We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Aree Tara Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aree Tara Resort
Ranked #22 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Ao Nang
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We have read all the moments before we booked, we have decided to stay there because it is really good value for money and everyone who has stayed said the rooms are clean, which is true. Don't expect much from the pool area or the lounge area, not terribly relaxing when there is building work going on next door and the smell of blocked drain. We didn't relax much in the hotel but used it as a base for exploring Aonang area and go on trips. Free wifi in lounge.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday-Meow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    266
    107
    29
    21
See reviews for
68
231
22
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We went there to spend our wedding anniversary and it did not disappoint us. Nice rooms, and good food. Thailand is a haven for good food though the hotel has an expensive restaurant. Not much choices for breakfast. Good recommendation for tours and activities. We didn't get to enjoy the hotel much coz we were always out for activities. Not so close to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We paid 4500 THB for the room. Its a very basic, clean room. Pool is small and closed on from three sides. it smells cz of this enclosed structure. There is another hotel thip residence boutique hotel which has bigger rooms and pool and as clean as Aree Tara. It costs half the price of aree tara. It is far from the beach but if you hire a bike you would take 10 mins. Beach from Aree Tara is 10 min walk as well. It did not make sense to pay double the price for the location when you can hire a bike for 200 THB.

Room Tip: Look for some other place. Book from sawadee.com. We got cheapest rate from this website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smriti82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here with 2 friends earlier this month paying about $118/room (we went during CNY time, so I guess the price is reasonable). The room was on the 5th floor and was large and spacious. The staff were very friendly although some could not speak English, it did not bother us much as there was always staff nearby who could. The breakfast had quite a large selection, but food was not all that great, but it was ok as we managed to fill ourselves up. Some cons of the hotel include: not providing toothbrushes (luckily we had our own) and a very strong pugent smell coming from just outside the hotel (open sewer-like smell). We also dined at the hotel restaurant on two nights and found it to be empty! A staff ran up from the lobby or somewhere to take our orders and a chef hurriedly ran in to make our dinner. The food was nice but a bit expensive. Overall the stay was nice but would probably try another place next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazsydney17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I booked directly through the hotel's website & got a nice surprise- a free upgrade to Deluxe room, booked the airport transfer as well, 600B, a steal as there are 4 of us. 1st impression - Quiet! but really appreciate the peacefulness... The staffs can't speak much English but always have a BIG smile on their face so it doesn't really matter. Love the room - It's brightly-lit, very clean & spacious... It's a pool view Deluxe room on the 2nd storey (surprise it's not noisy) with a balcony. The furnishings are simple yet comforting & all necessary amenties provided. Breakfast is good, (standard Breakfast menu in all hotels) inclusive of egg station, ham, bacon, sausages, assorted breads, cereals, salads, fresh fruits, juices, coffee & tea + 2 Thai dishes (changes daily), not a bad spread. I like the location of the hotel, seated on a quiet lane. 2 minutes walk out, reaching a junction, turn left to Ao Nang Beach & turn right brings us to Nopparat Thara Beach. Walking to both beaches is a breeze, as there are many shops, eatries along the way. Or just flag down a Tuk-Tuk if you're lazy to walk. There are a couple of small pubs / cafes just at the lane where the hotel is (no worries about noise or crowds, we can't hear any from our rooms). Overall, we had a very nice stay at Aree Tara, it's really peaceful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AhVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my wife arrived at the Hotel at 13.00 and were told we had to wait for 1 and 1/2 hour which was so annoying .

when we got to room it had a funny smell like damp and old the whole hotel could do with a good deep clean and the rooms are tired looking with lots of chips on furniture ,The bed is on a large wooden table that take up 1/2 the floor space and I hit my shin of twice and also my toe ,the pain on my shin is still there ,

breakfast was very average but the one thing that really put me off was the smell that came from the drains outside every few minutes and not a nice smell while eating breakfast and also when waiting for taxi or standing in lobby that smell was there again I mean gut wrenching smell urgently needs to be sorted out .

reception staff were nice and most of them had a smile for us but some staff not very happy looking .

this hotel would suit very young couples on there first holiday

location is good .

would not stay here agin

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank chefjon30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed and found it a great place. Good pool area with cool water. The most efficient air con of anywhere we stayed during our trip and it cooled the room quickly even after being off all day. A quiet location but easily walkable to the to the centre of the town. Staff were very friendly and helpful. They were happy to book us trips and taxis but shop around on prices, some deals to be had. The restaurant was big and the food was good. Lovely beaches a stroll away and plenty of choice for restaurants and street food. We loved the hotel and the area.

Room Tip: Quiet and easy to walk walk to beach and town. Very friendly and helpful staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
AliSea Boutique Hotel
AliSea Boutique Hotel
#15 of 107 in Ao Nang
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Krabi La Playa Resort
Krabi La Playa Resort
#14 of 107 in Ao Nang
929 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ananta Burin Resort
Ananta Burin Resort
#44 of 107 in Ao Nang
591 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vogue Resort & Spa Ao Nang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aree Tara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aree Tara Resort

Property: Aree Tara Resort
Address: 177 Moo 3 | Aonang Soi 8 Road, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aree Tara Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aree Tara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aree Tara Hotel Ao Nang
Aree Tara Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing