We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT AFTERNOON TEA.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Myself and three friends went for afternoon tea yesterday at Washingborough Hall, as on many other occasions we have been there, the service and food were excellent. Myself and nine friend, for the past three years, have been there for afternoon tea on New Year's day, it kick starts our year for us, but when I tried to book for 1st january 2014, I was told they are not doing afternoon tea on 1st January 2014 as they are doing lunches. As we are all pensioners, we only like afternoon tea, so needless to say, we are all very disappointed. now we have to find an alternative venue. Should this prove sussessful, we shall go back to the new venue and not bother we Washingborough Hall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
There are newer reviews for Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 713 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I recently got married at Washingborough Hall, and I cannot recommend it enough to anyone planning a Lincolnshire wedding.

Washingborough Hall was actually the first venue we looked at and we were completely charmed by its lovely character and individuality. We met with Lucy who was friendly, attentive and gave us all the information we needed regarding costs, food and such. Despite viewing a number of other venues (we had to make sure after all) we couldn't find a more perfect location and so booked our wedding for Wednesday the 7th of August. ( Wednesday weddings are another thing I can't recommend enough! )

The day itself was flawless.

We couldn't have wished for a more perfect day and couldn't have been happier with our choice in venue. The rooms had been decorated, pre wedding, by the staff, and it looked perfect ( the bride had a very specific vision lol ) and they were so friendly, calm and attentive that even on the day they helped the groomsmen finish their duties. The menu was another highlight and completely delicious, if you ever come here then you must try the brownie, it's basically life changing!

Despite the beautiful building and elegant surroundings being obvious lures to make this venue great. The thing that meant the most to us, was how unique and personal Lucy and her staff had made our wedding.

We thank everyone at Washingborough Hall sincerely for making our day so perfect.
Alex and Lydia

Room Tip: The bridal suite is incredible, luxurious and beautifully decorated. I saw the other four posters an...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My daughter and I celebrated her Birthday last week with an afternoon tea. We couldn't fault the friendliness of the staff but were very disappointed with the tea. We felt it was lacking in presentation, We appreciate the food had to be kept separate due to wheat intolerance but felt that a little bit of garnish would have brightened up the plates, perhaps some salad with the sandwiches and with it being strawberry season perhaps some fresh strawberries with the cake.
So sad as we live locally and we were hoping to make this a regular outing but sadly that will not be happening.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Goulss54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Viewing the website before our stay made me look forward to visiting the hotel .it looked gorgeous and the rooms beautiful.however for £130 the room was definitely not up to scratch and did not resemble the standard I had viewed on the web, with barely enough room for much more than the bed, which was only just a double,chipped furniture which I could see was supposed to be shabby chic but more shabby, dirty spoons and tray for the cups and a shower that barely let out a trickle. I wouldn't say its the worst place I have ever stayed but definitely didnt live up to the pictures on the web.i would say more glorified b + b.on the plus side, grounds were beautiful and the food was of a very high standard but handing over £130 for the room just had a little sting in its tail unfortunately.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayandJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Although my husband's funeral was a sad occasion, the staff at Washingborough Hall couldn't have made more effort to ensure the reception was relaxed and pleasant. The food was spectacular, the service professional and discreet, the setting perfect! I think even the weather was organised for us. I couldn't have asked for anything more. Thank you.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Walshcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We were bought a champagne afternoon tea as a gift and whilst we enjoyed our visit it had its highs and lows.
Highs were definitely the friendly, helpful staff; the cherry , 'proper' ham and the beautiful surroundings
On the downside, half a scone each does not an afternoon tea make, despite the addition of very small savoury scone bites. And our table simply wasn't big enough for all the single plates of food plus drinks plus coffee pot, (tho the crockery was lovely!). Sandwich bread was disappointingly average too.
The cakes were definitely the highlight, my husband normally refuses carrot cake but could have eaten more of what we were served.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kazsmith69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is an absolutely fabulous hotel with superb caring staff and first class facilities. We stayed for three days and couldn't fault it in any way. We arrived earlier than planned but our room was ready and was absolutely spotless with everything needed for a wonderful experience. The staff are great and nothing was any trouble to them. Edward and Lucy took this hotel on at the start of the recession but austerity couldn't be farther away from here. Attention to detail is paramount and I must give special thanks to Dan, the chef who catered admirably for my wife's gluten free requirement. The breakfast is excellent, bar meals are superb, but dinner in the main dining room is something else. The rack of lamb was mouthwatering as was the sea bass. The puddings too were inspiring as was the excellent wine list. Altogether a splendid experience and a highly recommended hotel. We'll certainly visit again when next in the area.

Room Tip: Slight noise from the kitchen extraction system, but it was turned off at night so would not affect...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RodandAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washingborough
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
2.6 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
1,796 reviews
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
847 reviews
2.7 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
525 reviews
2.0 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Church Hill, Washingborough, Lincoln LN4 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > Washingborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Price Range: $119 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Georgian Country House now one of East Midlands premier Country House Hotels. Situated in 3 acres of private grounds and just 2 miles from the historic heart of the City of Lincoln. Privately owned and managed by Lucy and Edward Herring, the Hall is a stylish, relaxed hotel renowned for its friendly atmosphere, great food and personal service. There are 12 individually designed bedrooms including 2 four poster rooms all with en-suite bathrooms and luxury toiletries. Elegant, yet informal, the Two AA Rosette award winning restaurant is renowned for producing delicious home-made dishes using local ingredients where possible. Bar meals are available all day and the Restaurant is open every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HRS, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing