We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lunch & Dog Friendly”
Review of The Jolly Sailor

The Jolly Sailor
Ranked #4 of 9 Restaurants in Orford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Manningtree, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch & Dog Friendly”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a very nice family lunch here (sheltering from the summer showers!) and they gave our two little doggies a treat too! Cosy and friendly; a great way to spend a Sunday lunchtime.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ckgdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    97
    34
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Level Contributor
159 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“busy bank holiday”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

a very busy may bank holiday, staff were flat out, pub was very crowded, food is over priced for what you get
two eggs, two thin slices of ham and a few chips £10 not very good value
overall this is aimed at the tourist market and we felt prices reflected the limited choice in orford

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john-suffolk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best value in Orford”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed in Orford for a week last September, we arrived late Saturday evening. We chose the Jolly Sailor because it was the nearest to the cottage we rented. We were not disappointed, in fact we ate there every night. Friendly staff, who did their utmost to accommodate even when you had not booked and the place was packed. Good food and very good value for money, good interesting wine and beer selection. We are going again to Orford this summer and the Jolly Sailor will be visited again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You will not be disappointed”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Have been meaning to go here for ages. Lovely warm greeting on arrival followed by the best pint of Adnams Broadside I have had in years! The decor of the pub is lovely and old fashioned with lots of interesting bric a brac, the menu is simple and well thought out with lots of tempting dishes which made chosing difficult. I had scallops with parma ham and a parmason cheese and green leaf salad, whilst Siggi had roast cod loin on a bed of asparagus and creamy mash with a shrimp gravy. Katie had the Cromer crab with salad and a beautiful lemon and horseradish mayo - all of the dishes were beautifully presented and were devine...we'll be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdrianBatstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very well looked after”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Turned up on a random Monday with her in doors and the two greyhounds , very good service right from the word go , the land Lady was very sweet and made sure the dogs had water and even gave them treats , then it was our turn to be fed and watered and we were not disappointed , great fish and chips and super real ales , although the food is decently priced the drinks are a little on the steep side , however I always say if you get service and quality it's worth the money . We sat out in thier huge garden for which was perfect for the dogs , highly recommend this place and would go back again .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mattfozz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jolly Sailor also viewed

 

Been to The Jolly Sailor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing