We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal Location with the best a village can offer...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Dovepoint Cottage

Dining Room another view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining Room another view
Attic Room Sitting Room and the fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Dining Room another view
Attic Room
Sitting Room and the fireplace
Attic Room
Dining Room at Dovepoint
Attic Room
View from Master Bedroom
View from Sitting Room
Master Bedroom another view
Master Bedroom
Children's Room
Orford Castle
Winter Walks and views of the coast
Orford Castle 3 minutes walk away
Lady Florence river trips
The Garden
View from Attic Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Orford, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 18, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and appearance and comfort of the home.
Liked least: No washing machine and/or dryer available for use.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
svirie1
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful stay in an idyllic location.”
Reviewed September 21, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We have recently returned from a wonderful week in Orford. Dovepoint cottage was the perfect base for exploring this stunning area. The cottage is conveniently located in the centre of this picturesque village. It is beautifully furnished, sparkling clean and surprisingly spacious; absorbing all seven of us very comfortably. The 'starter pack' of dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid, loo roll, larder essentials ( all those things so often forgotten when packing, necessitating an emergency trip to the shop upon arrival) was a particularly nice touch!
The private and peaceful garden is ideal for long, lazy lunches. The quiet rural lanes provided miles of easy cycling through bucolic scenery. The waterfront boasts a coffee shop, fresh seafood for sale and Pinneys, a wonderful smokehouse that also sells beautiful locally made pottery. The children enjoyed crabbing from the quay. There are numerous walking paths nearby, most linking to the seawall from where you can watch the harbour activity. We also visited Orford Castle, a beautifully preserved keep affording fantastic views to Orford Ness.
We all thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. It was a pleasure to return to the comfort and convenience of Dovepoint cottage after a days activities. I would recommend a stay here to anyone; it is a wonderful family friendly environment with plenty to do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything is within walking distance. Clean, comfortable home.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElspethTa...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cosy cottage with plenty to do in walking distance”
Reviewed September 17, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We had a lovely 3 day stay at Dovepoint Cottage. The owners were very helpful - as they had availability they had the cottage ready within a day of our enquiry. The house was well equipped with a large glass roofed entrance room where wet wellies and coats could be stored (very useful after a day on the water).
The rooms were beautifully and simply furnished (I appreciated the F&B colours!) with a cosy lounge and spacious dining room. A bright room with 3 beds was perfect for our boys (aged 12, 10 and 7), a large double for the grandparents, and a double loft room for my husband and me (the owners have planning in for skylights in this room which should make it brighter, but it was perfectly adequate for our purposes).
We enjoyed the local pubs and 'oysterage' (specialising in smoked fish, and very child friendly). The village shops and bakery had all that we needed - including nets and hooks for crabbing at the quay with the children. The medieval castle was wonderful, with a great audio guide. Our trip to Orford Ness (a shingle spit formerly used for military bombing experiments) was a wet and windy one, but the boys had fun jumping in the sea nonetheless.
Had we been staying longer we could have revisited Southwold, Walberswick and Snape Maltings (which we enjoyed on a previous holiday), but we did have a wonderful day in Cambridge on our way down from Yorkshire.
We were thrilled to find this little gem and I doubt there would have been availability had it been on the rental market longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The restful, airy feel of the cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 13, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$114
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing