We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable meal in a lovely setting”

The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $63
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The award winning 2 AA Rosette, Dining Room is situated within Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel - a beautiful Grade 2 listed late georgian Manor House set in 3 acres of gardens and only 3 miles from the historic centre of Lincoln. The elegant, yet informal restaurant is open 7 days a week offering a la carte menu from 6pm-9pm. Lunchtime menu from 12.00-2pm weekdays and Sunday with dedicated Sunday lunch menu too. A delicious Afternoon tea menu with home made cakes and pastries and a more informal bar menu is also available 12.00-9pm. Lincolnshire favourites implemented with care and attention. and attention. Open
east midlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal in a lovely setting”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Dining room (in fact whole hotel) decked out beautifully for Xmas. Fabulous atmosphere, great log burner, superb beer (Tom Woods Lincoln Ale). 2 of us had steaks the other a vegetarian main, all very good. Staff superb, desserts and cheeseboard equally so. Can't wait to return. A little bit pricey, but overall a very enjoyable relaxed evening

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Protexblue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washyhall1, Owner at The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    21
    4
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
235 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch with Jacket & Tie”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Over the years I have eaten @ this hotel many times & attended more than my share of wedding receptions but this was the first time with the new owners. Well I was very impressed on this visit with the presentation & quality of food which was enjoyed by all in our family group. The front of house, bar & serving staff where all very professional & polite but the hostess was a delight making us all feel very welcome.
This hotel is a little up market so be aware your fellow dinners may be wearing a jacket & tie for dinner but that's a small price to pay for a quality meal I'm sure all will enjoy.
Highly recommended even without J&T.

Helpful?
1 Thank smiler888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washyhall1, Owner at The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Smiler, thank you for your kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed yourselves although after recently celebrating 5 years of ownership I am wondering when we might lose the tag of 'New Owners' ! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
469 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“very nice but too difficult if not staying at the property”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

great light and very nice room. Service was a bit slow due to low staffing levels. The chiefs at dinner are quite good and willing to accommodate requests.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank pandpCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washyhall1, Owner at The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Our 'Chiefs' who bent over backwards to accommodate your dietary requirements are touched by your description of them being 'quite good'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfectly attentive service, outstanding food and a fabulous evening dining.”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a great evening dining with parents having booked at relatively short notice. After an aperitif and selecting our options we were shown to our table for the evening and made to feel at home. Even though there was a party in another room we were not disturbed, nor did our level of very attentive but not intrusive service suffer.

My partner has a number of food intolerances which I advised the Hall about and they presented a separate menu for all courses. In fact the options looked so good that the other diners had a few items off this as well!

I cannot point to a best or favourite dish as all selections were excellent, showcasing local produce or being finessed classic dishes.

Definitely somewhere to put in your top five for good dining in Lincolnshire.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lincoln_Cliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washyhall1, Owner at The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind review we look forward to you visiting us again. I'm delighted to report that The Dining Room has recently received a second AA Rosette for the quality of its food. Head Chef Dan and his team work extremely hard and conscientiously to accommodate all dietary requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service.”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

A lovely setting and ther service was attentive and prompt. A liitle expensive for this part of the UK though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LincolnlassLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washyhall1, Owner at The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. We feel our pricing is very much in line with other similar venues with comparable food and service offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel also viewed

Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing