We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Horse and Jockey
Ranked #2 of 2 Waddington B&B and Inns
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff.”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed for one night with another couple when attending 70th birthday celebration in the area. Friendly welcome, delicious evening meal & superb breakfast cooked to order, not precooked!
Hope to visit again. Pleasant room. Reasonably priced. Interesting venue.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    26
    6
    11
    16
See reviews for
39
37
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Found the Horse & Jockey on a search for bed & breakfast in Waddington for visit to nearby Dunston Village at short notice. Booking was painless for a stop last weekend which we thoroughly enjoyed. The room was very comfortable with a good nights sleep enjoyed by us. Breakfast could not be faulted and the place itself is full of character. Will definitely be staying there again in a few weeks time.

Room Tip: They all look very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Booked a weekends stay here whilst visiting family nearby. Lovely village location and inviting old pub. Nice warm rooms, totally adequate and really comfortable bed. En-suite a good size aswell. Had a family meal in the restaurant on the saturday night which was excellent in quality and value. We will diffinitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roddy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Clean , comfortable & very welcoming - thanks to the Landlord/Lanlady & staff.
Breakfast was excellent - evening meal was even better. The menu online says it all - 'They don't serve fast food!'.
Just a one night stay - but would stay again on a further visit to the area.
Went onto the Lincolnshire coast the next day - great tip from the Landord not to miss Gibraltar Point.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

I had to find accommodation at short notice and found this B&B on the Internet. I was very pleased by the warm welcome and when shown my room I was pleasantly surprised. I was impressed at the cleanliness and attention to detail. Breakfast was very nice and given the short time I had before I had to rush off breakfast was brought very quickly. The couple I met were very friendly and attentive.
For my short stay I was very pleased and I send my thanks to the owners.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed for one night in this delightful pub in the pretty village of Waddington. Excellent accommodation, room nicely decorated with all the expected amenities and comfortable bed. Very friendly and helpful staff, excellent food. Highly recommend a stay here, the new management are doing a great job in their refurbishment and regeneration of this pub.

Room Tip: The family room was very well sized, unlike many family rooms and properly suitable foe a family of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The Horse and Jockey is an ideal location for exploring Lincolnshire. Situated in the Village of Waddington it is just a few miles south of the bustling city of Lincoln. The pub offers excellent food, accommodation and friendly service.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waddington
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
706 reviews
4.8 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Lincoln Thorpe on the Hill
Travelodge Lincoln Thorpe on the...
#1 of 1 in Thorpe On The Hill
322 reviews
3.2 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
1,031 reviews
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse and Jockey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse and Jockey

Property: The Horse and Jockey
Address: High Street, Waddington LN5 9RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Waddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Horse and Jockey 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Horse and Jockey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing