We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Rijper Eilanden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Rijper Eilanden
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in De Rijp
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed at this hotel on an educational visit with my year group (90 kids) and it was great! Upon arrival in our rooms, we received a free welcome gift (a small, ornamental pair of clogs) which was endearing. The rooms are spacious and the beds were comfier than mine at home. Wide variety of TV channels available including BBC1. Bathroom facilities are good; shower is powerful.
Students in other rooms complained that their rooms were hot and stuffy at night, and were subjected to the painful itch of numerous mosquito bites, but I was lucky enough to have a cool, mosquito-free room. I would recommend taking insect repellent and afterbite with you, and if at all possible, keep your window and balcony door shut.
Breakfast provided a wide variety of options, and the waffles were an especially big hit! Dinner was less appealing, and the quality and taste of the food varied wildly from night to night. Our first night we had the options of spaghetti bolognese, chicken wings, fish and veg; all except the fish were of high quality. On our last night, we had the options of lasanga, some kind of meat, chips and veg. Or, at least we would have, had they not ran out of lasanga and almost completely out of chips... A fair few of us were left hungry as a result, as the food was not replenished.
The hotel decorum was, as one of my friends put it, like 'the hoarder next door,'! A lot of antiques and miscellaneous items about the place, but give it a very unique charm. The building itself is incredibly pretty and traditional, and within reach of a local village. There was a large area next to the dining area where you could relax, if you didn't want to stay in your room. Also, a large function room screened an England world cup match, for those who wanted to watch it.
The staff were very welcoming and helpful, and the hotel met all of our needs (with the exception of food on the last night). Great place and would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    29
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
14
16
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

A great holiday in Holland and the hotel was excellent. Was warmly welcomed by Lucy and her staff. The room was ideal for my limited mobility and was on the ground floor with door leading outside to a decked surface. The bathroom was a large wet room with shower chair this enabled me to be independent and need limited assistance from my group. The food was fine particularly the variety of the breakfasts. I stopped at the hotel last year and would recommend it to anyone but particularly people who have disabilities.

Room Tip: Be clear about your needs if you have mobility difficulties/use a wheelchair or scooter and need a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank feeney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lod, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Large rooms, comfortable bathrooms, delicious breakfasts and vintage telephones, radios, street lights, a dental drill with a treadle, stoves, cars with vases for flowers and last but not least attentive staff. I joined to the 6000000 people who forget their cell phones in hotels every year. But my phone has already been found and sent to me by mail Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mishafr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I recently stayed here with a group and I found it to be an excellent hotel. Lucy- the owner/manager was incredibly pleasant and helpful to deal with. She was always available to answer queries. We had buffet breakfasts and dinners, the choice and quality of the food was great. The rooms were spacious and very clean. There also was a spacious dvd/conference room available for our use. The hotel is a collector's paradise and there is loads to see. I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Desire4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Not the original hotel booked but was not disappointed .rooms were large with comfortable beds,well equipped shower rooms and was very warm.breakfast was continental and dinner was 3cousres all tasty and plentiful .staff were always friendly and helpful.lots of antiques (far too many in communal areas)though interesting.i would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morriscarl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

To be honest the best rooms the best breakfast and especcialy the best staff!!! Thank you Marius and Loredana for everything!!! You made me fill like home!! Love you all!!
The location is close to Amsterdam and is very easy to get there!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danza26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

To be honest, a bit disappointing this hotel. Although clean, don't be surprised by the old antique "junk" scattered all over the facility. Driving in you are welcomed by a dozen old buses, in a industrial area part of the village. Not the traditional views you would expect when you book here.

The rooms are clean, but the whole place really feels like a retirement home. All rooms are just functional and set up for wheel chair access. Shower very basic and fitted out with shower chair and special rails. Tv (15"..) and radio very basic, and not from this time anymore. Breakfast buffet is in that range too.

If you are under 65 years old (or feel like that), I advise to look for a nice place in the village and prevent a stay in a somewhat depressing surrounding.

Room rates do not match the quality that is offered.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these De Rijp hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near De Rijp
5.1 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Akersloot / A9
5.0 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Purmerend
Van der Valk Hotel Purmerend
#1 of 2 in Zuidoostbeemster
3.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
9.1 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Volendam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Alkmaar
Golden Tulip Alkmaar
#2 of 5 in Alkmaar
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
7.9 mi away
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam
7.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn
BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn
#2 of 4 in Zaandam
4.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Rijper Eilanden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Rijper Eilanden

Property: De Rijper Eilanden
Address: Zuiddijk 2a, 1483 MA De Rijp, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > De Rijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in De Rijp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your De Rijper Eilanden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing