We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Very pleasant Country House Hotel ideally placed for visiting Lincoln. Hugh log burning stove to welcome you beside reception and all the staff very pleasant, friendly and professional. I was well looked after by Helen , nothing was too much trouble and I just had a starter in the bar as it was late and not particularly hungry. Comfortable room and as I had to be away early the staff served me 30 minutes before the start of official service, which was very good of them. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inntheknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

671 - 677 of 788 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at Washingborough hall for 2 nights and were throughly pleased with our stay. The staff on reception were very helpful as were all the staff nothing is to much trouble. Our room was beautifully decorated and spottlessly clean with a large en-suite bathroom with lovely large bath sheets and complimentary shower/shampoo and soap of a high quality. The room had tea/coffee and the homemade biscuits in a little tin were a nice touch.
We had a bar meal one evening and can throughly recomend the ribs although make sure you are hungry as it is a large meal :-) Breakfast time there is a good selection of cereal, yogurt and fruit and the cooked breakfasts are delicious and a good start to the day.
Lincoln is only 3 miles away and there is a bus stop not to far a walk from the hotel, the bus station is quite central to the city centre and a good way to travel as we found parking in the city to be quite expensive.
I would thoughly recomend Washingborough hall it is a charming hotel full of character and in a quite location but not far from city centre.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 23 and found this a quite room. As the House is quite old the floors creak abit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel during a trip to Lincoln. My husband got a bed/breakfast and evening meal deal through travelzoo. The hotel sits in lovely grounds and has free parking. Our room (15) was small and needed to be refurbished. The bathroom was very small and needed to be replaced. The bed was not very comfortable as the mattress was so soft that every time my husband moved I nearly fell out of the bed. However the food which we had in the restaurant
was extremely good and the service could not be faulted. This hotel is obviously undergoing improvements but we would not go back until the bedrooms have been refurbished.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We booked the hotel as an overnight stop as it offered a very competitive rate and we ended up having a lovely night in a hotel where the owners and staff are clearly trying very hard to please. Perhaps it is 98% there but their sheer helpfulness and good customer service proved a delight. Certainly excellent standard for price/ this part of the country. Food a real tasty, well presented and good value. Yes they still have investment to make to update venue and acknowledge this but deserve every success - we will certainly be back

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We attended our friends wedding here and from the moment you drive in the gates you know you are in for a treat, you are made to feel welcome instantly its a very cosy family run hotel and you can tell its very much loved by its owners, we stayed in a 4 poster room with was beautiful the bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was amazing,
the food we had at the wedding was divine can not fault it one bit.
i honestly can not fault this gorgeous place one bit and im really glad we have found this hidden gem will without a doubt be going again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahpickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed for one Saturday night in a single room. Friendly staff, nice old building and grounds. Free car parking.

Room smallish and not much hanging space, but it was a single room. Free wifi included. good size TV and bed comfortable.

Hotel located in quiet Washingborough but close to Lincoln. Taxi cost me £6.50 from hotel to central Lincoln.

Breakfast was included in my rate. Breakfast very nice and cooked to order, which is lot better than the luke warm buffet type breakfasts you seem to get at most hotels.

Overall good stay and I thought good value, would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My family and I attended a wedding ceremony at this venue. From the moment we walked in the staff were helpful and welcoming , the entire day was lovely and flowed well. The hotel its self is small however lovely and full of character. We would recommend the Washingborough to anyone looking for a civil ceremony , the only down side was the limited number of rooms at the venue however this was not a issue.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamanthaJC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washingborough
2.6 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lincoln
1,915 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#6 of 9 in Lincoln
884 reviews
3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#8 of 9 in Lincoln
575 reviews
2 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Church Hill, Washingborough LN4 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Washingborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Price Range: $123 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Georgian Country House now one of East Midlands premier Country House Hotels. Situated in 3 acres of private grounds and just 2 miles from the historic heart of the City of Lincoln. Privately owned and managed by Lucy and Edward Herring, the Hall is a stylish, relaxed hotel renowned for its friendly atmosphere, great food and personal service. There are 20 individually designed bedrooms including 2 four poster rooms all with en-suite bathrooms and luxury toiletries. Elegant, yet informal, the Two AA Rosette award winning restaurant is renowned for producing delicious home-made dishes using local ingredients where possible. Bar meals are available all day and the Restaurant is open every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing