We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“try the restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Ginger Chic Resort
Ranked #7 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Ao Nang
gent
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“try the restaurant”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Worldwide seen a good hotel, but for Krabi one of the better and maybe the best design hotel in the area.
Good location. Within 10 minutes walk, you can find bars, restaurants, beach,....
Don't forget to try the restaurant on the first floor. It was each time far away the best food that we were eating during our 5 day stay in Ao Nang!! And not that much more expensive than the restaurants you can find in the main street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guyvangent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    295
    111
    32
    16
See reviews for
155
324
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2013

A hotel to recomend. But you only need a few nights in Ao Nang before you have seen it all. visit poda, tao and hong islands. private longtailboat is 2500 bath.
Nice pool, friendly staff, good breakfast, 10min valking to good restaurants and good boat taxis. Choose a room with pool acsess!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fridatholander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel is located centrally and walking distance to the main street, shopping, restaurants etc in AoNang.

On arrival, reception was very welcoming and showed us to our room straight away.

We booked a club room which was as spacious as the pictures shown on the website. The stairs to the mezzanine level are quite steep though - wouldnt recommend if staying with young children.

Our room overlooked the pool area which is only quite small (expected for a small boutique hotel) but still very clean and well kept. Unfortunately the staff at the pool bar didnt come across very friendly and we felt as if we were inconveniencing them everytime we made an order.

Wifi cost 200 baht for the whole stay which is very cheap but it doesnt work from most hotel rooms. Better off using the free wifi in the reception area.

Breakfast was nice and plentiful - wide range which changed most days.

We booked the hotel in advance via Agoda and secured a really cheap rate.

Overall, the hotel was well kept and in a good central area.

Value for money if you are looking for somewhere neat, tidy and boutique-like to base your holiday.

If you are looking for a relaxing holiday in a spacious resort, probably not your place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

First of all I got 50% discount and the price I got is exactly what I would pay for such hotel. Paying original price won't make sense - simply too much.

This was my fifth time in Ao Nang and most probably, the last one. Since I first came here, number of hotels, restaurants, people and shops quadrupled if not more. It is no longer a quiet and safe place for swedish and danish families with children. It's gotten into much noisier, more dirty and less pleasant place.

This being said, Red Ginger is a decent modern hotel if you like to rest in style and need more than just the basic room and much more than a jungle bungalow. The hotel has very nice pool area with half rooms overlooking the pool and half - the poor looking backyard. I would suggest you get yourself a pool side room, especially because it costs the same.

The hotel is positioned as designer hotel, and it was definitely planned and built with style. But the common problem of all hotels in Thailand is that they are not well maintained. So while it is all nice and chick - it doesn't look chick anymore.

We like the breakfast - while having similar to other hotels choice of dishes, the quality of food and products was very decent. We also had a chance to eat New Year dinner in the hotel (for just 450 Bath) and were very pleased with it. It was diverse, nicely served and tasty. Wine choice was minor and prices 3 times above european, but that's what you get in Thailand.

Rooms are spacious and the cleaning service was very good. One thing that made me laugh was information about the towels. The hotel suggested to use towels more than one day to be awarded a token per day. When 3 token are collected, the hotel would give a free bottle or juice. Well, I am not sure it is possible at all to use a towel in Thailand more than a day. And even if it was possible and it was not that humid so that they actually could dry by the next day, there are simply no hooks in the room to hand them on.

Eventually, the stuff at the reception was rather useless when you ask of them something else than to keep your key. One day we wanted to rent a car. They would call one company they are affiliated with, but would find out that all cars are out. So I would ask them find another rental. They would find a number, call it and give you the phone just to find out that this company doesn't have any cars either. Why they could not ask the question themselves? They would also charge you for the phone call. This happened twice and eventually we found a Tourist Service that offered Budget cars which we rented in under 5 mins.

All in all this hotel can be recommended if you can get special price which is still within your budget.

Room Tip: Try to make sure you get a room overlooking the pool - the backyard is simply too boring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgi_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel looks fairly new and reception area is nice when you walk in, unfortunately the service we got at check in was below average. My fiancé had booked our room and requested a double bed when we went to our room it was two singles. We went to reception to inform them and they insisted this was what we asked for. It wasn't until we started to get quite mad they changed our room (which they had told us five minutes earlier they had no rooms then one magically appeared. Once the room was sorted it was very big and great value for money. The pool area was very small and we were unable to get a sun lounge for the entire four days we stayed there. The location is great walking distance to everything but given I enjoy lying by the pool on my holidays I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coromandel, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Could not recommend this place more it is an absoloute gem!
We were fortunate to get a lovely upgrade to a stunning two level room but aside from this the receptionists are lovely and always willing to lend a hand book tours etc. The restaurant is delicious and the pool bar had the most delicious mojito that I have tried through my six week trip in Asia. The pool is a fantastic way to spend a day or you can walk to the beach nearby as the location is central.
Thanks Red Ginger Chic for a fantastic stay x

Room Tip: Two level room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellynzl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our time at Red Ginger. We travelled with our small kids and were upgraded on arrival which was nice! The resort has a relaxed feel and is well looked after. Staff were great, breakfasts lovely, pool a nice way to cool down and the location was good for accessing the rest of Aonang and the nearby islands. Only downside was that the beds are a bit too firm for our liking!

Room Tip: The duplex rooms are great with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyFairweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Krabi La Playa Resort
Krabi La Playa Resort
#16 of 108 in Ao Nang
979 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Ginger Chic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Ginger Chic Resort

Property: Red Ginger Chic Resort
Address: 168 Moo 3 T. Ao Nang a. Maung | Krabi, Thailand, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Ginger Chic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a tropical flower in bloom, Red Ginger Chic Resort is an inspiration for the senses. Red hot in stylish modernity and conveniences balanced with a cool chic ambience, the perfect holiday abode offering magnificent of views of Nopparat Thana Nation Park. With only 63 rooms and one restaurant serving international and Thai cuisines, this beautiful resort has a very exclusive and personal feel. There is a freshwater pool and pool bar plus alfresco fitness facility, while the beach is but a short stroll away.Red Ginger is located 200 metre from the center of Ao Nang Beach, in Krabi province, southern part of Thailand – (821 kilometers from Bangkok and 155 kilometers east of Phuket). The property is excellently located in the middle of Ao Nang and Nopparat Thara beach. It is a paradise for those who love snorkeling, scuba diving, ocean kayaking or even rock climbing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Ginger Chic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Ginger Chic Hotel Ao Nang
Red Ginger Chic Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing