We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - quiet yet so close to the action”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Ginger Chic Resort
Ranked #7 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Ao Nang
Maroochydore, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location - quiet yet so close to the action”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Red Ginger is in a great location for anyone wanting to be close to the action in Ao Nang, but just far enough away to escape from the main-street craziness. Its a short walk into the main street - although the presence of shops and street vendors made it feel like the main street started virtually at your front door. There are tuk tuk's and taxis right there if a 5 min walk isn't your thing... but we always walked as so much to see (and taste!).
The resort itself was nice and clean. Not too fancy - although the decor kind of funky. It's not a huge resort and this was part of the appeal for us. The pool was nice and we had a pool access room which was definitely worth the extra money. The room was above average - probably in line with the price you pay - its not 5 star prices so you can't expect 5 star quality. We didn't have any complaints, the bed was nice and firm but we found the pillows too soft - but that's just nit picking! And the wi-fi access in our room wasn't great. There are some signs of age - few cracked tiles etc, but nothing too bad.
The service was fine but we didn't spend much time in the resort other than to sleep, have breakfast and a couple of afternoons in the pool for happy hour at the swim up bar. There's not much to do in the resort so if you like staying in, it might not be the best resort for you. For us it was all about location - with a nice room!
The breakfast was very average - typical mid-size hotel buffet with nothing special. If you are a health-nut like me you might struggle, not a lot of healthy choice other than fresh fruit, yoghurt (although sweetened), muesli and eggs. But then I don't pick my holiday accom based on breakfast choice...
OVerall we were happy with our decision to stay at Red Ginger, was exactly what we were after on this trip. Next time I might stay elsewhere but that's only because its nice to try other places and not to do with our experience. I'd recommend it to anyone wanting a nice reasonably priced resort, close to the action of Ao Nang.

Room Tip: Choose a pool access room (for couples, not families) - but be quick there are only 6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnycoastchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    295
    111
    32
    16
See reviews for
155
324
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed a great week here, staff pleasant and obliging , super pool and quiet. Breakfast was amazing and consistent . The rooms are large and clean. The only blip was the dining room was used for a large party of Chinese guests to watch Manchester United , and have dinner. They continued screeching past 2am and I'm pretty sure all the balconies would have heard this, mine was close to the dining area. Might be an idea to curfew this location at 12 midnight !
Otherwise great hotel

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princetown, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

booked 9nts through an agent October 2013
handed our hotel voucher over check-in went smoothly.
the room was two levels, lounge, good size veranda,(over looking the pool) bath/shower room on 1st level and bedroom on the 2nd, remember the stairs being a bit narrow and slippery.
we had a phone call asking us to come down to reception, there we were told that they the RGC had e-mail the agent back in November saying they could no longer take the (our) booking!!!
staff member ms Nontoka printed off a copy of this e-mail for us to see, she also informed us that they were fully booked and we could only stay the 1 night, but she would help us find another hotel.
we managed to find another hotel that night, we were very lucky as it is peak season,
we contacted the agent and todate waiting for them to refund our money,
would like to thank ms Nontoka and the staff for their help, it did not spoil our holiday but wished it had never happen, perhaps i,ll think twice about booking with an agent again :(

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ao Nang, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Nice location, nice rooms... I dont think anyone needs more than this in thailand for 4-5 nights... Clean, fresh, well located, nice people, pretty good breakfast, VERY NICE COMFORT BED... Towels for beach and pool.. Scooter rental is just about 1 min walk up on the road, advertising for 300 a day but you can get it for 200-250(up to the model).. Wouldnt use hotels taxi service, they are marking street price, but u can cut off the price on the street... Would stay here again..

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank zboltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Very well situated away from main busy centre. Very tired and needs complete overhaul. Not worthy of rating. Staff helpful and room cleaning excellent with clean towels etc every day. Pool area OK - not enough sun beds (all sardined in together). Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Keep away from the swim up rooms if you want peace and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princessfiona26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed at red ginger for 2 weeks and we absolutely loved it. The room was nice and cousy, with an enormous bed. There are also robes in the room and bathing equipment. They provide beach bags with beach towels and umbrellas. I really loved the breakfast, which was included. They have a variety of plates, so there should be something for everyone - local food (rice or noodles, different sauces), pancakes, cereal, salads, fruits and there is a cook who will make eggs or omlettes the way you like.
The pool area and the pool were adorable, you can definately relax there.
The only thng we didn't like, was the ants on our balcony. They came through a little crack in the balcony's door and rolled around the table, so everything that was on the table was covered with them.

Room Tip: If I could have chosen, I would have stayed in room with the pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank little_traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Great hotel in the quieter part of Ao Nang, lovely pool and staff are really friendly and helpful. Free bike hire is a bonus too!
Head up to the hawkers on the main road for great cheap street food too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Krabi La Playa Resort
Krabi La Playa Resort
#16 of 108 in Ao Nang
979 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Ginger Chic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Ginger Chic Resort

Property: Red Ginger Chic Resort
Address: 168 Moo 3 T. Ao Nang a. Maung | Krabi, Thailand, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Ginger Chic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a tropical flower in bloom, Red Ginger Chic Resort is an inspiration for the senses. Red hot in stylish modernity and conveniences balanced with a cool chic ambience, the perfect holiday abode offering magnificent of views of Nopparat Thana Nation Park. With only 63 rooms and one restaurant serving international and Thai cuisines, this beautiful resort has a very exclusive and personal feel. There is a freshwater pool and pool bar plus alfresco fitness facility, while the beach is but a short stroll away.Red Ginger is located 200 metre from the center of Ao Nang Beach, in Krabi province, southern part of Thailand – (821 kilometers from Bangkok and 155 kilometers east of Phuket). The property is excellently located in the middle of Ao Nang and Nopparat Thara beach. It is a paradise for those who love snorkeling, scuba diving, ocean kayaking or even rock climbing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Ginger Chic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Ginger Chic Hotel Ao Nang
Red Ginger Chic Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing