We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Special rate available
Booking.com
$29
Priceline
$40
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
$27
No booking fees
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Mimz603
Singapore, Singapore
A small budget hotel with great service
Review of The Verandah
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 11, 2012
We had a great stay. Good location too. Beach, shops, dining are all within walking distance.
Our room is clean and spacious. Was quite impressed with it considering how much we paid.The room was lovely just as I had hoped. It was not in pristine condition, the wood furniture looks dated but we didn't mind those. The sink is outside of the bathroom; you may hate it or love it. We love it since it saves us ladies a lot of time primping instead of hogging the bathroom.
Like other reviewers mentioned, its next to a bar. Personally, I didn't hear much of the music unless I opened the balcony door. But if you're the type who needs total silence to sleep, it'll be a problem.
The staffs were friendly and very accommodating despite the language barrier. They provided fresh towels for us whenever we had a tour. We were supposed to go on a Phi Phi Island tour on our 2nd last day and it was postponed to the day we were scheduled to check-out. The staff was kind enough to let us store our baggage in the office and let us use the bathroom in one of the rooms to freshen up after the tour at 4:30pm before we leave for our flight.
Date of stay: July 2012
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$76
  • Priceline
    $82
  • Vio.com
    $70
  • Algotels
    $77
0.1 miles from The Verandah
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$38
  • Priceline
    $46
  • Agoda.com
    $31
  • travelup.com
    $41
0.3 miles from The Verandah
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$71
  • Vio.com
    $70
  • travelup.com
    $81
  • Expedia.com
    $75
0.1 miles from The Verandah
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$147
  • Official Site
    $163
  • Agoda.com
    $136
  • travelup.com
    $166
0.2 miles from The Verandah
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$81
  • Vio.com
    $77
  • Agoda.com
    $70
  • Hotels.com
    $77
0.2 miles from The Verandah
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$193
  • travelup.com
    $212
  • Agoda.com
    $179
  • Hotels.com
    $194
19.1 miles from The Verandah
Pool
Beachfront
Booking.com
$110
  • Expedia.com
    $158
  • Trip.com
    $100
  • Hotels.com
    $158
18.2 miles from The Verandah
Pool
Beachfront
Booking.com
$80
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $81
  • Agoda.com
    $69
  • Vio.com
    $74
20.6 miles from The Verandah
Pool
Beachfront
View more hotels in Ao Nang
Reviews (526)
Filter reviews
526 results
Traveler rating
225
213
57
20
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
225
213
57
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main road fresh fruit the location is perfect very nice hotel room was spacious noise balcony transfer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
324 - 329 of 526 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

situated very good short to the beach , nice room; good aircon,very good breakfast
no elevator

Room tip: no elevator, stay low if possible
Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Staff, Location and rooms are excellent value for money. Definately recommend a short stay here and the use of the 5 star pool is a huge bonus...! as was the subway sandwich place across the road.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kukoomarwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I really tried to like this place. The location is great, only a 5 minute walk to the Ao Nang beach area. Free wifi is also provided (although half of the days I was there, the wifi was not working, and the hotel did not do anything about it). An employee also gave me a travel adapter to use during my stay, and allowed me to make a local phone call. I also appreciated how you can borrow one beach towel a day. Although, you are supposed to put your key in a basket in exchange for the towel. This did not seem very safe to me, as sometimes the front desk employee is not near the basket, and anyone can take the key without their knowledge.

I was first unimpressed by the hotel right when I arrived in the room. Tiny ants are around! They walk all around the sink area, and on top of the safe deposit box. I killed them, but more would come to replace them. Also, I don't know how mosquitoes also got into the room, as I did not request maid service and I would never leave the door or balcony door open.

Some of the towels were stained.

Another negative experience was when I accidentally closed the safety deposit door. Yes, I should have been more careful. I called the front desk and someone said she would come in 10 minutes. A couple minutes later, she called back and said it would actually be 30 minutes, as it was busy in the lobby area. I waited 40 minutes, and called back. I politely described the problem again and asked when someone could come, and received "yeah okay. Click" (Click as in hang-up). Rude.

Due to the proximity to the main street, this also means noise travels to the rooms. In particular, even though I was on the 4th floor, it was facing a bar/nightclub, and every night loud music is blasting. You can hear and feel the extremely loud bass, and it goes on and on and on. You can also clearly hear through the door; babies and kids screaming.

The breakfast sufficed. It was a simple selection of bread, fruit, bacon/sausages, pastries, eggs. Coffee and a couple juices are also available.

One redeeming factor was the size of the room. Very spacious, and a private balcony!

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelAwaits
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

When i return to krabi. i will be staying here again, it was in a great location, the rooms were good sized and the service was also good. Great for us a couples

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munarada
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

stayed here for e 2nd time, clean n large room, but doesn't really have hot watrt for shower which was fine during hot weather period. staff quite friendly, breakfast is avg. Easy to acess to minimart, local food stall, n close to beach n restaurants. Value for money overall

Date of stay: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goncalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews