We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay, with minor drawbacks”
Review of The Royal Nakara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Nakara
Ranked #46 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay, with minor drawbacks”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Last week I stayed in this friendly and nicely situated hotel for 9 consecutive nights. Had a nice spacious room on the top floor and had a balcony with great view over the Andaman sea.
Some minor drawbacks where the hard and uncomfortable beds on the balcony, the very comfortable but little short bed (I'm 1,94m tall), the breakfast could be a little more varied and calling the doorman almost every night upon late arrival because everything is already closed.
These small drawbacks should be no reason at all to avoid this place. The staff and family are super friendly and helpfull, the rooms are cleaned every day and it's just a very cozy place to stay!
For your information, this is my second review on this hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view over the Andaman Sea. You'll wake up with an even bigger smile every day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    140
    27
    8
    7
See reviews for
24
129
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This place is lovely, just a short walk to Ao Nang beach. It is a lovely small hotel, the bedrooms are well appointed and very clean, huge comfortable beds, large TV, nice bathroom, balcony and our room even had a kitchenette. Breakfast was a small buffet but perfectly adequate served on a lovely roofed terrace. The staff were very friendly and helpful and seemed to be able to arrange just about anything, we only stayed a night but overall the hotel was lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Thouroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff were friendly and approviable. Breakfast was just ok, but we can all live on coffee and toast. Rooms were lovely everything you need. Pool was clean a little small but ok for a quick dip to cool down.

The hotel is close to the beach front. Make sure you rent scooters and go to te neighbouring beaches they are much nicer.

Overall a prefect hotel for a low end budget. Would give the hotel 4 stars

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aisling-Armagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights & wish we'd stayed longer. It's not the resort experience but something much more personal - service was great!
Rooms are large, shower was wonderful, sunset from balcony was stunning. Breakfast was adequate but the food at Kodam Kitchen in back alley was amazing. The best route to the beach is down this back alley, as well.
Outings were arranged for us on request & Golf's english was very good, she was always available & most helpful.
The massages down the lane are also exceptional - much needed after climbing the steps at the Tiger Temple.
Highly recommend for folks who are wanting good value and 'homey' atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pammieJVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

4 people travelling, 2 rooms. At 1.200 baht per night, I didnt know what to expect. Reviews were good but everything normally comes with a price so being this cheap, I was sceptical.

The room is clean and VERY spacious, especially considering the price. The size of this is what other hotels would call a deluxe suite. Having said that, there is nothing fancy, modern or eyecatching about the Nakara room, its very very basic. Bathroom is a little smaller than average and a lot simpler. Shower, toilet, sink and with a design from the 80's. Hot water in the shower came quick and temperature was stable thruout the shower. Nice and a little surprise !

Bed is fine and sleep was good. Table and chair present so definitely approved for laptop people. Fridge and coffee making. TV signal is appaullingly lousy but enjoying the special nature and scenery of Aonang til very late every day, we didnt care.

Rooms came with breakfast. Breakfast is a term that shouldnt be used here cause breakfast is about non-existant compared to the idea of breakfast in about everybody's mind. You got white bread, a toaster, butter and jam and then you can ask for eggs any way you want it. Juice from carton to go with that. Had breakfast once, egg omelets/overeasy/scrambled, those were all fine, but calling it breakfast is a sin. i didnt expect a Hilton buffet but I expected something more.

Location is on a soi to the beach road, in walking distance. We didnt really have a view from our rooms and staying in Aonang, I will recommend somewhere with an ocean view.

All in all though, and still bearing in mind that rooms were only 1.200 baht/night, we were all very satisfied. For the money paid, I think The Nakara was great value! Good sleep, lots of space and a shower that works - really all the basics one needs, without any luxury. Even if breakfast is not really there, you can go out and have it elsewhere at very little cost.

I will give it a solid 4-star for the price/value ratio. It all depends on individual needs and cost but for another stay in Aonang, I would probably go for a different experience, a beach road hotel with ocean view.

Dining tip:
If you like a good steak, go next door to the Carnivore Restaurant. We had really good steaks & wine twice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArchStantonTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leoben, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Royal Nakara AoNang is so special, because the staff is so extremly cordially and friendly. They help you with everything they can and gives you the feeling to be welcome!

The rooms are very nice, clean and big - our room was in the last floor (and the hotel is on a small hill ten minutes by feet away from the sea), therefore we had a beautiful view on the sea and the surrounding (especially in the sunset) and the terrace was very comfortable!
Also the breakfast was quiet good - bread, butter, marmelade, different kind of eggs, cornflakes and cereals - there was everything you need.

The hotel has also a small pool, unfortunatly it is situated on the shade of two houses - but who needs a pool when you have this see???

All together, we would recommend this lovely hotel to everybody who wants to have a few relaxing days at AoNang Beach for a good price!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamcake159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

In addition to the positive points highlighted by other reviewers, we really appreciate for the hotel to help arranging our trips package and airport transport using Credit Cards payment mode. Over here credit cards are not widely accepted. The trips package arranged is also with reasonable pricing. Good experience for most aspects with minor exception of the air conditioning. The air conditioner would adjust its own temperature. We feel bit humid during night time (28 - 31 degrees) and more cooling towards the morning (23 - 25 degrees) . I would definitely recommend my friends for this hotel in future.

Room Tip: Buy from 7 Eleven.. most things are cheaper.. The Massage Service provided at the corner lots are c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melvin Teoh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
1.1 mi away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#43 of 108 in Ao Nang
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apasari Krabi
Apasari Krabi
#35 of 108 in Ao Nang
327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maleedee Bay Resort
Maleedee Bay Resort
#49 of 108 in Ao Nang
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#31 of 108 in Ao Nang
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anyavee Ao Nang Bay Resort
Anyavee Ao Nang Bay Resort
#59 of 108 in Ao Nang
261 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sabai Mansion
Sabai Mansion
#47 of 108 in Ao Nang
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Nakara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Nakara

Property: The Royal Nakara
Address: 155/4-7 Moo 3 Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Nakara 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Nakara Ao Nang proudly presents the perfect combination of the Thai modern architecture, infrastructure, comfortable facilities and typical Thai hospitality with warm, friendliness and courteous services by the professional staff with the treatment displaying the uniquely characteristic quality of the Thai host. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Nakara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Nakara Ao Nang Hotel Ao Nang
Royal Nakara Ao Nang Krabi
The Royal Nakara Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing