We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly good value pub”
Review of Penscot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Penscot Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shipham
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly good value pub”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stopped for a weekend waklking trip. Staff and owners could not have been more friendly and accommodating. Made our stay really enjoyable. Real ale was top notch (only two on offer but we knew this before we went) and 5 of us ate a good selection of meals and they were all very good and reasonably priced with lots of local ingredients.

Twin room was clean, warm and everything worked well (no bath). Nice and quiet too. Agree with comments re the outside but clearyl is a work in progress and on the way back. Lots of car parking.

Would definitely stay again. Nearly forgot - very well cooked and speedy breakfast with a good range (could do with more fruit on offer).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank al p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    32
    13
    6
    7
See reviews for
17
45
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

A great family run hotel. Every few years this little gem passes through new hands. It is always good. I have stayed here over the last 20 years. The Hotel sits with a little green above it and a Church to one side. A short walk away is the Newsagent, so popout and buy a paper .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My son and I stopped off at Penscot Inn about ten days ago.We were camping nearby and wanted an evening meal which was better than pub grub.The decor of the pub did not look promising but we are really glad we checked out the menu and ordered. Our meals were cooked to a high standard and were delicious , I couldn't understand why the place was not full as it was a Saturday night. The staff were helpful and friendly.If we are in the area again we shall certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The appearance outside is appalling, dirty paint work and flacking windows, the carpets are thread bare in places and the décor tired but the room was spotlessly clean, the food excellent and the staff excellent friendly and helpful. Although I can’t say it’s a great hotel, I‘ve stayed in a lot worst!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stopped by for lunch. We received a warm welcome from the friendly barmaid - i had a house white - a choice between pinot grigo and sauvignon blanc i choose the s/b which was crisp and fragrant - just right for a hot summers day. My husband had a thatchers (bottle) - there were a few different Thatchers available.
We were boring and had the scampi but it was the best scampi i have ever had with perfectly cooked chips. Vegis are catered for. There was a a courtyard garden - but we couldn't eat there as it was too hot !!!(yes i am writing about a place in England)
We enjoyed our lunch very much - and i would imagine it would be a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themarlboroughfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Penscot in was a stop-over destination for us between Oxford and Cornwall. If we knew how pleasant it would be, we would've stayed another night!

Booking was easy, and contacting the staff regarding a cot for our 18month-old was simple, too. Upon arrival we were quickly shown our room, which was quite large and had a spacious wardrobe and bathroom, flatscreen TV, and desk. Even with a baby cot in the room, we had a large amount of space to move around.

We chose to stay there for dinner, and sat down in the pub for our food. The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming of our toddler. She spent a lot of time 'flirting' with the bartender, and he didn't blow her off but came out to chat and play with her a bit. The food was tasty (although my burger bun suffered from being a bit too crumbly, something I've found is the norm in most English pubs). To my wife's pleasure, the bar staff was also very knowledgeable about Thatchers Cider, which is made nearby!

A free breakfast was built into the costs, and it was what you'd expect in an English B&B breakfast: bacon, sausages, eggs, toast. While nothing special, it wasn't bad, either. Just what we needed to fuel us for a drive into Cornwall.

If passing by again, we would definitely go out of our way to stay at the Penscot Inn again. Just be sure to duck when going into your room, as the doors are very, VERY short! :)

Room Tip: Since it is a former farmhouse, the rooms are likely varied in size and shape. If you have a family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewhitedrewcarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

After hours of surfing the internet trying to find availability at a B&B in Weston Super Mare for a 1 night's stay but to no avail, I stumbled on the Penscot Inn and what a lucky find, Somerset's hideaway. I had booked via a third party and our booking had not been processed but my husband spoke to the owner of the Penscot Inn and he very kindly kept the only room they had left for us. The double room with ensuite was lovely and cosy and we had a scrumptious evening meal. My husband had a rump steak and he commented it was much better and tastier than some sirloin steaks he'd had in the past. Breakfast was good too a full English which was well cooked, plentiful and piping hot. I would definitely recommend and would stay there again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JULIA336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipham
1.3 mi away
Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
4.0 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
8.2 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol Sidcot (A38) Hotel
4.6 mi away
Redhill House
Redhill House
#1 of 2 in Redhill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
6.0 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penscot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penscot Inn

Property: Penscot Inn
Address: The Square | Nr Cheddar, Shipham BS25 1TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shipham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shipham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Penscot Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotel.de so you can book your Penscot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penscot Inn Shipham, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing