We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big and yums”
Review of Blue Mango

Blue Mango
Ranked #84 of 270 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Price range: $7 - $13
Cuisines: Swedish, Thai, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: On 3 December 2004, I opened my first restaurant Absolut Restaurant & Bar, serving mainly Swedish and Thai food. Two years later, we got the opportunity to move to a new - our current - location and I decided to change the name to Blue Mango and expand the menu a little. Whoever visited us at Absolut and liked it will for sure like Blue Mango. The menu and decor is similar but nicer and better.Blue Mango is a Swedish owned restaurant catering for families. The restaurant has around 35 seats outdoors and 70 inside and still has plenty of room to move around. Whether you are coming alone, as a big group or even to celebrate an occasion, you are all welcome. We can arrange a lot of different things, please just contact us with your requirements.Blue Mango is the only restaurant in Ao Nang with a special play area for children, where kids of all ages can play or relax in front of the TV and watch a DVD, while the parents finishing eating or having a cocktail.I hope you will all enjoy your time at Blue Mango.Sara and staff
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“big and yums”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We were there for dinner on the day of arrival. it was our first night of Ao Nang discovery and we stumbled upon this restaurant. We onyl wanted a small meal like a pad thai and a pineapple friend rice for ourselves but they recommended us with seafood. Hence we ordered a snapper, it was HUGE and coast only 200 baht and tasted really delicious (cooked in sweet and sour). I thought the meal was not bad and value for money too

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mings86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    136
    79
    31
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
pune
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“nice ambience n good food”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We had very good thai food here...the staff made our vegetarian meals without the fish sauce on our request.....the outside seating area is really nice n the place is right on the beach road.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pallavi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Had dinner there one evening, food was very nice and staff very friendly, would recommend a meal there!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank digtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“There are great restaurants in Ao Nang, this was not one of them”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was the worst food we have had in Ao Nang. From appetizers to main course. We had pizza, shrimp tempura, garlic cheese bread and a couple of thai dishes - all disappointing. And the food all came out at different times. And it was expensive for a Thai restaurant. The ambiance was great, and that is why we decided to have dinner there. This restaurant was like a mouse trap. Maybe they were having a bad night? Maybe their chef just quit?

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmichael2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Disgusting service and average food”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Came here for a solo dinner as parents went to krabi town.goodness.i walked up to the manager and pleasantly said 'table for one' only to be met with a look up and down before leading me to a table next to a crowded one.i declined and asked for a quiet one beside the window to which a few waitressess were busy tidying.with a mere "wait a few moments" he walked away and left me standing awkwardly.which was fine but the waitressess completely ignored my hovering.i had to go up and request for a table again.
Waited 10mins before finally a menu arrived after i signalled for it.this was in a half empty restaurant mind you.another 15mins before order was taken .
Food came relatively quick but tomato soup was ridiculously spicy.and this is me being asian.
Swedish meatballs were salty and ikea ones tasted better.
Overall better to either splurge on a local seafood meal or just buy packets of salt and chili powder from the grocery store to throw over your food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nini1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Mango also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Blue Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing