - breakfast was excellent. We spent a lot of time lazing around the pool during the daytime as we had arrived from Ko Lanta and were moving on to Khao Lak so a break from the beach every day made a nice change. As it turned out we were pretty much the only people using the pool area so it felt like we had our own private luxury villa with all the staff (friendly and smiling) looking after us. The gardens and landscaping are beautiful and my wife particularly enjoyed looking at the fish as we crossed the small bridge to our room.
I have been a hotel Manager / GM for over 30 years and value for money is a key consideration. I would recommend Cha Wan to anyone looking to stay in Ao Nang.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 to 4 are nearest the road and potentially a little noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikemaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
9.7 mi away
Hula Hula Resort
Hula Hula Resort
#41 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
9.7 mi away
Maleedee Bay Resort
Maleedee Bay Resort
#44 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Home Ao Nang
Little Home Ao Nang
#35 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#22 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
8.5 mi away
Lux Family Villas
Lux Family Villas
#15 of 106 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
9.9 mi away
Apasari Krabi
Apasari Krabi
#29 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cha Wan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cha Wan Resort

Property: Cha Wan Resort
Address: 159 Moo 3, Ao Nang Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cha Wan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cha Wan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cha Wan Hotel Ao Nang
Cha Wan Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing