We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not many options in Weipa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heritage Resort Weipa
Ranked #1 of 2 Weipa B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I have only stayed in 2 places in Weipa, the Albatross on a number of occasions and at this place. Although the restaurant at the Albatross was fairly good the rooms did seem pretty basic and on the recommendation of a work colleague I decided to stay here. Due to the limited options in Weipa I did not read any previous reviews so arrived with no preconceived ideas.

This place is nothing flash but considering the remote location I was more than satisfied. I did not have dinner at the restaurant but it seemed to be doing a good trade with what looked like a lot of locals. I had a hot breakfast which was more than acceptable. I did have a beer in the bar and thought the prices were reasonable as they had imported beers on special for $4.50 - all other beers were $6. They also had bottles of Oyster Bay wine for $25 which is a good price for a bar.

I stayed in the rooms behind reception and from reading other reviews these are the best to stay in. The room is a good size with a flat screen tv, the bed was reasonably comfortable, pillows were bad and the shower was built for midgets. The room also had a microwave oven which you don't get very often. A/c is very noisy being the old rattlers but I was just thankful for some relief from the humidity.

Location wise this is the best in Weipa as it is right next door to Woolworths. We find the lady at reception was friendly alhough she seemed to spend all her time walking around with her cat.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 6 behind reception and it seemed ok.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank scowler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Heritage Resort Weipa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2012

Have to agree with Rebecca M..... something strange is going on there.

Managment are usually rude, staff have problems communicating with guests (but are friendly), rooms are dirty, linen old, and the a/c is loud. The place needs an overhaul, fittings/fitures are old and the smoke alarms hang from the roof with no batteries in them and the power points are dodge. The place is pretty much riddled with termites also.

It you can stand the noise of the kitchen, the smell of the bins, and the attitude of the manager.... you may survive. Avoid rooms by the bins, kitchen and owners unit.

On the upside... the food is great, I just wouldn't spend the night there if I had a choice.

Room Tip: Smaller building where reception is, but avoid the rooms on the reception side of the building.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DisplacedNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

a surprise i travel a lot - On work

place was clean, host friendly, sexy staff hmmm wink wink nudge nudge

Room Tip: ask for the rooms in the small block behind the check in and near the pool ask about the "EX...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sydney Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

There are only two places I would consider staying in weipa - here and the albatross. This hotel is acceptable - the restaurant isn't too bad and the location is good given it's next door to the superemarket. However there is the down side is the rubbish is far too close down the back of the hotel and tends to smell before pick up and wafts down the hallway. The beds are not great but they do the job.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms down near reception in the small block
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jls001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

I had to spend 3 days at Weipa and managed to get a booking at Heritage resort. I tis more liek a simple hotel rather than a resort. They have a website on the net. Rooms are clean and ok. Thankfully the so called "resort" is close to the solitary group of shops in this mining town. and the hotel has a restaurant which serves pizzas and Thai food. A blessing because everything in Weipa is usually closed on sunday (or opens real late) and closes between 5 and 7 pm daily!

The resort has a swimming pool. which was a blessing in the hot climate of weipa.

all in all, an ok place, but really overpriced (I could have stayed at a star resort in cairns for this ammount). I would rather stay at Cairns than at Weipa.

Liked - clean rooms, proximity to woolworths
Disliked - Overpriced, Nothing much to do in Weipa

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JabberwockyIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zoek wat anders
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToonenTreesje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weipa hotels
0.6 mi away
Albatross Bay Resort
Albatross Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Weipa
57 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Anchorage
The Anchorage
#2 of 3 in Weipa
14 reviews
2.4 mi away
Weipa Caravan Park & Camping Ground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Resort Weipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Resort Weipa

Address: 55 Commercial Avenue, Weipa, Queensland 4874, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cape York > Weipa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Weipa
Price Range: $131 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Resort Weipa 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Heritage Resort Weipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing