We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Local Pub Bed and Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penscot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Penscot Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shipham
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely Local Pub Bed and Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here over the easter weekend and it was a really lovely place to stay and a good central location for sightseeing. The food was really nice and we ate here the 2 evenings we stayed here. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable with a huge bathroom but no shower to wash your hair. The wifi is free but the signal is not very good in the rooms or even the pub itself, but not really a big problem. Would definately stay here again and would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jellypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    31
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
17
45
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Fantastic place to stay , with superb food , far better than pretentious 'gastropubs' -pasta far better than most Italian restaurants , and really friendly people . The locals are great , do not come if you are not prepared to mix in .Steep flight of stairs up to warm , clean and comfortable rooms

Room Tip: All the rooms are good , of varying sizes .Mobile phones will not work as the village is down in a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drhmanuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josselin, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here twice in 2012 and enjoyed ourselves. Its not one of those places where they fawn over you and we did have "issues" over the cleaners competence.

BUT the place was friendly and the locals very welcoming. One even asked my to keep an eye on his shotgun whilst he went for a pee. That's never happened before! The local clay shoot meets there.

Welcoming for the dog and the food was good though we only ate there twice as we travelled to Cheddar, Bleadon, Axbridge etc.

Overall - if I lived there it would be my local.

Room Tip: Get a room that doesnt overlook the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is the local pub and restaurant for shipham and there is a good reason why it's never busy. No, two reasons. One is the overpriced food and the other is the attitude of the owner and bar staff. I took two friends in who were not from the area and was embarrassed by the rudeness of the staff. We asked if we had time to have a drink (it was 10.40 but there wasn't anyone else in apart from 2 men at a table) so we thought we'd check..we were told, yes, so we bought drinks. 5 mins later we asked the woman behind the bar if the heater where we were sitting outside could be turned on and were told: it doesn't matter because you have to leave, we are closing. We pointed out that we had asked if we had time for a drink before we bought them? The woman said:' those two men were hotel residents and we were keeping the bar open for them!' The owner popped his head around the bar and shrugged 'sorry'. He said' we are turning the lights off now'. The woman behind the bar smirked.
we went back outside to finish our drinks, and as we sat down, the lights went off, inside and out. We had to walk around to the exit in the dark! oh well penscot, you've lost more local custom. Most locals are waiting now for the new owners- once these charlatans go out of business, it could again be a nice local.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank frankietravels17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shipham hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Shipham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Someone commented that this a pub for locals -it would if they hadn't alienated the villagers years ago - last time I went in 3 years ago (and it was empty) they were rude haven't been back since and neither have lots and lots of residents

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ShiphamSynt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed here after a long days cycling on tour across the UK. The Inn is tucked away in the very small town on Shipham up on the other side of the hill from Cheddar Gorge. Location is great for visiting this area if you have your own transport. My room was nice, and the facilities very good. The stand out point for this hotel however was the food - I enjoyed a very well cooked Tuna steak in the bar, and the breakfast was huge.

For cyclists, they can store your bike inside in a locked room if you ask nicely.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsdown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

When we stayed here we got the impression that it definitely was the village local. Large comfortable room. Dinner served either in the bar or restaurant (our choice) was lovely although perhaps a bit pricey. However the full English breakfast was good and was included in the room price which we thougt was very reasonable.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Della and Jules S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipham
1.2 mi away
Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol Sidcot (A38) Hotel
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Webbington Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
4.7 mi away
Redhill House
Redhill House
#1 of 2 in Redhill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penscot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penscot Inn

Property: Penscot Inn
Address: The Square | Nr Cheddar, Shipham BS25 1TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shipham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shipham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Penscot Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Hotel.de so you can book your Penscot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penscot Inn Shipham, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing