We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Food in the Most Beautiful Surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballingarry
Certificate of Excellence
Reston, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Best Food in the Most Beautiful Surroundings”
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Stayed at Echo Lodge in June with my girlfriend, and were wowed by the wonderful accomodations and food. This is a beautiful country house with lovely gardens and loads of charm. We felt like we were staying in an Agatha Christie novel. The staff couldn't be more friendly, and the cat (Miss Tansey) provides wonderful company for tea in the library. Breakfast is spectacular, and the dinner was among our favorites during a three week trip across Europe (or ever)! Although the price fixed dinner is a bit expensive (and well worth it), you can order items a la carte. The rooms are very spacious and luxurious. This is truly a country house, and very different than a regular B&B. Make sure to take a walk through the expansive kitchen garden! This is a nice retreat if you're looking for a quiet break, as there's not much to do around Adare, though Limerick is a short drive away.

  • Liked — Food & Decor
  • Disliked — Drive to get there
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    34
    20
    7
    1
See reviews for
61
188
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2007

Echo Lodge and the Mustard Seed restaurant is in the small village of Ballingarry about 6 miles south of Adare and 25 miles south of Limerick. The old converted convent has about 20 large bedrooms, each unique and full of antiques. Despite the age of the building the house is spotless, warm and full of character. The food is really good and most importantly of all the staff are friendly, interesting and helpful.

The owner, Dan Mullane is a well known and nationally famous chef who takes pride not only in his food but in the whole business of ensuring his guests have a wonderful stay.

Echo lodge is a bit off the beaten track but you will be well rewarded by taking the slight diversion to Ballingarry.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank Sorely_idle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2007

This hotel is beyond charming. Beautiful buildings, gorgeous grounds, and the air of a real Irish estate. Dan, the proprietor, could not have been more delightful and helpful. His years as an award-winning restauranteur was made evident in the care he took in getting us settled and seeing to our every need.

Our suite had a downstairs sitting room with fireplace and kitchen, with two beautifully decorated bedrooms upstairs. Perfect for a family with two teen-aged children.

The restaurant was first class; we ate dinner there twice and had excellent meals both times. Local ingredients are key to the food prep, much of it grown in their own garden. The breakfast was not your usual "full Irish breakfast" but featured such homey touches as home-grown stewed rhubarb, freshly-baked scones and hand made poached eggs.

The tiny town of Ballingarry was an excellent base to explore Adare and the surrounding countryside. We had the misfortune to have an accident with our rental car, and the staff at the Mustard Seed were extremely helpful, sending faxes and taking phone calls as we sorted out the details.

We can heartily recommend The Mustard Seed -- those who have given it less-than-sterling ratings on this website surely must have caught them on a very off day, or stayed somewhere else. Our experience was outstanding.

  • Liked — Overall atmosphere -- absolutely charming.
  • Disliked — Not set up well for internet use, but who cared. We weren't there to work.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kurtz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

The Mustard Seed Inn at Echo Lodge was our final stop before heading back home and it was the perfect way to end our vacation in Ireland. The Inn is located in the quaint village of Ballingarry, which is just a short drive to Adare.

Dan (owner) is a very friendly and accommodating host. We also found the staff to be the same.

Our room was nicely furnished and comfortable.

Dinner was superb. One of their dessert choices was freshly harvested black currants (from their own organic garden) in crème brulee, ice cream and as a sauce on chocolate cake. Delicious!

We would absolutely recommend the Mustard Seed Inn to any of our family and friends and hope to return some day.

  • Liked — Service and food
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank plannedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2007

What is everyone carrying on over? This place was a noisy overpriced dump with an extremely rude staff. It took us almost 30 minutes to get anyone's attention to check us in. We had to go into the kitchen to find someone and then one of the cook's snarled at us. But, truly, beware the noise! You can hear every word, whisper, and footstep. We were awakened in the middle of the night by some druken guest saying good night to the owner downstairs. The walls were so thin, it could have been happening in our room. Stay somewhere else!

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing
  • Disliked — Paper thin walls allowed every small and large noise to come through
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BrynMawrPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, IL
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2007

We had the pleasure of staying the first two nights of our holiday at Echo Lodge. It was an easy drive from Shannon airport. Our large room was in the front of the house, so beautifully decorated with antiques. Our bedding was extremely comfortable, and the house was very quiet at night for sleeping. The house is very well kept up and clean. The grounds are lovely, we enjoyed walking through the gardens and viewing the herbs and vegetable garden and the chicken coop. The meals were unbeatable, very creative and delicious, we enjoyed dinner both nights. The menu was the same for both nights. Breakfast was bountiful and fresh. We enjoyed sitting by the fire at night before going into the dining room for our dinner. The hosts are very cordial and helpful. Location is good for touring Dingle, or playing golf in Adare, but otherwise it is somewhat remote for day trips. There are many groups of tourists and some locals that come in from other locations for dinner, as the Mustard Seed is known for its great dining, so some of the intimacy of a traditional manor house is lost on that point.

  • Liked — Elegant rooms and environment
  • Disliked — small children crying at breakfast
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2007

During a trip to Ireland in the summer of 2006, my (now) wife and I had the pleasure of staying at The Mustard Seed Inn at Echo Lodge. It was a top notch experience on every level.

After a long and rainy drive, we arrived to a beautiful mansion type house, with a sprawling green lawn and its own garden which we walked through to unwind. The Inn is not in a touristy area and is essentially the only thing around. A nearby town is also very picturesque and is called Adare.

The Inn owner, Daniel, greeted us warmly and was quick to offer some nice wine while we checked it. The Inn is very comfortable and at the same time, very ornately decorated with furnishings and art from all over the world. Our room was very pretty, clean and overlooked the garden. Breakfast was great and dinner was probably the best meal we had on the whole trip. Granted, Ireland is not known for it's cuisine but the food at the Mustard Seed is excellent.

All in all, we are very glad we went a little out of the way to spend time here. If you fly into Shannon airport, it is not too far actually.

  • Liked — off the beaten path location and the Irish appeal
  • Disliked — ?
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank nycastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballingarry
16.1 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
7.1 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
7.4 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,285 reviews
16.9 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,931 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge

Property: The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge
Address: Ballingarry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Ballingarry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballingarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Co. Limerick countryside is The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge, a converted 19th century convent. The celebrated and comfortable Echo Lodge is set amid mature trees, herbaceous borders, orchard and kitchen garden. Home to The Mustard Seed restaurant, the busy, buzzy dining room has long been highly acclaimed, attracting lovers of good food and fine wine from around the globe. The Mustard Seed is an oasis of understated luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mustard Seed At Echo Hotel Adare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing