We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy (but clean and fairly inexpensive)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Katunayake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Antiekka Airport Villa by KaZZava
Ranked #2 of 13 Katunayake B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Noisy (but clean and fairly inexpensive)”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

A very average accommodation option.

On the plus side, very close to the airport and rooms and bathrooms were clean.

On the negative side, the staff (and maybe other guests) were VERY noisy in the morning. Since many of the rooms are located extremely close to reception, you can hear everything. As we (and many others) stayed there specifically because we had arrived on a late night/early morning flight, having our sleep cut short was definitely not appreciated.

Next time I am in Sri Lanka, I will look for another (hopefully quieter) option.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    24
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
21
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

With the opening of the new Negombo to Colombo link, the airport is much closer to town than it once was. Still, midnight arrivers may want to stay near the airport rather than make the trip into town. We chose to stay overnight near the airport and ended up at the Kazzava Airport Villa.
The villa is a house with reasonably priced guest rooms that are basic and serviceable. But the breakfast, which is not included in the price, was not good and poorly presented, an hour later than we asked and charged at $5 per person. The hotel arranged for a car and driver to take us south, but the car was definitely substandard (hardly any air-con and too old to move very fast) and a bit over-priced. The service was simple and decent, but we probably won’t be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupertpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is a guesthouse with five rooms, three of which we have stayed in on two visits. They each have different characteristics. Room 1 is very dark and the bathroom smells a bit. Room 2 has a four poster bed, a big bathroom but is also quite dark. Room 5, our favourite, opens out onto the veranda and has a wetroom type bathroom. The staff are very friendly but sometimes comically inept. Their comings and goings are very entertaining. It's under the flightpath (flights start about 0600). Breakfast is basic and slow to come. They will sometimes cook you an evening meal but notice is needed. The gardens look good on their website but it's actually a tiny plot and the "lawn" is masked by cars most of the time. It's not near anywhere walkable so you do need to use them as taxi service. In the middle of the night, pick up from the airport will cost you about £12.50 but drop off in the day costs only £5. With VAT etc, it works out at about £32 a night for a double, breakfast on top. It's excellent value and a really nice start/end to a trip to Sri Lanka. There's not much in Negombo except the ethnic experience of seeing the fish drying on the beach but, be warned, it stinks!

Room Tip: Room 5 for the best bathroom and access to the veranda, from which you can watch the planes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Not so much a hotel, more like a guest house but oh, what helpful staff! We landed from UK, slept, they organised transport to get somewhere to eat in the evening as they only do breakfast. We were able to leave a bag for over 2 weeks, they organised a car to deliver it to the airport on our return from touring India and to take us into town.
Manoj is the boss and a star!

Room Tip: Not modern but but just great for an airport nightstop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donkeede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The location is very good if you have to stay overnight near the airport. The staff, though limited in number, were very helpful, and even cooked up something for us very late in the night. Rooms are decent sized and decor is fantastic, with every room different from the other. Nice laid back feel in the midst of greenery, though we were not there long enough to appreciate all of it.

Negatives - The airport pick up was not very efficient, and we had to wait quite a bit and place a few calls before we found our man. Also, food options are a bit limited.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suvrosarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I chose to book the Kazzava Airport Villa because it is located very close to the airport. Our scheduled flight to Colombo was to arrive late at night and I wanted to avoid a long taxi ride into the city as I was departing for Anuradhapura the next morning. The room was ok but felt a bit cramped because of a large bed and a lot of furniture. Bathroom was very large and clean. Good internet signal in the room. Mattress on the bed was not comfortable at all. In the morning, when the planes took off from the airport, the noise level was VERY loud. The food for breakfast was below average and overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pookiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This guest house served us perfectly for the short time we were there. It is quite difficult to find for any driver who is not local so make sure you write down the phone number so your driver can call if they get lost!

The room was unique with a huge high ceiling. The beds were comfortable and the room was nice and dark when we drew the curtains even though it was daytime. The room was also very cool because it has AC. WiFi was also provided.

The guest house is located very close to the runway so if flights are taking off or landing that way (which happened only half the time we were there so perhaps there is more than one runway?) It's noisy but I slept fine with my ear plugs in.

We asked the owner for lunch and he made us a fantastic Sri Lankan curry from scratch, which took a while but was worth it. It was reasonably priced at R750 pp for the food. For transfer to the airport, the owner also does the transfers for R1000 which was also seemed reasonable.

Would look to stay here again in the future before or after a flight.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_World_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katunayake
0.0 mi away
The Covanro
The Covanro
#1 of 1 in Veyangoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Paradise
Hotel Paradise
#4 of 7 in Katunayake
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ramada Katunayake Colombo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Terrace Green Hotel
Terrace Green Hotel
#14 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.6 mi away
Airport City Hub
Airport City Hub
#1 of 14 in Katunayaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
4.2 mi away
Neo Holiday Home
Neo Holiday Home
#1 of 13 in Katunayake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiekka Airport Villa by KaZZava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiekka Airport Villa by KaZZava

Property: Antiekka Airport Villa by KaZZava
Address: 139-F Adiambalama Road | Kimbulapitiya, Katunayake 11450, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Katunayake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Katunayake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiekka Airport Villa by KaZZava is a countryside modern accommodation located within 2.3 KM from the Colombo International Airport. It provides dark wood furnished air conditioned rooms with attached bath (Hot & cold water). All rooms are with Flat screen cable TV.WIFI is available in the whole building free of charge.Local & regional food is served in the outdoor Terence.Room service 24Hrs ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Antiekka Airport Villa By KaZZava Sri Lanka/Katunayake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing