We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful getaway spot”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Las Salinas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Two Brothers Surf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara
1 review
“Wonderful getaway spot”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here last October/November. It was the very end of the rainy season so their was no one there. The only person who was their was the grounds keeper Henry who was a very sweet local guy. The Owner Robert showed up the day we were leaving to another resort for our second week there and was very nice to us and invited us on several surfing trips with him the next week so we had a chance to get to know him. We are most definitely planning on going back next year same time.

Tip. plan on renting a car because it is set on top of a very steep hill which makes for gorgeous 360 views of ocean/surf spots and volcanoes and pastures and salt flats but it also makes it a little more difficult to get to the beach or the local fishing village.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isobel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    8
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
45
31
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We booked a room on a last minute decision to go to Popoyo. Thanks to the owner for that. After seeing the room had ants we decided to not stay. Boy was the owner pissed. He told us you are in Nicaragua every place has ants. NOT TRUE. He treated us like we were wrong. Was very rude and treated us with disrespect. We apologized several times for putting him out, but, he wouldn't hear of it.
We also, were told it was a short 15 minute walk to the beach. NOT TRUE. it's a good mile drive down a very steep drive way and gravel road.
Also, being on vacation at a "resort" we were told we should have brought our own towels for the beach. I don't know of anyone who travels with beach towels to resorts?
His wife was very nice in the 2 conversations we had with her. I think I understand why she lives in Florida.

Room Tip: See it first before you give up your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BrunchiesTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoBrothers, Owner at Two Brothers Surf Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
It is true, there are a large number of bugs in Nicaragua! To our defense, it is the tropics and the first rains of the year generally come in May like clockwork - that also causes the ants to migrate and other critters to come alive that have been dormant during the dry season. We are known for in our unique architecture like the temple doors that grace the entrance of each villa - a reason I am sure drew these guests and others to us – but 100 year old carved temple doors do not make much of an ant barrier – luckily the numerous house geckos take care of the smaller bugs.

We try to be as honest and upfront about Nicaragua as we can possibly be - it is a poor country with limited resources and we live very consciously. We also try our best to conserve and protect the local ecology – including water conservation – especially coming off of the dry season with limited water in the wells – this is the main reason we offer bath towels and not beach towels – though if people request, like these guests did, we do supply them. Most of our guests that come to the surf resort are surfers and do bring their own beach towels - rarely guests come for just one night. We made an exception for these particular guests.

Regarding the location – the villas are set back from the beach about a half a mile on a private estate comprised of a small mountain as our website states. Yes the hill is steep, but that affords Two Brothers the sweeping views of the whole area, overlooking the entire expanse of beach and volcanoes and valleys behind. As you can see from the other reviews, most people wouldn’t trade the view for anything! Though we do also have a Lodge property directly on the beach, most people prefer to stay on the hill.

We love our guests to love where they are staying and have a wonderful experience in Nicaragua and at Two Brothers. Two Brothers was not a match for this couple. They arrived, left after only 10 minutes, and were never actual guests at Two Brothers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape carteret NC
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Our family went to Two Brothers surf camp not having much of an idea what we were getting into. We did the all inclusive package which took care of all our food, transportation, boat excursions, and fishing. Transportation provided by Two Brothers was great! We didn't have to worry about the car. We had 3 wonderful meals/day at the main house. Henery, the cook, was great. It was so nice not to worry about where to find something to eat after a hard day surfing and being in the sun. The property is amazing! The view is over 450 ft above sea level and you can watch the swell come in. Surfing was better than CR. And we were there on an off week. At the most we had 20 surfers on a break, stretched out across the break. We did surf from the boat almost everyday. I would say if you want an adventure and want to catch great waves go to Two Brothers Surf camp. If you are not that good with the language and you don't want to worry about anything do the all inclusive, you WILL get your moneys worth. Hope this helps you decide. Many thanks to Robert, Susan, and their staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Great place to visit for surf, relax, fish, or eat great food. I want to go back soon. Highly recommend this place over other surf resorts for many reasons.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torchwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dauphin Island, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Stay at Two Brothers for ten nights in December. We did the all-inclusive for the first week. This was the way to go, just relax and not worry about anything except what time you need to be ready to go surf. The accommodations were great and very comfortable. Henry the chef prepared wonderful meals every day. There is nothing like starting the day with some of Henry’s banana pancakes. . It was nice to have someone as knowledgeable as Robert (the owner) to tell us where to surf everyday based on swell direction and tides and I cannot say enough about our surf guide Andrey. He was fantastic, took care of us from dust until dawn. If you want to take a surf trip of a lifetime or just get away and not worry about anything, I highly recommend Two Brothers

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle River, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Great Fun!! If you love surfing, you need to travel here! My family took me to Two Brothers for my surprise 50th birthday trip and the experience surpassed all of our expectations. The Villas were clean and comfortable, with a kitchen suited for preparing your own meals if you choose. Although we did not take the all inclusive plan, there were many small restaurants close by the served delicious local food at ridiculously low prices. Robert and Susan were gracious hosts and I would highly recommend excursions with Robert by boat to some of the hot spots nearby know as Dairy Queen and The Playground. The waves were simply phenomenal and we caught fish along the way. My family had a blast and we will return. The Baker's, New Jersey

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dgbakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Two brothers is such an Incredible place, most magnificent property in nicaragua, just beautiful. The surf was absolutely amazing, the chef Henry made the most delicious food and I always wanted more of it, the surf guide Andrey was incredible and a really cool guy, Robert was incredbily knowledgeable about the area and welcomed us to his home and to enjoy the lifestyle he has. He was always up for talking and answering any questions or just having a good conversation. He put us on incredible surf every single day, you can surf till you drop which is exactly what we wanted, sunup to sundown. Just amazing. The boat trips were really fun and they provide such an incredible view of the coast of nicaragua, being able to just hop out of the water and surf is the best part. The fishing was really fun as well, pulling in a deep sea fish is something I had always wanted to do. I just cant stress enough how incredible the waves were and how knowledgeable they were about getting us on good waves. Other resorts dont have the wave knowledge that two brothers does, we surfed incredible waves at playgrounds for 5 hours by ourselves until the other resorts realized it was good. Robert already knew and got us there at sunup, a day I will never forget.. The villas were beautiful, the views unparalleled. The amount of work it must have took to build this place is unimaginable, it was phenomenal. The place was clean, the beds comfortable, fresh bottled water available for everyone even in the rooms.The ride from the airport took over 3 hours which was longer than we expected but we arrived safely and would never have found the place without a driver, definitely good to have a driver, Robert got us back to the airport alot quicker and safely and was hard to say goodbye to him and nicaragua, he was such a genuine guy, honest and upfront about his views and opinions which is what I really liked about him. The board rental selection was large for sure but is not suited for everyone. If your flexible on board selection it is a great variety of boards, if you like a certain type and size, bring your own.The all inclusive package is worth every penny and I would have stayed for a month if I could have. We took over 500 pictures and it is something none of us will ever forget.Unfortunately we didnt get to meet the entire gregory family but weve heard nothing but great things about the family, look forward to meeting them next time as I am certain that we will be back in nicaragua at the two brothers resort for another incredible vacation. Cant wait to get back there. Rick-Virginia Beach.

Room Tip: book early, villas fill quickly
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Salinas
9.6 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
570 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
10.9 mi away
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Playa Manzanillo
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Jolla Hotel
La Jolla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Popoyo
39 reviews
0.8 mi away
Soma Surf Resort
Soma Surf Resort
#1 of 11 in Popoyo
208 reviews
3.4 mi away
Buena Onda Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Brothers Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Brothers Surf Resort

Property: Two Brothers Surf Resort
Address: Popoyo, Las Salinas, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Las Salinas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Las Salinas
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
2 Brothers Surf Resort
Two Brothers Surf Hotel Las Salinas
Two Brothers Surf Resort Nicaragua/Las Salinas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing