We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Gorgeous”
Review of The Crown & Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown & Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orford
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely Gorgeous”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Spent a week in Orford and while staying we had dinner at the Crown and Castle, beautiful dinner, surroundings, excellent staff great wine, they also allow dogs which was great, lovely to sit in front of the open fires and enjoy a drink if you don't eat. Would definitely return and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodie1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your 'absolutely gorgeous' report - we are thrilled you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and that you plan both to return and recommend us. We appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    115
    29
    11
    5
See reviews for
64
604
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Witham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were hoping to pop in for a drink mid afternoon on Friday when we arrived in Orford (renting a barn conversion) but it was closed (at least the front door was locked). Anyway, we went back on Sunday around 2pm and sat in the bar area with our dog and had a nice bottle of red. There appeared to be a lot of diners coming out of the restaurant and there was a couple in the bar eating tapas. The staff were friendly and attentive. There was loads of them actually and obviously being the end of service the dishwasher was on every 5 minutes (can't be helped). Anyway, it was nice to spend some time back at the C&C. One day we will treat ourselves and stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stinker_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your report. We are indeed closed during the afternoon, because we have so little bar/public space and don't want to disappoint resident guests who might not be able to find a space to sit. No problem in the summer as we can make use of the terrace outside. But thank you for coming back the next day. Again, we are sorry that the glasswasher disturbed you but there is nowhere else to site it and, as you recognised, it was a particularly busy session being Sunday lunch. If you do decide to stay on a future occasion, please let Tim or Ruth know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Room, service, food all go beyond expected. We had the Dover sole which was exquisite and the breakfast in the morning was a real treat made with local produce. Really good attention to detail - it really is faultless - we'll definitely be returning. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We appreciate your taking the time to post this report, and thank you for all the compliments. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Spent three nights in November. Stayed in one of the garden rooms, which was very comfortable and quiet. However, what made our stay especially enjoyable was the food provided for my husband who likes to follow a gluten free diet. On the first night he ordered a fish dish not realising it was coated in breadcrumbs, the waiter returned to inform him of this and then went on to tell him how the chef would prepare it especially without the bread element. Then on our subsequent nights they provided an individual gluten free menu, and even made a fantastic flour less and very chocolatey cake. All the waiting staff remembered that he couldn't have gluten without any reminding. The regular food was pretty amazing too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your report and for flagging up that we do take care with dietary requirements (except life-threatening nut allergies: cannot take the responsibility, we regret). We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the food, gluten-free included. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay. The village is beautiful, and there are great walks along the river and in the countryside. The service is impeccable, the food is excellent, and the rooms are comfortable. And best of all, there is no background music. This makes a great base for exploring Suffolk but it's equally good for a quiet relaxing time. We plan to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Short but very sweet: thank you so much for this concise report and for your plans to return. We are also delighted you appreciate the beauty of Orford and its environs. All much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Our visit was for Sunday lunch and we were not disappointed. The food is amazing! We had the beef and the unusual Asian pork, a great twist on Sunday lunch. Great portion size and top quality produce. £25 for 2 courses is on the more expensive end but well worth the treat. Service was great and we spotted a polite note about bookings with children being limited
which is a sensible idea I had not seen before. It was just a shame one parent allowed their child to to spoil others enjoyment with continual crying. Would some low volume background music help the ambience or for staff to step in and help with some sort of suggestions sooner rather than later. The lounge area and cosy fire were welcome respite. Overall a great lunch with fantastic use of local produce.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank londonwilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you very much for posting this report. We are proud of our Sunday lunch and are very pleased you enjoyed it, especially the roast beef. We regret the noisy child but, unfortunately, we can't spank the naughty parents for allowing it to happen. It's a very delicate subject and difficult to manage, as we are sure you can understand. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back on a quieter occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2012

After travelling to Orford on and off for two decades we took the opportunity to celebrate our twenty year wedding anniversary here and were not disappointed. I don't like to use the word perfect too much but we found heaven here.
Being a cynic I always try to look past 5 star reviews and think that no matter how well somewhere is reviewed that there will be a fly in the ointment, this was not the case at the Crown and Castle and everything from the friendly but professional check-in to the beautiful room to the food was absolutely outstanding and first class. The staff are extremely helpful without that obsequiousness that you sometimes get when establishments try to hard, it was so easy to start relaxing and enjoying everything straight away. It has rather spoiled our view of other hotels as they simply don't come up to our stay here.
The view from our window over the Ness was stunning and the chance meeting with the lovely Ruth W when checking out put the icing on the cake of an exemplary experience. We shall be back regularly and in the meantime the fantastic memories of our stay will sustain us until our next visit.

Room Tip: That would be telling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farley18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Woooah, not sure about perfection – in fact very glad you caveated it with "as close to"! We are really delighted you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your satisfaction. (And RW was very pleased to meet you, and likes the idea of being the icing on the cake!) We look forward to your next visit and hope we come up to snuff again. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orford
5.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
652 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,000 reviews
5.2 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
8.1 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
13.3 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown & Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown & Castle

Property: The Crown & Castle
Address: Market Hill, Orford IP12 2LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Orford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown & Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Crown & Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown & Castle Hotel Orford
The Crown And Castle
Crown Castle Woodbridge
The Crown & Castle Orford, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing