We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vegetarian buffet”

Govinda's Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 393 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Description: A pure Vegetarian Buffet inspired in Indian and Asiatic food. Located a few meters from the main beach in Ao Nang, this restaurant offers tasty food that changes every day. Everything is vegetarian and mostly vegan, and here you will find variety of rice, Indian subjies, Thai curries, roti, salads, fruit shakes and much more.
Restaurant details
Description: A pure Vegetarian Buffet inspired in Indian and Asiatic food. Located a few meters from the main beach in Ao Nang, this restaurant offers tasty food that changes every day. Everything is vegetarian and mostly vegan, and here you will find variety of rice, Indian subjies, Thai curries, roti, salads, fruit shakes and much more.
Reviewed April 22, 2019 via mobile

Should be noted that this is a completely vegetarian restaurant, the sign of the restaurant itself is quite clear on that but here on TripAdvisor it isn't obvious.

They also don't serve any alcohol here which I can respect and don't take issue to, but perhaps a sign outside would be useful if I am being picky.

The food itself was great, we went for the buffet which was 300 Baht per person, not bad though not cheap either. There was a good selection of food and water is provided though you can also order a fruit or soft drink off of the menu.

The atmosphere and general decor of the restaurant was very nice, it was quite a cosy and welcoming place and I found the staff to be friendly and very helpful if we had questions.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank tome102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 364 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2019 via mobile

We were initially really happy when we found this place as there is a shortage of vegan and vegetarian options in Ao Nang. The menu is extensive, offering a range of cuisines and the food is nice. We opted for ordering from the menu rather than the buffet so cannot comment on that. There are 3 things that made this place a 3 star. The food did not taste very fresh compared to other places we had eaten and the rice was barely warm. The staff were not very friendly neither attentive. Most were lazing around on their phones with earphones in. The meal was the most expensive we have had (2 curries, 2 naan, 1 rice, a coke and a water came to nearly 800 baht). This isn’t far off what we would pay at our local Indian in the UK. They also had the cheek to add on a service charge when the service is the worst we have had anywhere.

There are better places in Ao Nang!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank 764jasmineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2019 via mobile

Have read a few bad reviews about the buffet at this place so we just ordered our own curries and nan bread and it was really really good. One of the better curries we ve had in fact. So much veggie food this is a must go place for veggies and non veggies alike :)

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank Georgia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019 via mobile

The place has no AC (or was switched off?) but fans instead.. gets pretty hot during the day. Food is okay, there was more salt in everything. Bit overpriced compared to the other options nearby.

Good vegan options though (you get many vegan options in Indian cuisine actually). The chaas (buttermilk) was so refreshing.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Ajita_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019

Beautiful vegan spot with optional buffet starting at 6p daily. Shoes off, mostly Indian food (about 95% of menu).

Review is for the buffet dinner they offer:

Buffet was a bit unsatisfactory, but for 300B, can't complain. Only 9 options to choose from: 2 curries, 3 fried foods, one chow mein, potatoes, okra, dessert. Most ran out quickly and spent most of my time waiting for the dishes to get replenished.

I was taken aback by many of the Indian diners. They cut right in front of me, used their hands when there are tongs available, and took all of the remaining buffet food as soon as it became available. One lady in particular took my chair from my dining table without asking!

As for the food quality: it's not bad, but not mind-blowing. I would not say this is anywhere close to a fresh Indian dish.

In hindsight, it's a bit funny, but frustrating during a dining experience.

Next time, I would opt for sit-down rather than the buffet. It's chaos.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Govinda's Restaurant also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Govinda's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing