We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pool and restaurant, friendly service!”
Review of Aree Tara Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aree Tara Resort
Ranked #44 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Ao Nang
Reviewed February 19, 2012

The staff at this hotel gave us a warm welcome and a pineapple drink upon arrival. We were shown to our rooms which were very comfortable and the beds were gorgeous, kind of raised on dark wooden frames. The bathroom was fine, with a bath and a separate shower. The balcony area was small but overlooked the pool which looked attractive at night when it was lit up.
The pool was a sort of L shape and quite spacious, with a nearby bar area.
The hotel is near some small shops and travel companies but to get to the better shops and bars (Ao Nang) you had to get a tuk-tuk. I recommend the nearby food stalls in the street- very clean and gorgeous food!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laur2herself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 568 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed in Deluxe rooms in Aree Tara. It is a good VFM hotel. Rooms are cozy, new and have all the basic facilities that a 3 star should provide. The pools are decent sized. Breakfast is average. The hotel is located around 500m from the main part of the Aonang beach.
You can rent a bike from the hotel. They actually give it cheaper (200 Baht) vis a vis the rates in the market (250 Baht). Wireless, however is not complimentary. They charge around 100 Baht an hour. However, you can access free wireless in the lobby (In the evening though, it is very uncomfortable surfing the net in the lobby, as it is infested with mosquitoes)
Service is ok, nothing much to write home about, not bad either.
They don't have an in-house spa, but they call masseuses on request, to provide the service in your room (Aromatherapy: 350 Baht; Thai Massage: 300 Baht etc.). However, outside the hotel, you would get these massages at cheaper rates, specially if you have to do it during day time. There's a 50% discount on massages at many places in Ao Nang(specially in the stretch near Golden Beach Resort) from 11 AM to 5 PM.
One more thing: just around 150 metres away from Aree Tara is Mercure Krabi Deevana- this hotel is new and looks (from the outside) really wonderful, specially considering the fact that the rates for both Aree tara and Mercure krabi deevana are the same.
Really nothing to complain about this hotel (this is NOT a resort, mind you). For the price you pay, this seems to be a VFM hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the pool access rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruddi_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

First of all, many thanks to tripadvisor for providing good information that helped us made decision to stay 2 nights in Aree Tara Resort. The rooms are spacious, clean and new. We enjoyed talking to the friendly staff. The resort is also very close to shopping area. The only setback is if the crowd gets too big, we have to wait for seats during breakfast. Otherwise, we were happy with Aree Tara.

Room Tip: I am sure the hotel staff will be able to help better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CallieLee1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I have just checked out this hotel. It's just 5 mins walking to Ao Nang Beach. Rooms are clean, but not very spacious as the other hotel rooms I have stayed in Thailand. Breakfast was nice as well. Some rooms are directly opening to the pool, this is nice, but the pool is not one of the nicest ones i have seen.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bangay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We traveled in 8 persons, airport transfer by the hotel (600baht) one way. Nice environment, nice room, very comfortable bed. Bit further to walk out to ao nang beach street so we rented motorbike to go around Ao Nang.We went to the massage center next few blocks from our hotel everyday, great massage service. We even took the transport service from hotel to Krabi Town night market, 6pm-9pm, 1100baht (return). Overall, is a very great hotel with reasonable price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

The room looks lovely, but on closer inspection was filthy, especially the bathroom (which also leaked!). The floors are apparently made of cardboard and I coul hear my upstairs neighbors having a barn dance all night long. The same reception staff appeared to forget me every time I asked for something and couldn't give me any directions to the place I wanted to go.

I will be warnings friends to stay away from this hotel! Also no clue why it's listed under "specialty lodging" either... It is a hotel - and not a very interesting one at that!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentTravellerUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in December. It was a pleasant stay there with a few downsides.The staff at the reception certainly need to learn how to smile more. Only one of the reception staff was really friendly towards us. The housekeeping staff were really friendly and polite. Ask the staff at the reception to arrange for elephant trekking and Thai Massage.....really good stuff. The facilities available were sufficient as most of the fun is on the beach, the bars and the island tours. Breakfast was so so.

Liked : Pool, Pool Access rooms, Beds, Location (quiet)

Disliked: Limited TV channels, small TV, limited parking space (for those who drive
there like me), unfriendly staff

Room Tip: Go for the Pool access only if you really can't go a day without swimming. If not ask for an upg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0 mi away
Apasari Krabi
Apasari Krabi
#41 of 111 in Ao Nang
350 reviews
0.8 mi away
BlueSotel Krabi
BlueSotel Krabi
#28 of 111 in Ao Nang
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ananta Burin Resort
Ananta Burin Resort
#30 of 111 in Ao Nang
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Krabi Heritage Hotel
Krabi Heritage Hotel
#49 of 111 in Ao Nang
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aonang All Seasons Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Apple A Day Resort
Apple A Day Resort
#27 of 111 in Ao Nang
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aree Tara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aree Tara Resort

Address: 177 Moo 3 | Aonang Soi 8 Road, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Ao Nang
Price Range: $37 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aree Tara Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aree Tara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aree Tara Hotel Ao Nang
Aree Tara Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing