We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
At Aonang Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 135 Ao Nang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed 12 nights at this lovely guesthouse and could have stayed longer. We took a suite to give us some space which after 2 months of traveling in Asia was a welcome relief from the small rooms we have grown accustomed to.

Charlie is a great host - he is from Denmark and his attention to detail shows. The suite was spacious and had everything we needed. TV, DVD and lots of movies, fridge, sofa and a small deck off the deck where we could relax with the beautiful rocks of Ao Nang right there for us to enjoy.

The room was also one of the cleanest we have experienced which we really appreciated. There is a great restaurant next door which is excellent and very cheap. Now traveling in Khao Lak, we are definitely missing Jackie's prices on food!

Charlie also had some good suggestions on what to do in the area for tours and arranged everything for us. We also appreciated that when our fridge wasn't making ice or keeping our beer cold, Charlie had a new fridge for us the next day which worked wonderfully.

This isn't fancy but for the money, you will be hard pressed to find the space, comfort and cleanliness Charlie offers. If you want a comfortable bed, not a HARD bed which is what you find in most of Asia, you will think you have died and gone to heaven on this bed. It is fabulous!

We were sad to leave. Quiet, peaceful, convenient and beautiful scenery all around - what more can you ask for? We loved it and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We loved the suite - room number 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 124 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights at this hotel. Great value. All rooms have ac and dvd player with large free movie selection. Run by great people. Good restaurants near by and perfect distance from the main strip. One of the best stays of our 5 week trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tduke0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is located about 1.5 kms from the Ao nang beach. Not too close, but good for a walk before lying on the beach ;) Owner Charlie is really kind and helpful. Thanks to him we took a part in Thai cooking course. Which was absolutely excellent! I truly recommend this place in a quite, nice place with stunning terrace!! And just one disadvantage - hardly anyone knows how to get to the hotel...but everybody there is able to help you, so no worry and enjoy your stay ;)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bronislava T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Baan Taveesri is a little off the beaten path, but that's not too much to worry about as it's very quiet around the area. The Lomprayah bus driver did not have a clue where it was, so it could have been a struggle finding it if I hadn't spotted it by chance. It's on Leela Valley, there are other resorts/hostels on that road that have been around longer than Baan Taveesri has.

It's a very decent and cheap place to stay in Krabi. It's a little out of the way from Ao Nang beach, but if you don't mind walking, it only takes about 20-30 minuntes depending on how fast you like to walk.

We were greeted by probably the cutest Labrador, known as Carrot, who loves to play and bark loudly at cars. Coming back to see her after a day out was the best. We were also welcomed by Charlie (the owner of Baan Taveesri, along with his partner Jeab), who upgraded from a basic room to a standard, at no extra cost... result!

Our room was spacious, spotless, with a fridge, aircon, and T.V with a dvd player. There's a bunch of dvd's to choose from in the reception area. Our room was cleaned every other day, which was not a problem.

You can book daily tours at the desk. We booked a tour to Kho Phi-Phi Island for my birthday. It turned out to be pretty good! Price was reasonable too.

The only downfall to this place that we had was lack of someone at the desk or to help out almost everyday. Admittedly you can go next door for help or ring them, but there was one day where no one was around for about 10 hours.
Internet only works downstairs, although you might be able to get a weak signal on the other floors.

One last thing to mention is the local restaurant next door. They mostly serve Thai food with a few western options as well. It's incredibly cheap. Between my girlfriend and I we had 2/3 meals between us and a drink and the most we paid was 200 baht. I highly recommend going there as it's cheaper and tastier than the food served along the main road.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Troy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

After staying around the whole of thailand this feels like the best value for money we have achieved. We stayed in one of the apartments of which has a nice bed, good sized bathroom, a couple of comfy chairs, television, DVD, fridge and balcony. What more could you need! All very clean and the friendly, helpful owner with a cool dog called carrot adds to the nice atmosphere. A great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cakemaker87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I would highly recommend this place if you want somewhere cheap, clean and spacious and very peaceful. Even though it is a little further from the beach it's an easy walk or you can rent a scooter for a cheap price from the owners. The room we stayed in on the first floor was fantastic - air con, big bed, clean, fridge, good wifi connection and a tv with a selection of DVDs to choose from. The owners are such nice people, super friendly and helpful. They arranged everything for us during our stay and our trip to koh tao. They have the cutest puppy ever to play with! We ate at the restaurant next store for every meal as it was delicious and a really good price (much cheaper than the Main Street). They even delivered the food to our room when we didn't feel like going out. Definitely stay here if you're heading to Ao Nang can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alicerinaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

If you are traveling to Krabi and are a Lonely Planet follower, ignore what they say about Ao Nang and give it a try. We found it to be a delightful beach town and the perfect home base for all of the island hopping we had planned. Baan Taveesri is mostly to credit for this experience. The guesthouse is just perfectly located away from the busy main road. It is quiet, immaculate and an easy walk to everything in the town. The owners, Charlie and Jeab, are very helpful. Within five minutes of arriving(but after the taxi had left), we realized my purse (which had our money and passports) was left in the car! Jeab and Charlie quickly responded by contacting the taxi company and within 15 minutes, my belongings had been safely returned. Trip saved, thanks to them. Our only regret is that we didn't book in advance. We showed up without reservations and they only had availability for one night. Bottom line - come to Ao Nang, make reservations in advance and stay at Baan Taveesri.

Room Tip: Our room was very large, with a refrigerator, TV, DVD player and safe. I do not think it matters wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillyVoltaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.2 mi away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#53 of 111 in Ao Nang
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,597 reviews
0.8 mi away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#25 of 111 in Ao Nang
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
3 Bees Resort
3 Bees Resort
#1 of 135 in Ao Nang
214 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aonang Paradise Resort
Aonang Paradise Resort
#32 of 111 in Ao Nang
706 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Morning Minihouse Aonang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Aonang Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Aonang Guesthouse

Address: Ao Nang Road soi 11, Moo 2. 262/9 | Leela Valley, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand (Formerly Baan Taveesri)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Ao Nang
Price Range: $29 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your At Aonang Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Aonang Guesthouse Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing