We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Posh Pile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Branston Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Branston
Certificate of Excellence
New Waltham
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Posh Pile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here 30/31 December for a family New Years Eve wedding and base my review on staying in one of the luxury rooms on the first floor (room 114 overlooking the front of the property).

The room was very roomy and comfortable, fitted out with period furniture, including sofa, normal size double bed, dressing table, two double wardrobes and chest of drawers.The en-suite had a corner bath with shower over, vanity unit and toilet, again, quite roomy. Facilities withing the room included: landline, wi-fi, large screen TV, trouser press, hairdrier and drinks making facility too. Rooms have central heating, but to be quite honest, we had to turn ours off it was so warm - maybe there are heating pipes that run under the room, anyway, we where pretty toasty in there.

Reception staff where pretty efficient, as we checked in, it seemed that it became a conveyer belt of wedding guests and other guests arriving, but the reception area (which isnt really that big) never became congested. So, we where able to quickly get our stuff into our room then get on with the main task of catching up with family and friends...

Bar area is straight off reception, an area of sofas and armchairs around the huge main fire, which was a delight when lit. Area directly in front of the bar having tables and chairs - I think this area can also be used for meals if you cannot get into the restaurant. NOTE, children (I think under 12), cannot eat in the restaurant, be aware of this if you're travelling as a family. Selfishly, I think thats a great idea, as it gave adults some refuge from other peoples kids. Having said that, we chose to take our evening meal, along with other family members, down at the local pub. The Waggon is no more that 200 yards as you turn right out of the main gate. Serving a large selection of real ale, which is well kept by the landlord, food is also quite good - two main meals can be bought for £12 - normal pub fare, quite tasty and generous portions. There is also a large sitting room just off the bar, with views over the garden and lake. You can take afternoon tea in here if you wish, or just chill out with a drink from the bar.

Despite the blustery weather over the new year, I ventured out into the grounds, which where pretty extensive and took a walk around the graden, lake and fields. Certainly blew the cobwebs away!

Good selection for breakfast, self service cereals, juice, fruit, yoghurt, bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs, mushrooms and beans. From the table there was also a selection of freshly cooked choices such as poached eggs, kippers, salmon etc. So enough choice to please pretty much everybody (or so you'd think). Breakfast was the ONE area that I felt service fell a bit short though, s hot drinks and toast where slow to arrive on occasion - one person had finished breakfast as her toast arrived. I dont think this was down to in-efficiency of staff though, as there seemed to be so few of them, more likely a failure of hotel management to ensure enough staff where on duty for such a busy period. Some of them where the same staff waiting on us at the wedding reception into the early hours of that same morning, so well done to them.

Service at the wedding reception was faultless and all food arrived hot, there was certainly no case of one table already finished eating one course while it was still been served to another table which I have witnessed at other hotels. Wine was kept topped up too...

So, a great period property, well appointed and accessible and would also make a great base for anyone wanting to spend time in Lincoln and the surrounding area. Didn't use the spa or leisure facility, hence no mention in this review - time was spent catching up with family.

Room Tip: Anybody I heard complaining about their room came from the courtyard area. They also said that these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    298
    119
    47
    31
See reviews for
138
567
11
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

I had friends staying here on a Christmas break and I joined them for Christmas day. I had an absolutely lovely time - which far exceeded my expectations. All the staff were quite exceptional and so polite, nothing was too much trouble. There were various quizzes happening on the day - all very enjoyable - and the extra work this must have taken to compile is really appreciated. Christmas dinner was excellent. Quite the best Christmas pudding dessert i've ever tasted - and there have been a few!! I used to be in the hotel business and so for a hotel to impress me takes a lot, but they did it hands down! Well done everyone at Branston Hall - and thank you for making the day so special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ballerina223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

A user friendly hotel. The welcome on arrival was pleasant and informative. The room was big warm and comfortable. The bathroom was big!! that was a suprise!
The bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in. The staff in the bar and restaurant were excellent,polite,friendly,professional, and the food? well it was superb well cooked well presented and delicious.
This was a Groupon break for our wedding anniversary and couldn't have been any better.

Room Tip: Don't know what the standard rooms are like as we upgraded for our anniversary,however we heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
137 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Travelled as a group to the hotel for a two night break. Beautifully restored country house hotel with plenty of comfy seating in several reception rooms. The staff are all excellent very helpful and efficient. The rooms are comfortable all the facilities needed and large bathrooms although the heating needs to be turned down in most rooms. This was a very traditional Christmas break with entertainment for those that wanted to take part. The food was excellent with great choices for each meal. It was very good value. Lovely to have a hotel with a good pub and a church within ten minutes walk. The pool area is small but spotless and robes and towels are provided along with slippers in the rooms which makes things a lot easier. A number of guests dressed smartly for meals making the break more special, Not particularly a place for groups with young children but one of the best we have been to in a number of years.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are in the main house and very spacious,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We travelled with friends on a Groupon deal. Both rooms were of a decent size and comfortable once we worked out how to turn the heating down. The staff make the place, from the warm welcome, to maid service and restaurant staff. We had the 3 course meal on the first night which was excellent and very filling. On the second evening we opted for a meal in the bar and there was a good choice with the same excellent service. The breakfasts are enough to last you all day and thery cooked poached and scrambled eggs to order.There's a lovely walk round the lake. we did this after breakfast. We'd never been to Lincoln before so it was an excellent choice , especially as we went to the first day of the christmas market on our last afternoon before returning home.a very enjoyable stay would love to go again when the weather is a bit warmer.

Room Tip: First floor rooms seem to be bigger than second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pollyNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is our second visit to Branston Hall with groupon and if the offer is there next year we hope to make another . Lovely relaxing atmosphere - very friendly and helpful staff, nothing is too much trouble - comfortable bedrooms, best beds I have slept in at a hotel. Shower not very powerful. We didn't use the spa this time round- fantastic food and great shopping - what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had a 2 night stay in this stunning old hotel - very classy country house style - big log fires - comfy sofas - wonderful food and nice pool and fitness suite.
The staff are friendly , attentive and helpful but not intrusive - we travelled with a 5 week old baby and they have a rule of no under 14's in the restaurant at night - so they set up a table for us in the breakfast / bar area which effectively gave us private dining with personalised service. It couldn't have been nicer. There was a large wedding party there but apart from the reception area being crowded for 5 mins on arrival you would never have known - we didn't hear a thing after that and we were in the main part of the hotel - it was obviously full but we never had to wait for a table or passed more than one couple on the stairs etc.
would highly reccommend for anyone wanting a relaxing weekend in the country.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mchapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branston
11.2 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
2.0 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
18.3 mi away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bentley Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Branston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Branston Hall Hotel

Property: Branston Hall Hotel
Address: Lincoln Road | Lincoln, Branston LN4 1PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Branston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Branston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Branston Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star Country House Hotel situated in well manicured gardens with lake views sat in 88 acres of wooded Parkland. Lincolnshire's Premier weddings venue, Ideal for conference and romantic breaks too. Our fine dining AA Rosette Restaurant and informal bar menu offer both fine and casual dining both at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Branston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Branston Hall Hotel Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing