We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curious case of missing clothes!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I came to my honeymoon to this resort after a lot of research on trip advisor. Must say was very pleased with the room, especially the way it was decorated with flowers. The hotel surely did a good job at creating the right, first impression. The room itself left little to be desired, it had a splendid view of the cliff and overlooking the sea. There were a couple of chairs on the balcony where you can sit comfortably and watch the sea at a distance and have your beer. Though we didn't use the bathtub in the balcony. The interiors of the room was tasteful yet basic. The King size bed was comfortable and quite large. The minibar was well stocked. Limited no of international channels on the LCD that was there in the room. They give you most of the amenities, basic though, required for a comfortable stay.
The bathroom was nicely done, but had some basic things missing. There wasn't a towel rack, the towels were kept near the basin...you're not used to see that anywhere, I'm sure. There wasn't a shower curtain and neither was there a cubicle....so you end up wetting the bathroom after a shower!
Room service was nothing special to be mentioned here and the house keeping staff went a long way in tarnishing the perception of this hotel, at least for me.
While checking out yesterday, on 27 Feb, I forgot some of my clothes and I only remembered this once I claimed my baggage at Bangkok. After checking in to Swissotel in Bangkok, I checked all my luggage and found those clothes missing. I remembered to have left it in the bathroom while checking out. Upon calling the hotel came the shocker, they haven't find any stuff from my room. Upon repeated calls and request, the hotel managers insisted and 'assured' there wasn't anything left behind.
Now I have stayed in a lot many hotels in India and abroad, and have forgotten things....each time I was either lucky or the hotel house keeping were 'honest' to have found and kept my belongings and even on occasion, courier them back. Laptop chargers, phone chargers, track pants, even watches.
I'm shocked at the attitude of the hotel staff...and the lack of integrity of the house keepers at Ao Nang Cliff Beach Resort. Petty is the word best describes them. It wasn't the clothes that I lost that makes me upset, but the complete lack of honesty that the hotel depressed me with.
In gist, Ao Nang Cliff Beach Resort successfully spoilt my perfect honeymoon; but I continue to believe in the honesty of other hotels and Ao Nang Cliff Beach Resort I'm sure is a rarest of rare deviation in the industry.
Wanted to give 5 outta 5 to them; but they earns a Big Zero....

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ShekharDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aonangcliffbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Aonang Cliff Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear ShekharDC

Greeting From Aonang Cliff Beach Resort !!

Thank you very much for spending your Honeymoon at Aonang Cliff Beach Resort and sharing your recent stay on Tripadvisor. We are delight to see that you had a memorable honeymoon with the first impression upon arrival in room set up with the flower and two lovely swans is well received. You also had a great time when enjoyed with the splendid view of the cliff and overlooking the sea from your balcony.

In regards to your comment about missing clothes, we are very sorry to hear that you experienced problems. Kindly be informed that our housekeeping staff do their best to find your stuffs and double check all area not only in your room. In the mean time,we already pass this issue to the management to improve our service which we have started to do by training our staffs according to standards service.

We look forward to welcoming you to our resort and should you require further information or have any queries please do not hesitate to contact us at any time.

Warm Regards,
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,920)
There are newer reviews for Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,235 - 1,241 of 1,921 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

The hotel lives up to its name.The views from the deluxe rooms are worth that little extra.A bath tub on the balony looking over to the ocean as the sun goes down.The front of house staff are so welcoming and helpful.The pool is so welcomed in the afternoon,cool clean and close to a bar and food service.The set menu for one try it or for two,tasty and wholesome.I must mention Gym a most charming youmg lady,The hotel has many plans and I intent to return next year.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and have deluxe rooms on the sencond or third floor.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seajadeguesthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aonangcliffbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Aonang Cliff Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Seajadeguesthouse

Greeting From Aonang Cliff Beach Resort !!

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. It has been our pleasure to serve you. Thank you for appreciating us in every aspect. Our hard working has been fulfilled when you feel happy throughout your stay. We are more than happy and welcome to know that you will come back here again. We do our best to meet your needs, please to be assured.

Warm Regards,
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Yes, I'm sure there are more luxorious hotels around the world. In fact, I have been to them. But the Cliff Beach is a really good hotel and especially in a country where western style luxory is not common.

The hotel is clean, well maintained and the staff make every effort to make you enjoy your stay. They really do care and if something is wrong of missing, they'll help right away.

We had a standard room. There a two categories more luxorious. Would have liked a tub on the balcony, be eh, you just sleep there anyway. Our oom was situated on the ground floor. Well, in the cellar, actually, but is was spacious, clean and had all we needed. Which was just a good shower an bed anyway. And airco, I admit, and that too worked like a charm.
The beds are quite hard, so one thing to be aware off.

The pool has a towel service. Not too many sunbeds and you will find yourselve beiing too late if you don't lie there around breakfast time.

Breakfast is plenty and even the coffee is reasonable. Staff is fast to pour it and to clear your plate after you are finished.

This hotel is situated a few minutes walk from the beach and smack next to the inevitable mcdonalds and Starbucks. Just ignore those as you can use them at home all year long which cannot be said of all that delicious Thai food.

So, want some luxory? Want a place close to the beach? Close to all the boats to whichever island you want to visit? Then this hotel is for you!

Lemme know if you found this usefull please and make your stay unforgettable!
-

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank T0mmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aonangcliffbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Aonang Cliff Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear TOmmie

Greeting From Aonang Cliff Beach Resort !!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your review on Tripadvisor. It was with great pleasure to hear that we provided you with the best service and meet all you needs. We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly recommend our hotel, and our team here at the resort appreciate your very positive review and feedback. We send you are warmest regards & look forward to your return.

Warm Regards,
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

very friendly and helpful staff at the front desk. beach just a few mins walk down the road. lots of bars and restaurants to choose from close by along the beachfront road. we were only there 2 nights so didn't get a chance to take part in any of the hotels activities, but there was a lot to choose from on the list. Buffet breakfast had a good choice of both western and eastern food. there is a very friendly muay thai instructor there who took us on friday night to the aonang krabi stadium (a must see, some very exciting fights), he got us there early to get the best seats and even gave us a tour of the stadium!
rooms were clean and comfy, good shower. plug broken in sink. no mini bar as stated but didn't need it anyway. ceiling fans didn't work properly, they were stuck on slow so not much use (there is airconditioning aswell which you can control for your room, i just don't like aircon and would have rather used just the fans). we had a superior front room (probably the cheapest rooms) perfectly adequate, you get a nice big balcony, it looks out on the street, but with the doors closed none of the noise from the street gets in so it's nice and quiet in the room. but if you want something fancy then go for one of the higher priced rooms, and i expect you get a fantastic view from the rooms that are higher up.
Krabi is a very touristy area so expect a mixture of guests, there was unfortunately one tubby guest sunbathing topless by the pool right infront of everyone including familys with children. this is very disrespectful of the thai culture and of the other guests, the hotel staff didn't do anything about it which surprised me.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GirlBelongTropics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aonangcliffbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Aonang Cliff Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear rhenslow

Greeting From Aonang Cliff Beach Resort

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed with the location, enjoyed the view from room and had a wonderful experience with Muay Thai activities. In regards to your comment about the facilities in the room, by now we address those issue to the engineering team to solve the problems. please, accept our apologize for any-inconvenient and hopefully you will come back to visit aonang again.

Warm Regards,
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

we stayed here for 3 nights, overall the stay was good the staff was very polite and helpful. the location of the hotel was in the happening area of Aonang near to all shopping places restaurants and bars yet very quiet hotel. The only problem was the big pillows. Rest we had a wonderful stay,

Room Tip: ocean view rooms are good with a bath tub in the balcony facing the sea. note that rooms are a bit s...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoginiInamke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aonangcliffbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Aonang Cliff Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Yoginilnamke

Greeting From Aonang Cliff Beach Resort !!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your recent stay on Tripadvisor. It sounds like you had a great vacation and had a wonderful stay with us. We hope it won’t be too long to welcome you back soon and hopefully again at Aonang Cliff Beach Resort !!

Warm Regards,
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here Feb 4-9. The pictures of the room we booked online were not what we got. We were put in a "Deluxe Room" if you can call it that. The room number was 2009 facing the street right beside the restaurant. It was a very noisy room. You can clearly hear them setting up the buffet at 5:30am and people yelling on the streets at night. We are a young couple and like to go out and have a good time but I really think that they need to sound proof that room better. The staff said that they could switch us on our last night but we decided to stay so we didn't have to pack and un pack for one night. The room was very basic, bed is hard. It did have a large balcony with a nice view.

The hotel amenities are nice. The pool is really nice to relax by. They do provide towels to take to the beach which was nice. They also have a happy hour from 5-7 2 for 1 drinks.
The best things was the buffet breakfast. It was huge and a great selection of American and Thai food.
It is about 5-7 walk to the beach where you can rent long tail boats to go to all the islands.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abby3119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aonangcliffbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Aonang Cliff Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Abby 3119

Greeting from Aonang Cliff Beach Resort !!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your review on Tripadvisor. In regard to the noise from the street, by now we already pass this issue to the management team to improve our service. It's very important to rest assure that we meet all you needs. And we are please to know that you enjoyed the nice view from the balcony and all the amenities are provided for your comfortable stay. We look forward to welcome you back soon at Aonang !! Hopefully again at Aonang Cliff beach Resort.

Warm Regards,
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

the honeymoon, arrangements made in the room and cake provided was very beautiful.

suggest to provide the microwave in room, so couple who are strictly vegetarian and is very selective to the food cooked outside can use this facility provided in the room

apart from daily 2 water bottles , hotel should provide additional 2 bottles free to charge too

the free of cost, water aerobic classes in swimming pool were not conducted on any of the day as mentioned in the daily time schedule

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank janak d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aonangcliffbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Aonang Cliff Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear janak d

Greeting From Aonang Cliff Beach Resort !!

Thank you for taking your time to share your review. We would like to thank you for choosing to stay here with us on your honeymoon. In regards to your suggestion, we will pass those issue to the management team to look into the detail and improve our service.

We look forward to welcome you back when your next holiday. In the meantime please keep in touch & do not hesitate to contact us for any information or assistance.

Warm Regards,
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.6 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 109 in Ao Nang
1,506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.6 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 109 in Ao Nang
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 109 in Ao Nang
583 reviews
0.7 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Cliff Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Cliff Beach Resort

Address: 328, Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#7 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: $55 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aonang Cliff Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort is Krabi's 4 star boutique resort with spectacular views of the cliff and Andaman Sea. Located in the center of Aonang, with easy access to the beach, shopping, Dining and night life. 97 Newly refurbished, spacious guest rooms offer comfortable accommodation in Superior , Deluxe and Ocean View categories. The Ocean wing features sunset balcony for romantics and honeymooners. The resort offers a unique Thai restaurant and a boulevard cafe in Aonang's most versatile and lively shopping plaza. Around the resort pool you will find a Bar & Bistro, wellness center complete with Thai Spa, Gym, Muay Thai, Yoga and Tai Chi classes. Social and business events are celebrated in style for up to 180 guests in the new event center and on the Cliff Panorama Terrace. Coupled with grace of our Thai service memories are made of this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aonang Cliff Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Cliff Beach Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing