We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Crown & Castle
Nearby Hotels
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wentworth Hotel(Aldeburgh)
$156
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa(Woodbridge)(Great Value!)
$95
$91
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seckford Hall(Woodbridge)
$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Orwell Hotel(Felixstowe)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (866)
Filter reviews
866 results
Traveler rating
691
125
30
13
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
691
125
30
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomorford nessruth watsonhotel inspectorwine liststeak and kidney piefresh milkcarpacciopotted shrimpsdog treatsoysterstrinity restaurantpre dinner drinksrestaurant with roomsbiscuitsmarmaladedog owners
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
583 - 588 of 866 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was our first venture away since becoming dog owners and we were a little apprehensive to say the least, but the welcome we received at The Crown and Castle was second to none. We have visited several times before and yet again we were not disappointed. As always, the staff were so welcoming and the service is always with a smile. It is so refreshing to be served by staff who are well trained and courteous. Nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable beds but not so overly fussy that we were on edge incase the dog's ever wagging tail sent an ornament flying! Doggie treats and doggie towels are provided which are very useful after a busy day at the beach (not to mention the lovely huge fluffy towels and Arran Aromatics toiletries for us too).
Delicious food, an excellent wine list and a delicious breakfast. Can't wait to return.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank HethEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Oh, we do love a waggy tail, preferably on a dog rather than a woman, because that would be weird. Thank you for staying with us and bringing Skye, too (what a poppet). Thank you, too, for posting this very kind review - we really appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

After visiting the Crown & Castle in Nov 2011 and having a fantastic weekend away, we decided to splash out and book ourselves into the suite for our mini-moon in January 2013. I am glad to be able to say that the Crown & Castle lived up to our memories and expectation. From the fuss free check-in, to the high standard of fittings in the suite, to the quality and presentation of the evening meal & breakfast in the Trinity Restaurant, all aspects of our stay were to an extremely high standard. The extra touch of a glass of champagne on our first night was particularly appreciated.
So our thanks to all at the Crown and Castle for making the start of our married life together so special.
Michelle & Tim

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMPuar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Michelle and Tim (thank you for signing off as yourselves!)
We are delighted that you enjoyed your second stay with us, and loved the suite, the food and the champagne. We hope you have a very happy and healthy life together, and that you will celebrate your anniversary at the C&C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Crown and Castle is one of those venues you can re visit without any drop in expectations.
We have spent Christmas there and been there on a number of occasions now over a good few years and have never had a bad experience. We visited again this week on a special deal and yet again enjoyed the break. The staff always make you feel welcome ( mostly the same for years) and there is no snobby atmosphere here even if you bump into the owner its all pleasantries. The place is always spotless and there is no skimping on the fittings and trimmings. There is an excellent selection of food which is varied each night and all under the watchful eye of Tim who "runs" the restaurant side. Dogs are made welcome and I appreciate everyone does not like dogs but it is controlled and the garden rooms always smell fresh and never of dogs. In all its a lovely place to take a break and I cannot fault the ambience and atmosphere of this delightful hotel/restaurant. Orford its self is nice and off the beaten track so for walking and resting its a job to beat

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackwatch21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

We are very grateful for this positive review. We don't always get it right, but we damned well try, and it is very invigorating to the spirit when guests such as yourselves notice the positives. Thank you too for the caveat about the dogs - we only let them inhabit a few of the Best Garden rooms, and those rooms get an even more intense scour than normal.Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to post this report.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This was our third visit to this great hotel,for dinner,Bed & Breakfast.As always the staff are most welcoming and attentive. Dinner was a delight with every mouthful to be savoured.My Duck breast was cooked to perfection,moist & tender & the flavour in the vegetables made it a dish to remember. Our room (we have always gone for the garden rooms) was clean & the bed was so comfortable that both my wife & I slept for about three hours longer than normal!

We shall return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Ah, we do love it when our guests love their bed and sleep better than usual. Actually, it is probably being on holiday and the fresh sea air, as much as anything - but Hypnos and Vi-spring won't be quibbling! Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had been meaning to visit Orford and the Crown and Castle for sometime.... firstly as I had never visited Suffolk and having become aware of the place through the Hotel Inspector from TV. I took advantage of an extremely good rate and stayed for two nights with dinner and breakfast included between Christmas and New Year.

Orford is a very pretty village with an impressive Castle, Church and is beautifully situated. The C&C did not let down and a very enjoyable and relaxing few days. The service levels are excellent, all staff friendly and very welcoming. The atmosphere is friendly and welcoming without being obsequious or intimidating.

The food is excellent, dinners on both evenings were excellent and very good, excellently priced wines on the menu. Similarly breakfast was excellent. All meals used local, top notch ingredients...the bread from the local bakery is outstanding... and the parting gift of a side of smoked salmon gratefully received and enjoyed.

All in all a superb few days and hopefully to be repeated before too long!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jcolesw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

How nice to have a report with a proper name and photo attached. (Come on Trip. - this is how it should always be!) Better still, what lovely words - thank you very much. We particularly like your recognition that good service does not have to be smarmy or officious. We are glad you enjoyed the food (including Pump Street's remarkably good bread and Pinney's superb smoked salmon) and hope you will come our way again. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews