We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will be back!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Ginger Chic Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Ginger Chic Resort
Ranked #8 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“We will be back!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is a great hotel, sorry resort, no its just a hotel but its seems everywhere in Ao Nang calls themselves resorts'.

Anyway the rooms are spacious and really well designed with be balconies as well. The swimming pool is big with a pool bar and Jacuzzi seats. There are also plenty of sunloungers.

They have a good buffet breakfast and shock horror good coffee, something of a rarity when in this part of the world.

Really good staff and the little extras like umbrellas, beach mats, bags and towels make this hotel stand out among the rest, cant wait to return!

p.s. if you smoke you should know that there is a no smoking policy in rooms and balconies, but there is smoking areas.

Room Tip: The rooms in the west wing have a swimming pool views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anaputtachai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    280
    104
    31
    16
See reviews for
146
308
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have stay this hotel 27 - 30 September . It's surprise for our holiday .. hotel staff ( Ms. Jiraporn and her friend ) is very helpfull. very polite. first we are step into hotel , first we got from hotel is " smile" and sawasdee from staff .. first impression is u are awesome " red ginger chic resort . ...

location is very quite .. may be because we are travelling on low season !!!... a shuttle from airport ( bus ) can request to pick / drop at front of hotel...

job well done. !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank khonthai_malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We booked this hotel at the very last minute - we checked some pictures and reviews but had no idea what a treat we were in for. Upon arrival we were given an ice cold ginger drink (red of course) and then taken to our room. We'd got a free upgrade to a suite which consisted of a pool facing room with a balcony on two levels. The facilities where endless...water replaced every day, bath robes, beach bag. Its clear its all been very well thought out. The staff were helpful, the restaurant was great (we had breakfast and lunch there). Pool area was small but wasn't a problem as the resort wasn't too busy. One of the best places we stayed at in Thailand.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMac83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Park, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights ,our first time in Thailand ! Great experience, the staff always helpful and fun.
The rooms are good we had a pool entry room and it was terrific as you have your own private area which can be used whenever you like - great in the evening!
Easy to get around with tuk tuks out the front .
Would stay here again next time we come to Thailand :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lek-byrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

From the moment we checked-in, we were pleased with this hotel. Staff were great and spoke good English. Rooms were superb. We stayed at the pool access room which was lovely and clean. Had a great time at the pool ...rain or shine as there was a canopy over the section of the pool immediately off your patio. The Lobby Bar and Pool Bar served a good array of cocktails and beers at reasonable prices and at happy hours drinks were really cheap. Breakfast variety was good with continental, american and local selections. Location is just off the main thoroughfare taking a 10-15 min walk or tuk-tuk at 20 baht/person.
Overall, we had a fantastic time at the red ginger and would definitely return in the future. We would like to thank Ms. Mananya Nontapipat (aka Ms. On) the Resident Manager and Ms. Khim for making our stay truly memorable.

Room Tip: I would definitely go for the pool access rooms,....otherwise pool facing rooms are great too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SurinBalwinderjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Arrived for a 4 day stay to a swift check-in and a cold "red ginger" drink. Was taken straight to the room and informed of the facilities available. Room was stocked with fresh fruit on arrival and complimentary water throughout our stay. A mini-bar is available. There is a safe present within rooms as well. Points of note are that we were provided with beach mats and towels and pool mats and towels in the rooms which was a lovely bonus.
Location is great, a few minutes walk from the beach and local shops although there are a few minimarts and street sellers adjacent to the resort.
Pool was brilliant and probably this hotels defining feature.
Breakfast was a huge array of food to suit all tastes with lovely coffee.
We ate at the hotels restaurant on an occasion and this food was also very tasty.

Service throughout is exemplary. Only negative is that WIFI was not free throughout the hotel and we paid a THB200 surcharge for this during our stay. Whilst inexpensive, for a hotel of this calibre this really should have been included in line with similar establishments.
Nonetheless, if you are staying in Ao Nang this is the place to be, we would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Pool view or pool access rooms are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Z M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I had an excellent 4 days stay at Red Ginger Chic resort in Ao nang. The staff were friendly, and the hotel design were really nice and comfortable.The location of the hotel were like 15 to 20 mins walk to the main ao nang centre. But you can take a tuk tuk for 20baht/per person if the weather is too hot for your liking.
Me and my friend really love their pool. Which consist of a poolside bar, where you can order drinks and sit in the stool that is in the pool. (the ice blended young coconut were surprisingly good!)
we love their breakfast too. Although the variety is not much, it is quite sufficient for a light breakfast to start off the day.
Areas to improve:1) It would be nice to have another light installed in the main bathing area, with the curtain drawn (to prevent water from pouring unto the toilet area) it was getting kinda dark.
2) The booklet wrote there is an in-house channel 22, which is supposed to be playing some movies, but we screen through all the channels on TV and can't find it.
Would be nice to make sure that the DVD player which is describe in the hotel booklet is available as well. We tried calling the main desk about the tv programs, and he wasn't too sure about it. The only channel that was in english was only HBO. Alittle disappointing for people who just want to laidback and enjoy the room alittle.
Other than that, i would definitely recommend Red Ginger! Will be back to take their pool access room in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bblimSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.7 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Krabi La Playa Resort
Krabi La Playa Resort
#13 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#17 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Ginger Chic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Ginger Chic Resort

Property: Red Ginger Chic Resort
Address: 168 Moo 3 T. Ao Nang a. Maung | Krabi, Thailand, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Ginger Chic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a tropical flower in bloom, Red Ginger Chic Resort is an inspiration for the senses. Red hot in stylish modernity and conveniences balanced with a cool chic ambience, the perfect holiday abode offering magnificent of views of Nopparat Thana Nation Park. With only 63 rooms and one restaurant serving international and Thai cuisines, this beautiful resort has a very exclusive and personal feel. There is a freshwater pool and pool bar plus alfresco fitness facility, while the beach is but a short stroll away.Red Ginger is located 200 metre from the center of Ao Nang Beach, in Krabi province, southern part of Thailand – (821 kilometers from Bangkok and 155 kilometers east of Phuket). The property is excellently located in the middle of Ao Nang and Nopparat Thara beach. It is a paradise for those who love snorkeling, scuba diving, ocean kayaking or even rock climbing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Red Ginger Chic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Ginger Chic Hotel Ao Nang
Red Ginger Chic Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing