We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst and expensive food(currently) use to be great” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Full Moon Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Full Moon Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Katunayake
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“worst and expensive food(currently) use to be great”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Normally when I visit Sri Lanka, I do pop into Full Moon Garden Hotel for a nice relaxing time and specially to enjoy the seafood on offer with the cashew nuts.

But when I visited in February 2013 this was not the case. I ordered the same dishes such as seafood platter which normally comes in a steamed hot pot. After waiting for an hour and questioning the waiter, a bland white plate came with small quantities of fish that look like was cooked by an amateur chef.

I was furious with regards to the dish as I had invited friends from around the world to have a good here and them taking my word for it. Actually all dishes did let me down in every way. On top of this the bland plate of fish was over price in which the total bill came to Rs 12000 which I could have gone to a five start hotel such as saman villas and enjoyed an amazing food experience and wouldn’t have cost a fortune.

When questioned the management a person by the name of Captain Russell came to speak to me. I explained the lack of food quality and the service. He was not even apologetic and went straight to bring the chef who was in charge on the day. I then again had to explain the situation the chef (WHO WAS NEW) but to no avail. No apology at all from any party even though it was a dish that actually could have been plated by anyone. It was one of the worst experiences I ever had…..

I will never take anyone here to have a food experience as the management lacked in poor skills to make the customer happy…

Try saman villas amazing simple food for quality and reasonable price. You would not be disappointed….

Room Tip: Try saman villas amazing simple food for quality and reasonable price. You would not be disappointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jays007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    22
    29
    37
See reviews for
21
48
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

On my way to leave Sri Lanka, i checked into a standard room for 3 days, and it was a pleasant surprise! The staff were positive and helpful, the pool-area was superb and the room was more like an appartment. The livingroom is really spacious and nice. The bedroom was also spacious and clean, and the bathroom was great. I dont understand the negative reviews here (I had no chance to check every room offcourse) , but i strongly recommend this place to anyone who is arriving and departing from sri lanka.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frifot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This Hotel is the worst I have ever stayed in for $65. The room you could hardly swing a cat in. The air conditioning unit was falling off the wall and did not work. Filthy heavy curtains on the wall revealed when drawn filthy windows and the view of scaffolding. The bathroom was dirty and had old pipes running up into the ceiling, and the towels had holes in them. Tiles were missing and the loo flush was jammed on upside down. It was extremely noisy as just outside the front door was a pool and restaurant. The breakfast in the morning only catered for Indians and when asked for boiled eggs and toast got a rather frosty look. The only good thing was the bed! I would recommend no one ever stays here, there are plenty of airport hotels dotted about the vicinity. I have learnt!!!

Room Tip: Don't look at the outside and the façade - ask to use the loo first
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank max c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Katunayake hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

This was the first place we went to upon arriving in the airport. My first thought after stepping into this place was like "have I chooses the wrong holiday destination" we were here to have lunch and not to stay in their hotel. Well the place looked okie. But the good was really bad. Maybe it was the authentic srilankan way of cooking. Not too sure about that as many other places served better food. I personally hate the food in their restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SARALAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

As in the title. "Never stay in this hotel if you want a good night sleep". The room is so plain, lighting so dull and no facility for boiling water and not ever a closet. Food is ok and have a swimming pool and that is the good side and its very near to the airport.

Room Tip: Pay more for a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevenlai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADURAI
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We booked a room for two nights through agoda.com , the rooms are so small, bed and pillows are very bad , rooms full of mosquitoes , Air condition not working in rooms

Television also struggling more

No water in room that's the important high light they send us to some other hotel to bath . Morning breakfast they give only eggs and bread

Manager speaks like a rude .

My overall recondition please don't stay in that hotel

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRAKASHKRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

On entry everything looks splendid.
Had a supposedly de-luxe room. UGH.
Food awful, .
Need to concentrate more on quality, than quantity.
Huge servings.
Cockroach in bathroom.
Excellent taxi service to airport, about 5 minutes away.

Room Tip: Dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIM T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katunayake
1.4 mi away
The Covanro
The Covanro
#1 of 1 in Veyangoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Katunayake Colombo International Airport
0.8 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 42 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
3.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ja Ela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neo Holiday Home
Neo Holiday Home
#1 of 12 in Katunayake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Full Moon Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Full Moon Garden Hotel

Property: Full Moon Garden Hotel
Address: 754 Colombo Road, Katunayake, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Katunayake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Katunayake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Full Moon Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Full Moon Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Full Moon Garden Hotel Sri Lanka/Katunayake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing