We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Fish”

Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Orford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $44
Cuisines: Italian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Trinity is the stand-alone restaurant for the Crown and Castle. It has a lively atmosphere and the tables are close together (be aware), with one special doggie table (30) in the bar area that definitely needs to be booked, although - please note - we only take reservations generally for Sunday lunch and dinner. Our Monday-Saturday Smart Pub Lunch offers an affordable and approachable choice of British and Italian dishes. Children of all ages are welcome. In the evening our a la carte is a little more sophisticated, but not tricksy. As we believe the evening is for adult enjoyment, we do not allow children under 8 years old, and there is no children's menu. Having said that, we are ALWAYS happy to serve menu ingredients more simply, both to adults and children. Sample menus may be viewed on our website.
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Fish”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Dog friendly hotel just by the Castle in Orford. Splendid location, furnishings, Murano glass lampshades and other unique touches make this place worth a visit and the food is great as well. Menus change but with a good range that should suit all tastes. The wine list is a good one and the prices very good for the quality. Splendid and friendly service from knowledgable people who know to let you get on with your meal but are there if you need them.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankGWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
We are really pleased you enjoyed your dinner in the Trinity, especially the wine list and service. We hope that next time you are in Orford you will stay with us because, as you know, we do welcome dogs in our garden rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    50
    26
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Medioca Sunday lunch”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were very much looking forward to Sunday lunch at the C&C having dined here previously (during mid week) and experienced great food and service. We felt a bit let down today, however. Portions weren't particularly generous and most disappointing was what seemed to be roast potatoes and Yorkshire pud of the frozen 'Aunt Bessie' variety - dry and flavourless. Given that they were serving a traditional roast we'd expected the menu would include some traditional pudding but alas nothing of the sort. When you are paying £28 for a two course meal you want something a little above regular pub grub but I'm afraid we were stung on cost because this meal simply wasn't up to par. A good selection of wines though and the staff are exceptional.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexMore_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
We are, of course, sorry that you did not enjoy your lunch. We are equally sorry that you did not mention anything at the time so we could have done something about it. But I can assure you that everything in our kitchen is home-made and cooked to order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“sunday evening dinner”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

What a disappointment! With all the excellent reviews were expecting something special, we started having doubts when handed the menu - it was very muddled, there didn't seem to be a general theme with some of the items being decidedly odd. There was no dietary advise and had to ask the waiter if items were gluten free. We made our choice - roast lamb for myself and steak for my husband, we decided not to have starter as there really wasn't anything that appealed. When the food arrived at our table I couldn't believe the portion I was served - I thought Nouveau cuisine was a thing of the past - a small portion of French beans and 1 runner bean (very stringy and inedible) 4 small cubes of roast potato with the lamb on top - at £19.50 it was a rip off. The steak didn't fare much better it was tough and gristly he'd had much better for half the cost. At no point were we asked if we were enjoying our meal. I decided against better judgement to have a desert as I was still starving after my meagre portion - again the choice was limited but ok. We left quickly after this very dissatisfied with our evening and definitely won't be going back.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your report and, of course, we are very sorry you did not enjoy your evening. I am sorry too that you did not like the menu which offers either British dishes (around the sides) or italian dishes (clearly labelled as so).

I think though, it's fair to say that apart from chain restaurants where the menus do not change, it is really unusual for menus to specify whether dishes are gluten-free or not. Our menu changes daily and what normally happens is that guests advise us in advance of any special dietary needs. We are more than delighted to talk them through the 'normal' menu, make different suggestions, or even create a special menu if the needs are extreme.

I am not going to defend every single point you make but I will say one thing: I have just finished filming a new series for C4 where business owners and online reviewers meet to discuss various issues that have occurred, good and bad. The one single thing that every single business owner despairs of is guests who do not say anything at the time, eat every scrap on the plate, and then go online to complain. Had you voiced any of the issues raised in your review we would have been more than pleased to offer replacement dishes, or refunds, or whatever would have made you feel happier. As it is, no one gains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food, Excellent Service”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Called in for lunch and would highly recommend. The food was delicious in a really relaxed atmosphere. The service was excellent and all staff we encountered seemed genuinely interested in customer care. A lovely friendly feeling about the hotel and would love to go back and stay. It wasn't the cheapest place for lunch but wouldn't hesitate to recommend if you would like something a little special!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arlsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
As I said in another response, I am afraid our site suffered some IT breakdown which prevented management responses showing. But thank you so much for the very nice report about the quality of our food and service. We really appreciate it, and hope to welcome you back on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Scrummy food & top service”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our cousins had flown over from America and we met up with them at the Crown & Castle for supper. We had our own little dining room which was lovely (and probably just as well for everyone else as we were a little noisy!). From the moment we walked in everyone was polite and friendly. Drinks arrived quickly, the staff were very knowledgeable about the menu, were extremely accommodating about altering dishes to suit us and making something different for the children. All seven of us thoroughly enjoyed every single course. The waiters we had were nice & cheerful and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you for a lovely evening; we'll definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you so much for this lovely report. However, I have asked TripAdvisor to move it over to our restaurant site, The Trinity, as you didn't stay with us. Hopefully you will next time! But, thank you so much - we really appreciate the nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing