We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect seaside break”
other travelers have booked this property
Overview of Ferry Cottage from Quay Street
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Overview of Ferry Cottage from Quay Street
Conservatory view from outside Front door of Ferry Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Overview of Ferry Cottage from Quay Street
Conservatory view from outside
Front door of Ferry Cottage
View of the garden from upstairs double bedroom
View of the garden, plenty of room for entertaining and the children to exercise
Big enough for the children to play football / volleyball / badminton or sunbathe.
View of sitting room, entrance hall and open fire
Conservatory, perfect for entertaining, a place for the children to relax or just to soak up the sun
Comfortable chairs in conservatory
Two comfortable single beds.
Dining room, extra chairs are provided for a full house.
Double bedroom with lovely views.
Guests bedroom with three comfortable single beds
Another view of dining room
Further view showing the natural light this room enjoys.
Kitchen features cooker plus large American style fridge.
Another view of the well equipped kitchen.
Comfortable chairs are a feature of the sitting room with open fire..
modern bathroom with shower and loo
Another view of modern bathroom upstairs.
Just across the road, one of the UK's premier smokehouse shops
On of the delights of any trip to Orford.
Apart from crabbing, fishing and watersports, the Quay is a great place to take in sunrises/sets
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Orford, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
southfiel...
Southfields
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect seaside break”
Reviewed November 19, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had the most magical stay at Ferry Cottage in Orford in August. The house is gorgeous and fitted our family of 5 plus my in-laws perfectly. The cottage has everything you need for a good holiday - it is very comfortable but also has a relaxed atmosphere. With a lovely sitting room and a conservatory there was room for us all to enjoy time together but also gave my parents in-law somewhere to escape when they needed some space. We also really appreciated the pretty garden.

But, by far the best thing about Ferry Cottage is it’s fantastic location!! It is literally opposite the Quay, so beautiful walks along the sea, crabbing, and delicious lunches out were all so easy!! Orford is a very pretty and unspoilt seaside town and we enjoyed the local pub The Jolly very much; it is also steeped in history and a trip to the remenants of the castle is a must. It’s not far too from Aldeburgh and other famous Suffolk towns. A wonderful place with so much to do. We are already booking for next year!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2017
Thank you xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vbarryscd
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed November 19, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This lovely cottage was in the perfect location for our summer break. It is so close to the river and all the amenities this pretty village has to offer. The cottage is very well appointed and has everything you need. The garden is absolutely gorgeous and we liked the conservatory very much too. We will definitely be coming again and we highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2017
thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex B
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing cottage by the river”
Reviewed November 19, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a magical week with our kids at this riverside idyll. It is brilliantly located by the river and a few yards from a charming pub. The hosts were really knowledgable and charming to deal with. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2017
thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCmom2
Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Could not have been better”
Reviewed November 19, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a super week at Ferry Cottage. A very comfortable house with everything we needed for a family of four. There is ample parking, comfy beds, clean bathrooms, lovely kitchen and enough space for a winter or summer holiday there. We liked that we could eat in the garden, kitchen, dining room or conservatory. The location is amazing - so close to the quay for family-friendly crabbing, the café for delicious hot chocolates and the Jolly Sailor pub for Adnams beer and supper. Only a short walk up to the main square for restaurants, shops and pubs and of course, the castle. We had gorgeous walks along the sea wall and day trips to Southwold, Woodbridge and Framlingham. We are planning to revisit - we had such a happy time there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2017
thank you so much
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliciaTG1...
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“Idyllic English Cottage”
Reviewed November 19, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Orford couldnt be more different than where I live in Singapore and I found the most Idyllic English Cottage to stay in. I was a minutes walk from the Quay and I went every morning to see the sunset with all the boats and beautiful views. I had the most wonderful week here, walking, eating at the Crown Inn, buying a lobster at the market, and having a pint of Adnams at the Jolly Sailor like English people do. The house was perfect, comfortable, well equiped kitchen, lots of space and fantastic internet for skype calls back home. My family and I wished we could spend another week as our time flew by.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2017
thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continent...
Umbria
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing break”
Reviewed November 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our time at Ferry Cottage. We had a bbq in the garden every evening apart from the one night we wandered across to the Jolly Sailor. We went crabbing off the quay every morning, fed the ducks in the nearby duckpond and enjoyed long walks. Having Pinneys across the road meant we could pop across for fresh fish, smoked oysters, dips and the children visited the Riverside tea rooms everyday for a hot chocolate. It was the perfect family holiday and this house fitted our purposes perfectly. The internet was super quick, the beds were comfortable, the atmosphere is relaxed and the position to die for. We will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2017
thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alessandr...
Perugia, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 22, 2017
grazie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing