We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simply royal”
Review of The Royal Nakara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Nakara
Ranked #45 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“simply royal”
Reviewed January 6, 2009

we booked our hotel thru agoda.com. we stayed in krabi for 3 days.

the hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from ao nang beach, tucked away from the noise of the street market.

upon entering the hotel, we were greeted by the friendly and courteous hotel staff who offered us cold towel and refreshing orange juice.

because it is a small boutique hotel, the check in was quick as a snap. the room is spacious and has a thai feel. the bed is very comfortable. indeed, like a five star hotel. the bathroom is fit for a couple. overall, the hotel is very clean and comfortable. better than 5 star hotels we've been to.

breakfast is buffet and during our stay, they served us bacon, sausages, ham, fried noodles, salad, eggs, juice, coffee and tea. it was like a family breakfast. we were attended on the spot.

on our last day, we asked the hotel if they can book us a tour of the 4 islands and they gladly did. they can also book other tours and transportation that are available in krabi.

oops, they also have a lap pool - 2-3 stride lap pool that can wash away the sand after a day of island hopping.

  • Liked — small, quaint feel of the hotel.
  • Disliked — nada
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank humpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    138
    27
    8
    7
See reviews for
24
128
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2008

Small hotel, sparkling clean and everything brand new. Staff are very warm and friendly.

LIKED: Nice ambience, large terrace, spacious room, TV with DVD player, American breakfast, cheap internet in lobby, comfortable interior decor, fantastic service, good massage place a few doors down.

MINOR DISLIKES: Abandoned construction site facing hotel, laundry service mixed up my underwear with someone else's, portable safety deposit boxes that run out of batteries, 10 minute walk to beach.

Overall was a very good deal for our money. My boyfriend and I really enjoyed a stay. A three minute walk takes you to the main road along Aonang beach where all the restaurants and shops are found.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank olivengarten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damansara, Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

Hi, i stayed in Royal Nakara (local peeps there pronounce it as 'Loyal Nakala' last 1-3 Aug 2008. What I heard was what I got! Good place, nice people! The best part was the rate that they were giving me was extremely cheap (after bargain with them via email). I stayed in a deluxe seaview for only USD25! They gave us the cheap price because of the low season i guess.

The location is on the hill and you have to walk down 10 min to the beach but u can easily ride the "tuk tuk" that only cost you about THB20.

I luv the swimming pool (salt water)! I'm goin to stay there again next year!

  • Liked — the interior
  • Disliked — no lift
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank CosmoChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathum Thani, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2008

We stayed in this hotel on a 3 nights honeymoon in Ao Nang. This family-run hotel is not close to the beach and need a little walk to get there. Although the location is not ideal but the service is 5 stars.

We stay in junior suite room which is on the 6th (top) floor. Even though the hotel has no lift but the lobby and road access is on 4th floor.

There is a small pool share between the hotel and service apartment next door. It is large enough for you to cool down after a hot day kayaking.

Many service can be arranged such as private sunset dinner at the balcony or in-room massage.

Overall I recommend this hotel for a quiet romantic honeymoon...

  • Liked — The hospitaity of staff
  • Disliked — Location to the beach
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KanokC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#29 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sabai Mansion
Sabai Mansion
#44 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.6 mi away
J. Hotel
J. Hotel
#58 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maleedee Bay Resort
Maleedee Bay Resort
#49 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
#39 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apasari Krabi
Apasari Krabi
#31 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Nakara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Nakara

Property: The Royal Nakara
Address: 155/4-7 Moo 3 Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Nakara 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Nakara Ao Nang proudly presents the perfect combination of the Thai modern architecture, infrastructure, comfortable facilities and typical Thai hospitality with warm, friendliness and courteous services by the professional staff with the treatment displaying the uniquely characteristic quality of the Thai host. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Nakara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Nakara Ao Nang Hotel Ao Nang
Royal Nakara Ao Nang Krabi
The Royal Nakara Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing