We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a light snack” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pump Street Bakery

Pump Street Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Orford
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great place for a light snack”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We visited on a rathe refreshing June day, no sun and a rather fresh wind. The bakery was the perfect place to pop into and warm up. There is a nice menu on a blackboard at the end of the eating room which consists of a long table to be shared with whoever happens to be around and becomes your fellow diners. This rather casual style is perfect for the informal atmosphere and style of food on offer. All the food is nicely presented visually and in terms of service its a good 30 minute stop off type of location.

We all enjoyed it and warmed up ready to set off and explore the village further.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    50
    15
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Can't fault this place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I read the low scored reviews on here and cannot believe what they say. I know its expensive, but if you want quality you have to pay a little more, if you want cheap there's a mini supermarket next door, you can buy your processed white from there. Aloof staff, do me a favour, they are some of the friendliest, nicest people you would wish to meet, who will happily spend time to talk through the different bread and cakes. We only ate once in the cafe and I must admit the menu is limited, but we were not disappointed in the food. But the sour dough is to die for and the croissant in the morning with their coffee is unbeatable. Oh! and the Eccles Cakes made from fruit soaked in brandy, and the..........

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Wonderful bread!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have not been to the Pump Street Bakery but I sometimes buy their bread from Cedric, the Citroen van, in Ipswich Market every Thursday.

What can I say? Superb! There is another good bread stall on Fridays and Saturdays with a slightly wider range, but I feel that Pump Street has the edge.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Baptist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bread heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I regularly buy from the bakery's travelling shop - Cedric the Citroen - but had not eaten at the café. I had lunch last Saturday - a busy day - one of the first to be warm and sunny. The soup was delicious and served with two generous slices of my favourite bread, called Richmond. My experience of the service was totally at odds with some of the reviews here. Sitting alone, a member of staff asked if she might join me and we spent a very pleasant few minutes in conversation.
Perhaps the staff respond to the way they are treated by particular customers? - rather like the rest of us....
My experience was only spoiled by the presence of two uncontrolled young children - hardly the fault of the bakery!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffolkTabTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“quirky and cosy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

travelled to orford today to visit this highky regarded cafe and bakery. We were not disappointed. The food was simple but of high quality. I had beetreet slaw with smoked trout and my sister had eccles cake with lancashire cheese. Beautifully presented.My only criticism would be that the portions were rather small for the price. Bread excellent with wide variety. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sueandbleddyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pump Street Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Pump Street Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing