We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, beautiful village” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown & Castle

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Crown & Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orford
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel, beautiful village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay. The village is beautiful, and there are great walks along the river and in the countryside. The service is impeccable, the food is excellent, and the rooms are comfortable. And best of all, there is no background music. This makes a great base for exploring Suffolk but it's equally good for a quiet relaxing time. We plan to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Short but very sweet: thank you so much for this concise report and for your plans to return. We are also delighted you appreciate the beauty of Orford and its environs. All much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    113
    29
    11
    3
See reviews for
61
589
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Our visit was for Sunday lunch and we were not disappointed. The food is amazing! We had the beef and the unusual Asian pork, a great twist on Sunday lunch. Great portion size and top quality produce. £25 for 2 courses is on the more expensive end but well worth the treat. Service was great and we spotted a polite note about bookings with children being limited
which is a sensible idea I had not seen before. It was just a shame one parent allowed their child to to spoil others enjoyment with continual crying. Would some low volume background music help the ambience or for staff to step in and help with some sort of suggestions sooner rather than later. The lounge area and cosy fire were welcome respite. Overall a great lunch with fantastic use of local produce.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank londonwilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you very much for posting this report. We are proud of our Sunday lunch and are very pleased you enjoyed it, especially the roast beef. We regret the noisy child but, unfortunately, we can't spank the naughty parents for allowing it to happen. It's a very delicate subject and difficult to manage, as we are sure you can understand. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back on a quieter occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

After travelling to Orford on and off for two decades we took the opportunity to celebrate our twenty year wedding anniversary here and were not disappointed. I don't like to use the word perfect too much but we found heaven here.
Being a cynic I always try to look past 5 star reviews and think that no matter how well somewhere is reviewed that there will be a fly in the ointment, this was not the case at the Crown and Castle and everything from the friendly but professional check-in to the beautiful room to the food was absolutely outstanding and first class. The staff are extremely helpful without that obsequiousness that you sometimes get when establishments try to hard, it was so easy to start relaxing and enjoying everything straight away. It has rather spoiled our view of other hotels as they simply don't come up to our stay here.
The view from our window over the Ness was stunning and the chance meeting with the lovely Ruth W when checking out put the icing on the cake of an exemplary experience. We shall be back regularly and in the meantime the fantastic memories of our stay will sustain us until our next visit.

Room Tip: That would be telling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farley18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Woooah, not sure about perfection – in fact very glad you caveated it with "as close to"! We are really delighted you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your satisfaction. (And RW was very pleased to meet you, and likes the idea of being the icing on the cake!) We look forward to your next visit and hope we come up to snuff again. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, Essex, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We returned to the Crown and Castle for a weekend break - our fifth stay there - and, once again, had the most fantastic, relaxing and enjoyable stay. Similar to other reviewers, C&C is less than one and a half hour's drive away from home, yet a two night break feels as if we have been away much longer and farther. We always come away fully refreshed, relaxed and full!

The staff make the stay so special - and they have all been there every time we have, which makes it feel so much like 'coming home'. The food, drink, rooms (we treated ourselves to the suite, which is truly fantatstic), Orford, the sea wall....well, everything is perfect.

We will make the C&C an annual pilgrimage; can't think of anything better.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the suite three times and a 'best' room twice. They are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilandLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your report, and for staying with us on so many occasions. (We notice more and more guests coming from fairly nearby – a change is as good as a rest, especially if it means avoiding the M25 on a Friday night.) We are really grateful for everything you said, and for enjoying yourselves. It makes all of our work so much nicer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Arrived here to be immediately offered a table for lunch in a very pleasant dining area.
Staff are friendly and welcoming.
Service excellent, and efficient.
Food delicious.
A great dining experience.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank StephR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We are very pleased you enjoyed your lunch and had good service. Thank you for your report, and for recommending us. It is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Crown and Castle. Our room was beautiful with views of the estuary and a wonderful bathroom. The staff were friendly, helpful and considerate, being attentive without being intrusive. The food was fantastic, superb oysters! A perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryB829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We apologise for taking so long to reply but, nevertheless, thank you so much for a lovely report. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here for 2 night's R and R. Very friendly and welcoming reception. We were early, but the room was ready. The room was in the main house and comfortable with good amenities.
The dinners were excellent, service immaculate and unobtrusive. Good selection of sherries - don't see that very often! Well kept cheeses which is also rare. Breakfast was also a feast (if you could manage it after dinner the night before!).
All in all a place to be recommended. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GerryMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orford
4.7 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
5.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
5.2 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
21.2 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown & Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown & Castle

Property: The Crown & Castle
Address: Market Hill, Orford IP12 2LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Orford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown & Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Crown & Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown And Castle
The Crown & Castle Hotel Orford
Crown Castle Woodbridge
The Crown & Castle Orford, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing