We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit to this lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown & Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown & Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orford
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Second visit to this lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is my second visit to this hotel. On this occassion I took my mum for her birthday and had a twin bedded garden room. It was perfect for two night stay. The patio with the late evening sun was perfect and gives you privacy it you want it from the general outside seating area.

The hotel has a lovely relaxed feel and you always feel everything is in hand and under control.

The food is of a really high quality and they use and promote local providers which is great. The dining room is almost in two parts with the main dining room and a smaller area off this. We were seated in the smaller area both evenings. I would suggest if you want to sit in the main area request a table there.

A lovely visit and I will return.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are perfect if you are sharing a room or have a pet. They are also lovely in the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottkelly53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
How nice that you have already stayed twice at the C&C, and how kind of you to write such a lovely review. We are really pleased you enjoyed both your room and the food, and that you plan to come back yet again. It is a great compliment and one for which we are very grateful. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    112
    29
    11
    3
See reviews for
61
588
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

It always pleases us to find such excellent service, here in the UK, and the C&C ticked all the boxes for us and our dog.

From the moment of arrival, after battling the dreaded M25, to the moment we left, our every need was taken care of without fuss.

Every member of staff was genuinely friendly & highly efficient which made the establishment very sleek indeed.

The choice of food was so exciting it made it difficult to choose and the homemade loganberry ice cream ......

As for our dog's experience, if she could speak she would say that the C&C understands dogs and what a dog needs and she had a most fabulous time, she even knew where the doggy treat draw was located as the treats were so abundant and forthcoming. She didn't like the resident cat though, cos it didn't appear to have a pulse, although it seemed to delight most of the guests!

The surrounding countryside is breathtaking and the locals so friendly, it was like stepping back in time.

So all in all, thank you all for a much need break, of such splendid quality. We will be back.

Room Tip: Room 29 if you have a dog - its at the end of a row, with a pretty shared garden Book table 30 prio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank insearchofsolitude67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
We are so pleased you and Dottie enjoyed your stay, including the unspoiled Suffolk countryside. Thank you very much indeed for all your kind comments and for taking the time to write your review. We look forward to welcoming you all back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very comfortable room, spotlessly clean and stylishly decorated with a comfy bed. Staff were exceptionally helpful and welcoming, but not fussy or pretentious. This is a restaurant with rooms rather than an hotel: it felt much more personal. It's possible to get drinks, etc, through the day, but there isn't a busy, buzzing bar.

Food was good, rather than 'gourmet', in keeping with the simple approach, we had lovely seafood and picked from an interesting wine list. Portions are sensibly sized not over facing.

All in all, a greatly place to really relax and get away from it all. Good value for money too.

Room Tip: Room 31 has a private terrace facing the castle which catches the evening sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your review, particularly the bit about our being more a restaurant with rooms than a hotel. It's a category that our national guidebooks/websites do not really support (compared to France, for example) and one which we do try to convey ourselves, but not always with success. We are delighted you enjoyed the style of the C&C including the food and the room. We hope you will return but in the meantime, thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife wrote the following:-

This hotel ticked all the boxes. The really well trained staff know how to look after their guests and appeared to enjoy doing so.

On arrival check in was straightforward, we were shown to our room and offered help with our luggage. Our room on the first floor of the main house was well thought out using unfussy designs in calm colours. The Anglepoise bedside lamps were a brilliant idea and the bathroom with a window was another plus.

The whole hotel was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Everything felt generous from the large cups to the absence of portion control butter and milk sachets (my pet hate!) Speaking of milk the flask of fresh milk in the bedroom was for me the most impressive touch (I often bring my own), for my husband it was the jar of cookies.

The tables in the restaurant are small and very close together but this is already acknowledged by the hotel. It is not pretending to be a fine dining restaurant although the quality and presentation of the food is first class. The restrictions on young children and dogs helps to make the limited space more acceptable. We have both at home and frequently visit local hostelries with them but it was more enjoyable and relaxing, eating without either of them at our elbows or under our feet, a brave move on your part but appreciated by us.

We will return to spend more time with you!

To which I will add

A wonderful all round experience. A well run hotel with well trained local staff, king size beds, and delicious food in a beautiful rural backwater. Who could ask for anything more?

Room Tip: Spend the extra and choose a room with the spectacular views across the estuary to Orford Ness and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
How can we do anything but thank your wife for her extreme perspicacity, generosity and endeavour in posting such a fabulous review! We are really grateful for all the compliments and understanding of what we try to do. And, thank you, too for the extra bit about comfortable beds etc. It all helps to draw a detailed picture for those wondering whether to risk their hard-earned cash on coming to stay with us. Thank you BOTH so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans Herts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

2 days at C&C felt like a weeks holiday! Warmly welcomed, immaculate room (with new bed! last time a problem!) We had our dog with us, she was greeted by name. Food fantastic, I have never had a steak tartare so wonderfully made. I am not surprised the guest book had addresses from all over the world. The staff cannot do enough for you. If you want anything differently from the menu just ask. We will probably be back in November for our next fix!

Room Tip: If you have a dog ask for Room 29 as it is the end of the row and if you want your dog to eat with y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank millbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Possibly the oddest management response to a wonderful review, but I was really interested to read that you like Ragdale. Since Shrublands closed I have been desperate to find somewhere else to go, so this sounds a possibility. But back to the Crown and Castle ..... thank you so much for finding us up to snuff and for posting such a lovely review. We are very grateful. We hope to welcome you and Zuri back later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The most thoughtfully run hotel we have ever stayed in. It's relaxed and fun, you feel instantly at home. The food is excellent and the service top notch. Honestly couldn't fault it and that level of excellence is only achieved by everyone involved working terribly hard, so thank you to all at the C&C!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
And thank you, too, for such a glowing review. We are all really touched by your praise and delighted you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you again at a future date. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We are just home having spent three perfect nights at The Crown and Castle. It really was a very special holiday. We had a ground floor room with a small 'sitting out' area and a fine view of the castle. Room very comfortable and all splendidly equipped. The staff, without exception, couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. It is trite to say that ' nothing was too much trouble', but that was the case. The food was quite outstanding and just what we needed. Thank you very much - we will certainly be back before too long,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrazzaSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your marvellous review of the C&C. We are really grateful and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. (I think the weather helps!) And, so good to hear you plan to return - that's the greatest accolade. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orford
4.7 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
5.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
5.2 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
21.2 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown & Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown & Castle

Property: The Crown & Castle
Address: Market Hill, Orford IP12 2LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Orford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown & Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Crown & Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown And Castle
The Crown & Castle Hotel Orford
Crown Castle Woodbridge
The Crown & Castle Orford, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing