We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Katunayake Colombo International Airport
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Katunayake
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We arrived at around 4.00 in the morning and after a long flight we just wanted a place where we could rest for a day. We had a very comfortable stay. The room was very clean and they had a good spread for breakfast. Staff were very friendly. It is a good hotel for spending a night on your way to or from the airport. I would not recommend it for a long stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shahina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 391 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel is hampered by its age, it seems that it was built in the 1970s and hasn't had much money spent on it since. The rooms are acceptable, if dated, and everything works including the a/c. Apart from the ground floor the public areas are not air conditioned and the corridor windows are left open for air movement but unfortunately some of them look out onto the hotel's own flat roofs that have an unacceptable amount of debris on them. The management should look outside when doing their walk round.
The staff are the best part of the place and punch above their weight in terms of attention and genuine care for the customers. The "meter & greeter", who I think was called Deepa particularly comes in for high praise.
The restaurant staff were also very friendly and accommodating even though I refused the buffet!
All in all, OK for a pre-flight stay but not a deluxe experience.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Prop1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I had stayed at Ramada Katunayake for two nights at the beginning of February and I found this place to be very convenient. Staff are friendly and helpful, always smiling. Bar was excellent with the live music. Airport shuttle is convenient though small. Only area they can improve is the Breakfast at the restaurant, can add some more choices probably a live cooking station. Otherwise the property is really an wonderful place to stay with quick access to Airport. Their EAM Janaka was very professional and helpful during my stay. Thanks to him for arranging the transportation to Colombo. I will definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melvin0920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel is close to the airport and nothing more.
The food is good and the staff is attentive and hospitable.
The pool is dull but the spa is happening.
Rooms are ok but the bathrooms are dodgy.
Wifi access is at a charge and a total ripoff yet the speeds are good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rescue1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at Ramada with my family. This is actually meant for people transiting from the nearby Airport hotel.
Too bad they have a big propery and they can manage it better. The food was just horrible. We were promised buffet and we got a l carte. That too the choice was poor. The Staff are helpful but the price of the hotel is exorbitant for what is offered.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank godfather_tas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This hotel is fine for a quick stop. The staff were very friendly. The airport shuttle was efficient although small. We thought it was going to be close to the airport, but it is actually around 15min drive. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. We didn't eat here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2bundles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Ramada should be ashamed of itself- to be associated with such a dismal {franchise} property.
Firstly, even the location in the name is a lie- Ramada Katunayake is not actually in Katunayake. It's in Seeduwa. As the name aptly suggests, this run-down industrial suburb is seedy.
Despite the premium price, even the lobby is ugly.
The staff is sullen, grim, & unhospitable. As usual, everyone wants a tip for doing nothing.
The stench, as I walked through the room's door, was unbearable. An acrid oder of mildew & bacteria.
The neighbor noise continued unabated throughout the night.
The room decor is drab-as-can-be.
The view is of a garbage-strewn alley/courtyard.
The only pleasant aspect of the place- is the piped in elevator music. It is relaxing- though not enough to counteract the real horrers here.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank xerophytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katunayake
2.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo
2.5 mi away
Amagi Lagoon Resort & Spa
Amagi Lagoon Resort & Spa
#14 of 43 in Negombo
322 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ared Villa
Ared Villa
#1 of 2 in Katunayaka
5 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tamarind Tree Hotel
Tamarind Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yatiyana
284 reviews
4.2 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 43 in Negombo
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Katunayake Colombo International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Katunayake Colombo International Airport

Address: 842 Negombo Road, Katunayake, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Katunayake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Katunayake
Price Range: $65 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Katunayake Colombo International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Katuanayake is located just 7KM miles from Bandaranaike Airport. It features a fitness center, an outdoor swimming pool, and offers spa facilities. All rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with cable TV, minibar and a work desk. In-room breakfast is available. Guests can sunbathe at the pool area, and make use of the fully equipped fitness center. The hotel's restaurant overlooks the pool and serves a wide variety of both Eastern and Western cuisine. Guests of Ramada Katuanayake are also welcome to enjoy an exotic cocktail at the Pinnacolada Lounge Bar. Hotel Ramada Katuanayake is 14KM from Negombo Beach and 3KM from the Birds Sanctuary at Muturajawela, which is also accessible by boat. The city of Colombo is 30KM away. Free on-site parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Otel, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramada Katunayake Colombo International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Katunayake Colombo International Airport Hotel Katunayake
Ramada Katunayake Colombo International Airport Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing