We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful...Do NOT stay here”
Review of Hotel Cockpit

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cockpit
Ranked #7 of 15 Katunayake B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I had been in Sri Lanka for a week and it was the best holiday we have had...until the last night when we stayed at the Cockpit Hotel.
It would literally take pages to cover all of the issues at the hotel so I will highlight just a few.

- Mosquitoes everywhere...rooms, lobby, landing, restaurant etc, with no attempt to spray or get rid of them

- No Internet in rooms although we were promised there would be. We had to sit in a lobby area to use hotel Internet and therefore we were eating alive by mosquitoes (I live in Thailand so am used to mosquitoes but this was a nightmare).

- Water in bathroom was cold and after asking the duty manager to fix it, we had only scorching water.

- There is a nightclub in the hotel...I mean literally IN the hotel. It is from the ground to the second floor on one side of the hotel...basically across the corridor from our room, and the music went on until 3 am or later.

- We arrived quite late so decided to eat in the hotel restaurant. Unfortunately it hadn't been built. There were just chairs and tables that looked like they were from an 80s board room and lots of construction material. We decided to order pizza, but the hotel wouldn't allow us to buy drinks from Pizza Hut...we were forced to pay hotel prices on the hotel's own drinks, which were very small.

- The TV cable was run from the TV to an outside antenna via an open window in the room so if we wanted to watch TV, we had to leave the window open...more mosquitoes and very hot.

- When we tried to sleep, we couldn't find the switches for the lights. In fact there were about 8 switches around the room (some at 7 foot high :S) but most seemed to be useless and others had wires hanging out.

- When we left the next day, after only a couple of hours sleep, the hotel had arranged a taxi that somehow ended up costing a ridiculous amount which was annoying considering the airport is 1.1km away!

- During the night we were woken many times, not just by the music but by the air conditioning cutting out. I think it turned off three times for 20 mins each time. We tried turning it back on but there was no power...I suspect that the hotel was trying to save money by turning off the power throughout the night.

I could go on and on. My advice is to stay away from this place. The hotel is terrible, staff are useless and unhelpful and worse, they don't care. There is no pool or entertainment apart from the nightclub which is basically for the owner's friends and here is nothing nearby to do.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhys B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cockpit
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 66 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

This place may be alright in a year or two, as it is still under construction. It was expensive for what you get. The TV had no remote(not the end of the world) but had no cable. We booked transport to the airport 2000 rupee ( we paid 600 at the place we actually stayed). This was not acceptable and asked for our money back. Which we got without too much fuss. Would not book here cheaper and better places closer to the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buckson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I had the "pleasure" of visiting the Cockpit hotel a week ago. I checked in at 9:00 pm, for some hours of sleep before heading of to the airport at 2:00 am. The hotel is not completly finished, so the fact that the elevator do not work did not bother me.

Unforturnelately the rest of the stay were anything but smooth sailing. At check in I had rented a van for the night, but since airport transport only were Rs 1000,- I dismissed the driver, and sent him home to sleep, more on this later.
Upon arrival in the room everything looked great. Big bed, big TV, nice bathroom, the whole nine yards actually. So, I jumped to bed and went to sleep, only to be waked up 15 min later by the staff who would like to offer me my complementary fresh orange juice. Usually a very nice gesture, but not when your only wish is to get a few hours sleep before your intercontinental flights. Ok, back to bed. 20-30 minutes later I wake up to the sound of house-music. I gently call down to the front desk and inquire about the sound. The proud clerk can inform me that it is the hotels club which is playing the music, and he wonders if I would like to join…
With the help of earplugs (luckily I brought some myself), I manage to get 45-90 min. sleep during the constant “donk – donk – donk” beat from the club. Just before checkout I wanted a shower, but it turns out that at Cockpit hotel you can either get hot water (apx. 80 degrees Celsius) or cold water (apx. 20 degrees Celsius), so no shower before my 24 hour flight back home.
At checkout at 2:00 am the price for the transport had doubled to Rs 2000,- “because you need a van for your surfboard, sir”. Well, the staff checked that the surfboard could go into the van before they gave me quote on the fare to the airport, and no they just wanted to rip me of. When I asked to talk to the duty-manager I was told that I could write my complaint in the guest-book. Well, I did that, and I also promised to write a review on TripAdvisor.com.
Here is my advice – if you looking for a place to party before your long-haul flight, or just to have casual sex before take-off – this is the place. If you want to sleep, at all – find yourself another hotel.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vthise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank t0bir0hde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017
Thank raffaelematteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Alessandro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled solo
Thank fipol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katunayake
2.0 mi away
Ramada Katunayake Colombo International Airport
3.2 mi away
Amagi Lagoon Resort & Spa
Amagi Lagoon Resort & Spa
#17 of 43 in Negombo
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ared Villa
Ared Villa
#1 of 2 in Katunayaka
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
0.2 mi away
Neo Holiday Home
Neo Holiday Home
#1 of 15 in Katunayake
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cockpit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cockpit

Address: 660 Araliya Lane | Liyanagemulla, Seeduwa, Katunayake 11450, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Katunayake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Katunayake
Price Range: $31 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cockpit 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have standard rooms, deluxe rooms & Deluxe Family Rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Cockpit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cockpit Sri Lanka/Katunayake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing