We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun times at Garden Grove!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Las Salinas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden Grove Beach Casitas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun times at Garden Grove!!!”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Garden Grove is an adorable beach resort located on Playa Santana. It is an excellent place to relax with friends, family or a significant other. The beach was beautiful and wide open. We had excellent weather the entire time and it was a perfect place to sit back and relax for a couple days on our trip to Nicaragua.

The resort has a family feel and we got to know the owners (especially Susan) throughout our stay. There are casitas on one side of the property, and a patio on the other side where you can lounge and grab drinks. The houses surround a yard which consists of a golf hole and interspersed watermelons that germinated on their own. Our kids were commenting on the watermelons in the yard one day, and later that day Susan picked one of them, gave the kids markers, and the kids drew faces in the watermelons which we later carved into watermelon jack-o-lanterns. Another day we went to the beach and she gave us golf balls so that we could make ski ball in the sand (see pictures). We had a blast not only enjoying the hotel, but also hanging out with the owners and picking their brain. She gave us excellent recommendations on places to go afterwards and helped us see some sites we never would have gotten to see in Nicaragua. We were very well attended throughout our stay – they helped us get tweezers to get a splinter out of our son’s foot and another night gave us bug repellent for the kids.

It was super economical and a great place to relax for all types. The casita was equipped with a kitchen and bathroom, and there was wireless internet. The bunk bed in our casita (the far one) was perfect for sleeping our two kids (see picture). The other casitas had a group of surfers and a couple. I don’t think the couple ever left the property to go to the beach. It was a great place to hunker down for 3 days and we wished we could have stayed longer. I can’t say enough about the place!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2014

If you're looking for a place to stay and go surfing in Nicaragua with your friends, this is the perfect place!! Really nice and clean rooms with a very well-equiped kitchen (stove, oven, toaster, coffee-maker, microwave, big fridge with included freezer, cutlery, plates,..), nice patio, bbq, hammocks to chill and only a short walk away from playa Santana, Popoyo,…
The awesome hosts Fred and Sue will take care of you and help you out with shopping, taxis, etc. to ensure you will enjoy your stay to the fullest. Fred's also in for a poker or ladder golfing in the yard ;).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surferella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thun, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We spend three weeks in one of the casitas and we had an amazing time. The casitas are very clean and have a great equipped kitchen (big fridge, hotplates, toaster, microwave, water tank, coffee-maker …), a bathroom, a veranda, hammocks, comfortable beds, etc. (Free WI-FI included).
The place is very peaceful, just 5 min from the beach and close to many surf-spots (5min by car to Popoyo and 5min to walk to Playa Santana). There are also a few good restaurants in the area, in case you don’t like to cook. For security there is a night watchman and during the day there is always on of the owners around (I never felt unsecured).
The owners Susan & Fred do everything to make you happy (it’s even possible to order groceries or buy coke and beer directly from them) and provide you with a lot of information about Nicaragua.
In my opinion it’s the perfect place to stay in this area (we first stayed somewhere else) and I am looking forward to come back.

Room Tip: the longer you stay the cheaper it gets
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My son,his wife & I spent 5 great days staying at Garden Grove Beach Casitas. Owners Susan & Fred made us feel so welcome. They were very friendly & able to give lots of information about the area. Excellent location with few steps to the beach & near many surfing spots. Casitas were very clean,secure, full kitchen,full bathroom,comfortable beds,nice veranda with table/chairs/hammocks. There is another outside large deck area to sit & mingle with the owners,other guests,& some locals. Also has WI-FI & a little bar. Close to restaurants when you don't feel like cooking. Owners live on property & security on duty. The 3 dogs are very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capey46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron bay
2 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed at garden grove for two weeks and would have stayed longer if we didn't have to move on to catch up with our mates. The owners Susanne and Fred are fantastic hosts and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The casitas are amazing... The best we have staying in through Central by far!! Equipped with a fully functional kitchen, full size refrigerator/freezer and filtered water was fantastic! It gave us the option of cooking meals at our leisure and of course keeping our beer ice cold! The casitas also have everything you could ever need from a torch to coffee maker and even some board games... These guys have thought of it all. Garden grove is conveniently located between two popular surf breaks... Santana's lefts and popoyo. They have boards you can use there which was ideal for us as we had to leave our boards behind in Mexico. They also have a 24hr security guy on the property so you can rest or leave your casita for a day trip with peace of mind. Can't recommend this place highly enough!!! We will be back next time we visit nicaragua.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizaminnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Staying at Garden Groves was the highlight of my trip in Nicaragua. The casitas were clean and comfortable, and there was a great community of people. The beach was absolutely beautiful and untouched by tourists and litter. I would highly recommend making Garden Groves part of your travels.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaitlyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Susan picked us up from the border, brought us out for drinks and toured us around the coast. We stayed 3 days and wished we could've stayed longer. They made sure we always had exactly what we needed in our Casita and provided us with all the information we needed regarding our travels. Situated in a peaceful/quiet part of the coast, Garden Grove is perfect for relaxing, surfing, making friends (travelers/locals) and enjoying all that Nicaragua has to offer. Can't wait to return!

Thanks again Susan and Fred:)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Salinas
0.0 mi away
Nica Vida Surf Lodge
Nica Vida Surf Lodge
#2 of 6 in Las Salinas
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buena Onda Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Red Pepper Popoyo
Red Pepper Popoyo
#3 of 6 in Las Salinas
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vibra Guesthouse
Vibra Guesthouse
#5 of 6 in Las Salinas
4 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Garden Grove Beach Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Grove Beach Casitas

Property: Garden Grove Beach Casitas
Address: Playa Santana | Tola, Las Salinas, Nicaragua (Formerly Los Ochos)
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Las Salinas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Las Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy waking up and walking out your front door to the break at Playa Santana or Popoyo. We can provide transportation to many other waves too; Rosada, Panga Drops, Colorado, Playgrounds or Astillero to name a few.Get picked up in a boat right out front on the beach and our guides will find you a wave or some fish! Each casita sleeps three but can accommodate 4; all have a Queen-sized bed and a twin(or bunk),private bath, fully equipped kitchen with almost all the amenities of home.We are located next door to Buena Onda Beach Resort which features awesome owners and staff as well as a bar and restaurant available to guests at Garden Grove. Come to beautiful Nicaragua, meet some of the friendliest people you've ever met!Surf,fish,swim,chill or explore.Let the Pacific Ocean be your front yard for awhile! We'll save you a hammock and a Tona! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden Grove Beach Casitas Nicaragua/Las Salinas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing