We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and relaxing, consistently high standards.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Branston Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Branston Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Branston
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent and relaxing, consistently high standards.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have just visited this hotel for a weekend for the third time. I rarely go back to places but this hotel is so lovely and relaxing I just keep returning. I have been in more elegant hotels but the Branston Hall has a charm and comfort that has kept me returning. I upgrade to their luxury rooms and it is squashy comfortable beds, sparkling clean bathrooms and fluffy towels and gowns. The food is beautiful, enough without feeling bloated, tasty and interesting for example pistachio brulee, rabbit schnitzel and flavoursome vegetarian options. Set just outside Lincoln there is plenty to do but it has a calm I relish. The staff are friendly and polite without being obsequious. I would heavily recommend this place.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the luxury four poster rooms it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate5291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pickle2011, Guest Relations Manager at Branston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear reviewer,
On behalf of the whole team at Branston Hall Hotel we thank you for the positive review you posted. We are pleased you enjoyed your return stay and found the hotel to offer a consistent degree of service and facilities, often a hard task to succeed in time and again.
We hope to welcome you back to Branston Hall again, and as a gesture we will be happy to discount our published price to you by a further 20%. For any future booking if you contact the hotel direct and quote your TA pseudonym we will be able to apply this discount.
Thanks again,
The team at BHH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    290
    120
    47
    31
See reviews for
136
555
11
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burton on trent
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel was superb, the accommodation, food and service second to none. The grounds were lovely and the wildlife a very unexpected treat to watch. I would recommend this hotel particularly for honeymoon couples as the grounds of the hotel were very photogenic.

Room Tip: About 5 miles from Lincoln where we went to visit the excellent cathedral and also the castle (which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pickle2011, Guest Relations Manager at Branston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear reviewer,
On behalf of the whole team at Branston Hall Hotel we thank you for the positive review you posted. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. It was particulalry pleasing to read you enjoyed visiting some of the local attractions. We do try to advertise the local attractions but sadly feel they are often over looked. The cathedral as you say is well worth a visit!
We hope to welcome you back to Branston Hall again, and as a gesture we will be happy to discount our published price to you by a further 20%. For any future booking if you contact the hotel direct and quote your TA pseudonym we will be able to apply this discount.
Thanks again,
The team at BHH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Ideal for a quiet break, beautiful woodland grounds. We had a delightful walk round the lake, enjoying the wildlife.
Fantastic dinner, we was particularity impressed with our 3 course meal and service during. The staff where extremely friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble, there manners and professionalism gave our meal that extra touch creating a warm celebratory atmosphere.
The Food was impeccable, beautiful to look at and better to eat. Great menu, our dinner was un-fault-able.

Branston Hall is perfect for Nature & fine dining. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pickle2011, Guest Relations Manager at Branston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear reviewer,
On behalf of the whole team at Branston Hall Hotel we thank you for the positive review you posted. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and in particualr the food and the abundant wildlife evident in the grounds.
We hope to welcome you back to Branston Hall again, and as a gesture we will be happy to discount our published price to you by a further 20%. For any future booking if you contact the hotel direct and quote your TA pseudonym we will be able to apply this discount.
Thanks again,
The team at BHH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went to Branston Hall on a Groupon deal. The building is impressive and beautifully situated in extensive grounds with a lake. The food is nouvelle cuisine, artistically presented and tastefully prepared though the portions may be inadequate for those with healthy appetites. Our dinner on the first night was part of the Groupon package but having seen the prices we went to the local pub for our meal on the second evening!
The staff were friendly and helpful but we were amused that a "thank you" prompted "no problem". This was so general that, on the rare occasions when that wasn't the response, we assumed that there WAS a problem!
Staffing levels were very generous which probably explains the prices.
If you can get a deal, go for it. You'll enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pickle2011, Guest Relations Manager at Branston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear reviewer,
On behalf of the whole team at Branston Hall Hotel we thank you for the positive review you posted. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The alleged over use of the phrase "no problem" has been noted and will be passed on to the team, thanks for your consructive feedback on this.
We hope to welcome you back to Branston Hall again, and as a gesture we will be happy to discount our published price to you by a further 20%. For any future booking if you contact the hotel direct and quote your TA pseudonym we will be able to apply this discount.
Thanks again,
The team at BHH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel for two nights last week and this hotel is excellent, the grounds are beautiful with a lake and walk way, the Hotel is very well maintained full of character and a high standard throughout. But what certainly added to our stay was the professionalism of the staff, so friendly and made us feel extremely welcome, always smiling and nothing too much trouble. Even the receptionist made an extra effort to us when we enquired about the nearest golf course and looked all the information up for us.
HIGHLY recommend this Hotel

Room Tip: We upgraded our room which was gorgeous overlooking the lake, with a large corner bath and a pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pickle2011, Guest Relations Manager at Branston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear reviewer,
On behalf of the whole team at Branston Hall Hotel we thank you for the positive review you posted. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is always good to hear feedback about the staff and in this case excellent! It is important to us that our guests leave feeling happy about their stay and it is mainly the staff that help us to achieve this, your comments will be passed on.
We hope to welcome you back to Branston Hall again, and as a gesture we will be happy to discount our published price to you by a further 20%. For any future booking if you contact the hotel direct and quote your TA pseudonym we will be able to apply this discount.
Thanks again,
The team at BHH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
183 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Like many of the reviewers here, we stayed two nights with the groupon deal which included dinner the first night and breakfast most mornings. The exterior of the hotel is beautiful as are the grounds. We enjoyed walking around the pond and especially enjoyed the black swans and other birds. The interior of the hotel contains some nice common areas for sitting and relaxing. The hallway and stairways were fine but not as nice as the lounge areas. Our room was good sized and comfortable. The bathroom had a very large bathtub with shower over. Overall, the room was clean and comfortable but somewhat dated in appearance. The restaurant staff were very friendly and welcoming. The three course meal was good. The mains were delicious. The views from the restaurant are very nice. The breakfast was fine. We went to the swimming pool one evening which was also nice. The Jacuzzi was okay but was not terribly hot. Overall we had a good stay. With the groupon deal, it was of very good value. I doubt I would stay with the regular rates. My only complaint is minor. Upon check-in the receptionist was polite but the check-in process seemed rather perfunctory...not very welcoming. We enjoyed our visit and liked the hotel but we did not love it and I can't quite put my finger on the reason why.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viajero5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pickle2011, Guest Relations Manager at Branston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear reviewer,
On behalf of the whole team at Branston Hall Hotel we thank you for the positive review you posted. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Your comments about the check in process have been duly noted and passed on to the team, apologies for the way this was presented to you and we trust this didnt dtract from your stay too much.
We hope to welcome you back to Branston Hall again, and as a gesture we will be happy to discount our published price to you by a further 20%. For any future booking if you contact the hotel direct and quote your TA pseudonym we will be able to apply this discount.
Thanks again,
The team at BHH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Had our third wedding anniversary dinner in the Lakeside Room last night.
The food was excellent, staff very attentive and friendly, all in a stunning setting.
We found Branston Hall by accident a couple of years ago on the back of a disastrous lunch in the area. On the way home came across Branston Hall and had afternoon tea and that more than made up for everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pickle2011, Guest Relations Manager at Branston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear reviewer,
On behalf of the whole team at Branston Hall Hotel we thank you for the positive review you posted. We are pleased you enjoyed your meal, it was interesting to read how you found us, somebody elses loss our gain!
We hope to welcome you back to Branston Hall again, and as a gesture we will be happy to discount our published price to you by a further 20%. For any future booking if you contact the hotel direct and quote your TA pseudonym we will be able to apply this discount.
Thanks again,
The team at BHH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branston
11.2 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
2.0 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
18.1 mi away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bentley Hotel & Spa
24.8 mi away
Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Branston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Branston Hall Hotel

Property: Branston Hall Hotel
Address: Lincoln Road | Lincoln, Branston LN4 1PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Branston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Branston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Branston Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star Country House Hotel situated in well manicured gardens with lake views sat in 88 acres of wooded Parkland. Lincolnshire's Premier weddings venue, Ideal for conference and romantic breaks too. Our fine dining AA Rosette Restaurant and informal bar menu offer both fine and casual dining both at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Branston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Branston Hall Hotel Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing