We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gables Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Lincoln(North Hykeham)
$44
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windmill Farm Hotel(North Hykeham)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$107
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$77
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveler rating
214
36
7
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
214
36
7
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housefull englishfresh milkbreakfast was excellentceiling fansmoked haddockpoached eggsmain roada lovely place to stayhigh standardlocal amenitiestop floorbusy roadwould definitely stay here againhome from homelovely roompublic transport
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 262 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Very homely and comfortable. Spotlessly clean. A great deal of thought and effort has gone into this excellent guesthouse. We stayed there for our daughter's Graduation from Lincoln University and the owner arranged for our early check in to enable us to get ready to attend the ceremony in plenty of time. Brilliant breakfast including lovely homemade and yoghurt. Excellent value for money. A great deal better than 4/5 star hotels we have stayed in. The cat in residence is wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toniatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here overnight for my graduation. I found the place after being told be several places they could not accomodate us. We had a double room, a twin and a single, all were excellent.

The manager was lovely and informative the rooms exceptional, clean and with comfy beds. Although it was very warm the large windows helped us keep cool at night.

Excellent breakfast with a good variety and specials.

Great value for money, cheaper and a lot nicer than some of the other places we looked at in the city.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

we have just stayed 2 nights at the gables. I would recommend the beautifully furnished and extremely spacious first floor apartment they offer, Everything you need is there and it's comfortable and great for coming and going as you please without disturbing other guests. You have a small home from home with its own kitchen too. There is even a spare second bedroom if needed. the bedroom and large bathroom are down a long corridor away from the main living area. It really is a great size flat.
The couple who run the guest house are very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast offers a great selection and well worth getting up early for. That was the only down side as it was between 7 and 8.45 am, We would have liked a lie in and a later breakfast, but we understand the owners have a life too.
The house is on a busy main road, but the apartment is at the back and so you don't really hear anything, especially with windows shut.
The owners came in and tidied around, replaced the loo roll while we were out. Glad we hadn't left anything too personal lying around..lol.
There are plenty of places to eat nearby, walking and driving distance. The town centre is easily accessible too, and there are plenty of shops and retail parks to go around.

Room Tip: choose the first floor apartment. much bigger than ground floor. Away from main house, Quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nessyfaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Rooms are brilliant - spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished with little extra touches you would normally only expect to find in a 4/5 star hotel. The only slight drawback is it is situated on a busy (and noisy) main road - but they even supply free soft earplugs!!

Best poached eggs for breakfast I've ever had.

Very friendly and hospitable owners - not to mention Tyson, the resident cat!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choosybrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just returned following a two night stay at the Gables Guest House, what a lovely place to stay. Just outside Lincoln town centre but within easy reach by car and the taxi fare was quite reasonable for a night out in town.
The rooms were nice, clean and comfortable, the only drawback for us was the noise from the main road in front of the premises. With the windows open for some ventilation the road noise disturbed us all night on the first night, even with the earplugs provided by the owners! The second night was better with the windows closed if not a bit warm.
Breakfast was very good, tasty and plenty of choice.
We booked this based on Tripadvisor and would probably stay again if we were to visit the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews