We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Easter weekend break on Arran”
other travelers have booked this property
Mill Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mill Barn
Table extends to eight seater
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Mill Barn
Table extends to eight seater
Veiw from lounge
Leading from Kitchen to lounge
Double
Single
Twin
King size bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Shiskine, Isle of Arran, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
I_only_do...
UK
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Easter weekend break on Arran”
Reviewed April 5, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Mill Barn is a very comfortable base for exploring Arran which I would happily recommend. Ruth was helpful in making arrangements and left some delicious local cheese & oatcakes for us to try on arrival.

The beds were comfy, the lounge warm and sunny and the kitchen is very well equipped except no dishwasher - not used to washing up for 8 but we managed for 3 nights!

Arran has so much to explore - beaches, waterfalls, woodlands, caves, ancient stones. Mill Barn is well placed and easy to get to. We ate at Kinloch Hotel one evening and had a very good meal.

All in all a wonderful family weekend on a beautiful island with great weather (cold but bright) and we hope to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2018
Thanks for your review. I’m glad you all enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aileen120...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New Year in Arran!! ”
Reviewed January 2, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Just home from 3 fantastic nights on beautiful Arran, staying at the fantastic Mill Barn, Shiskine. Our party of 6 adults and 1 child had a wonderful stay and we couldn’t recommend it highly enough. Mill Barn is a stunning place to stay, so modern and well kept but retaining a lovely, cosy quality. Superb facilities within the house and a great lay out, extremely comfortable, very clean, faultless! Ruth, the owner, was incredibly friendly and welcoming. All in all an excellent experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2018
Thanks. Hopefully you’ll visit Mill Barn again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrskjmpar...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Where do I start with this place! We had a fantastic time at Ruth's house and she was very welcoming; our arrival gift was lovely (thank you, Ruth). Everything was made clear when we arrived which meant we could enjoy our stay. It was a very homely place that was perfect for us and our friends (4 adults and 2 children).

Location is great and very close to a lovely beach and butcher at blackwaterfoot. We had a lovely walk along the coast here which ended on the golf course. Our toddler was amazed by some of the golfers taking their shots! There was also a little play park which was nice. It is about a 20 minute drive from Brodick when you drive over String Road which was very easy. A very nice location as a base to explore the island.

The house itself is just lovely. It is very well laid out and we particularly liked the mezzanine - Very spacious. The beds are very comfortable too. I was so impressed with how well the house was equipped. I even managed to make my husband a birthday cake with the two silicon cake tins!

We will definitely be back here if possible and would recommend it to anyone who is wanting to visit Arran.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2017
Hi Kim, thanks for the review. I'm glad you all enjoyed your stay at Mill Barn. I would gladly welcome you all back anytime.
Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan S
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
“May 2017”
Reviewed June 2, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Well appointed comfortable holiday let.
Plenty of room for our party of 6 adults.
Good location for either exploring north or south of the island and only 25 minutes from Brodick along the String Road.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2017
Thanks for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ninamcpau...
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ARRAN GETAWAY”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely welcome from Ruth to her beautiful barn with samples from Arran to start us off, well equipped Grandchildren had ball keeping eye on grown ups from living room Thanks again Ruth

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2017
Thanks for your review. I hope to see you all back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
Thanks for your review. I look forward to welcoming you back to Mill Barn.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alexander...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic house great location for a long awaited return to Arran”
Reviewed November 4, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Located in Shiskine this house accommodated 7 of us .Very comfortable ultra modern converted barn .Has all mod cons 2x double bedrooms 1 x twin bed room and 1 single bedroom 2x bathrooms large modern tv/living room and big kitchen /dinning area .House is in great location to access all island and is close to some very good golf courses which we enjoyed immensely , playing in short sleeved shirts in October !! Gets 5 ⭐️We will be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting in the comfortable lounge at night with a gin and tonic
Liked least: Leaving !!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2016
Thanks for your review. You are great guests and I will be happy to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing