We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taste paradise but overall underwhelmed..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballingarry
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Taste paradise but overall underwhelmed..”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

If you desire the overall so called Country House experience, then you may be pleased. However, even though the food experience was superb, compliments to the Chief, the accommodation was lacking in the little details

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    32
    20
    7
    1
See reviews for
59
184
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I recently celebrated our wedding at the Mustard Seed. It was spectacular - perfect in every way, the food, the setting, the service and the relaxed atmosphere. John and Dan are consumate professionals and warm , welcoming hosts - I can't recommend the place highly enough

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roisinc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We arrived at Echo Lodge in pouring rain and were ushered in by the owner Dan and his friend John to the comfortable sitting room with a blazing fire roaring in the grate. Home made biscuits and tea were promptly provided as we sat on huge comfortable sofas relaxing after our journey. Our room (Room 1) had high ceilings, large mirrors and antiques and a beautiful view of the stunning garden. The bathroom was perhaps a little dated but very adequate. We explored the kitchen garden before our excellent 3 course meal (42 euros) which we had in the pretty blue dining room.
Echo Lodge is a relaxing comfortable restaurant with rooms. Dan and John are excellent hosts - full of warmth and Irish charm. It's a great place to stay. The breakfast which is made to order certainly sets you up for the day.

Room Tip: Our room, Room 1, was at the front of the building and had a good view of the garden. Despite being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlstroemeriaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Off the beaten track, that's for sure -- but hardly a secret. The food as descibribed by others is excellent and interesting -- the assortment of lamb parts include heart and kidney. The hotel itself looks like an old manor house with antiques galore (the TV being one of them, but then who watches TV at Echo?). It's a splurge so think twice if you are looking for value. Our host, Dan, couldn't have been friendlier. We walked into town (about a few hundred yards away), and ventured into a local pub (Bennetts, I think), cause I missed my Guinness. There's a castle ruin just around the corner if you like ruins. We were there in foul weather; must be great in the sun.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edgar m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We did not stay at this hotel but my husband and I visited The Mustard Seed for dinner. We were a bit early (6:30pm) and had the entire restaurant to ourselves for about an hour. Of course, service was excellent as we were the only ones there! But even once other patrons arrived, the level of service remained high. We ordered the four course dinner and had a full and unique selection. The food was outstanding. The menu has changed since we were there, but I can't imagine that things would change! The owner, Dan, was wonderful and took personal interest in our culinary delight and satisfaction. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne1425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alltech@elivefree.net
Level Contributor
193 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

if you want to get away from the stresses and strains of every day living and forget about the humdrum for a while, this is the place to go. it is definitely a fine dining experience in a beautiful relaxed atmosphere. The food is wonderful, although according to my husband it is not michelin starred but michelin starred prices, however i went with friends and we all really enjoyed the experience from cocktails in their intimate lounge area, to the food in the dining room and then more drinks afterward in their reception area, the whole evening was unforgettable and the maitre'd - owner was very charming and accommodating. Worth the trip and the price for a special occassion.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iseult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights over the Easter weekend. The food in the restaurant- both for breakfast and in the evening- is exquisite; the decor, an amazing kaleidoscope of country manor meets South East Asia is truly unique; the hotel is comfortable, especially when sitting by the fire sipping wine or coffee; and best of all, the hospitality of Dan, John and all of the staff is second to none. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballingarry
16.1 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
7.4 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
7.1 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.7 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
16.9 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
43.5 mi away
Hayfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge

Property: The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge
Address: Ballingarry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Ballingarry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballingarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Co. Limerick countryside is The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge, a converted 19th century convent. The celebrated and comfortable Echo Lodge is set amid mature trees, herbaceous borders, orchard and kitchen garden. Home to The Mustard Seed restaurant, the busy, buzzy dining room has long been highly acclaimed, attracting lovers of good food and fine wine from around the globe. The Mustard Seed is an oasis of understated luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mustard Seed At Echo Hotel Adare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing