We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday trip”

Lady Florence River Cruise Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 9 Restaurants in Orford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Lady Florence River Cruise Restaurant provides a unique and exciting dining experience offering 2½ Brunch (Breakfast) and 3½ hour A la Carte Lunch or Dinner Cruises. Serving freshly prepared on board wholesome food and drinks. Leaving from Orford Quay cruising the calm waters of the Alde and Ore. Taking up to 12 passengers on this historic 50 foot MFV built in 1944 with ample space on deck and in the wheelhouse and a comfortable dining saloon. Every cruise includes an informative commentary on both the intriguing history that made this area, and the wildlife which now inhabits it.Your meal is freshly prepared on board while you cruise using local produce.The Lady Florence is available for private charter, or individuals may book independently, sharing with other passengers,Lady Florence operates all year round, including Christmas Day, with a cosy coal fire in winter. There is a small but comprehensive wine list.Daily Cruises9.30am - 11.45am (Breakfast) Brunch 12 noon - 3.30pm a la carte LUNCH4pm - 7.30pm a la carte DINNER
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Birthday trip”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had a great day on board today! There were ten passengers on board and three of us had birthdays! We had lovely weather and the crew were exceptionally friendly and professional. The sun shone and we spent most of the trip on deck. Food was good, considering it was cooked in a confined space it was excellent. There was plenty to eat and a good choice. It was hot and the service was terrific. We met some great people and would certainly recommend this as a day out for a birthday treat or just a lovely way to spend a Saturday or Sunday in December! Thank you to all the crew! We will return perhaps in the summer.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good all round experience ... but it was cold”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This was a Xmas lunch and although the weather was fine it was cold and we were glad of the cabin and the hot food.

The sailing experience was first class and the captain/commentator was excellent. There was lots to see although you needed to be pretty sharp to see some of the birds.

Lunch was good, neither average nor very good but somewhere in between. We ordered before we left to make sure no-one would be disappointed and we enjoyed a mux of good wholesome hot and cold dishes which didn't take too much actual cooking on board. Not exactly MasterChef. There was a good wine list and mulled wine to keep us warm before hand. Service was prompt and efficient.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Golden Wedding”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We took our family including Grandchildren of 8yrs, 6yrs. and 8 months on the Lunch time cruise to celebrate our Golden Wedding. The sun shone and we came back to the Quay to a beautiful sunset.
The staff of the Lady Florence were very friendly and looked after us well. How two of them manage to prepare, cook, & serve 12 excellent meals in a tiny Galley I don't know,but they do and with a smile.
Nothing was to much trouble. As the choice of puddings were not suitable for the children, and they do not carry Ice cream. there was no problem with us taking our own dessert for them. The trip on the river is so tranquil and calm with wonderful views, An experience that we would very much like to repeat again in the future

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1 Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Failed to meet expectations”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Booked on the strength of previous reviews the trip promised great food and a unique experience. Sadly at £76 for 2 persons the food proved to be canteen basic and very ordinary. Overall quality of experience was mediocre and failed to meet its potential by a long way. Should have taken a separate river cruise and spent the money on a decent restaurant meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Such a disappointment as it was not operating”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were really looking forward to this as no other cruises were available in October and website said this was a year round activity....BUT turned out the boat was out of water for two weeks....why not say so on website....they helpfully suggest returning ...well not as it cost us £600 to rent a nice apartment for a week in Aldeburg to do it.

Visited October 2013
Thank DigitalDude2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig A, Owner at Lady Florence River Cruise Restaurant, responded to this review, October 12, 2013

It is a legal requirement that the boat be inspected out of the water annually. She is normally out for between a week and twelve days.

Because there is no facility to lift a boat of this size on the Rivers Alde and Ore, we have to take to out to sea to Woodbridge on the River Deben.

The timing of this is dependent on two factors, namely the tides and the weather. The tides are reasonably predictable, the weather very much less so. There are usually three consecutive days when the tide is suitable, and we always hope that the weather will be suitable on one of those days. If not, the whole exercise has to move by about two weeks for the next suitable spring tides.

Your point about including the possible dates on the website is a very good one, and we will do that in 2014.

We had a similar occurrence in July 1998, when a couple saw us on television in February and booked a week’s holiday in Orford on the strength of a Lady Florence cruise. When they arrived in July, all three cruises per day were fully booked for three weeks in advance. They were, in fact, lucky, as we had a cancellation for two on their last evening.

Our advice is to book the Lady Florence at the same time as one books accommodation.

With the launch of our Allen Gardiner boat in Ipswich in November, this will in future ensure that an alternative will in future be available.

We hope you will be back next year and do the two cruises in your week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lady Florence River Cruise Restaurant also viewed


Been to Lady Florence River Cruise Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing